Banjo Paterson…Letters to Dead Poets #atozchallenge.

G’day Banjo,

Of course, I couldn’t possibly write my series of Letters to Dead Poets without including you.  Walzing Matilda has long been Australia’s unofficial national anthem and The Man From Snowy River is an iconic Australian poem illustrating values of mateship and community which have made this nation strong.

Banjo_Patterson

Back when  was 10 years old in primary school, we all strived to remember the lines of: The Man From Snowy River, which has since been made into a film. I remember going over and over those lines almost hearing the sound of pounding hoofs in the metre:

There was movement at the station,

for the word had passed around

That the colt from old Regret had got away

And had joined the wild bush horses –

he was worth a thousand pound,

So all the cracks had gathered to the fray.

All the tried and noted riders from the stations near and far

Had mustered at the homestead overnight,

For the bushmen love hard riding where the wild bush horses are,

And the stock-horse snuffs the battle with delight.

There was Harrison, who made his pile when Pardon won the cup,

The old man with his hair as white as snow;

But few could ride beside him when his blood was fairly up –

He would go wherever horse and man could go.

And Clancy of the Overflow came down to lend a hand,

No better horseman ever held the reins,

For never horse could throw him while the saddle-girths would stand –

He learned to ride while droving on the plains.

That was as far as all my memorising ended up…the end of verse 2.

So, after that rather lengthy introduction, I suppose I should get on to the reason for my letter. Why am I bothering to contact you from the 21st Century, when you’ve been resting in peace for so long?

Well, I have one simple question:

What does it mean to be a man?

After all, for so many years the Man from Snowy River was consciously or unconsciously held up as the ideal Aussie bloke…especially after the movie was released. With his rugged, bushman’s physique, he was Australia’s answer to the American cowboy.While this image wasn’t exactly accurate with most of our population living in urban areas, it was consciously or unconsciously reinforced by strength of the Australian Lighthorse units during World War I.

Somewhere a long the way, the legend was born.

Man-From-Snowy-River-aus-dvd

Since you created this iconic Aussie bloke, that’s why I asked you what it means to  be a man. Not for me but for my son. I know things have changed quite significantly but surely some of the fundamentals are still the same? I’m hoping for some man-to-man advice please. Well, make that man-to-man-via-his-Mum advice.

As I mentioned in my first letter to AA Milne, our son recently turned 12 and started high school. While this is hard enough, he is also about to enter the swirling vortex of pubescence. While I could well have asked Milne the same question, I forgot.

So, what are your thoughts? What does it mean to be a man beyond time and place? Is there something at the core? Or, are there so many themes and variations, that there are no underlying truths? No “Essence of Man” which I could simply put in a bottle and sell?

I wonder…

Yet, as much as I’m getting into this whole writing letters to dead poets idea, I do have my concerns. Thinking about how much things have changed, your advice could well be out of date. Your Man from Snowy River would be stonkered by how much things have changed. He wouldn’t even know what a computer was, let alone how to send an email or connect up with people all around the world via the Internet. He might know how to ride a horse but what good is that, trying to get through the main streets of Sydney now? He’d end up underneath a bus. That is, if a bicycle courier didn’t get him first.

Yet, at the same time, there must be qualities, characteristics, actions which transcend time and are part of the human condition and that’s what I’m searching for.

While I was thinking about all of this, I suddenly realised how little I know about you. You are such a household name throughout Australia and yet I barely know anything about you at all. You’re a bit like that person who’s always been living just down the road that you keep seeing yet, you don’t really know. You just think you do. So, I really should have done my research before we engaged in such lengthy conversation. I know nothing about you the man. You’re a name without a face lost in the misty passages of time.

Isn’t that the same with most writers, poets, artists? We admire their work without knowing the first thing about them. Without finding out whether they’re an inspiration after all?

Perhaps, we need to pick our role models more carefully.

Anyway, the sun has now well and truly set on what was an exceptionally warm Autumn day and I need to return to the land of the living.

I don’t know if there is any way you could possibly reach me at all but I’d love to hear from you!

Yours sincerely,

Rowena

 Notes

Banjo Paterson was born 17 February 1864 at “Narrambla”, near Orange,
New South Wales, Australia and died of a heart attack on 5 February 1941 (aged 76)
Sydney, Australia.

He is best known for his quintessential poems: The Man From Snowy River, Waltzing Matilda and Clancy off the Overflow which you can read Here.

 

Letters to Dead Poets for the A-Z Challenge So Far:

Inspired By A Living Poet: Flying With A Living Poet.

Letter from A Dead Poet: Don’t Sit By My Grave and Weep!

A- Letter to AA Milne

16 thoughts on “Banjo Paterson…Letters to Dead Poets #atozchallenge.

  1. TanGental

    Those lyrical are so familiar here as is the aussi bloke stereotype. I read a lot of Neville Shute as a youngster and he had the fair dinkum guy too. So that’s changed has it! ?

  2. roweeee Post author

    He actually did reply. I was but the scribe. It’s a touch question and you somehow need to interpret for your kids. One of the things that has saddened me watching my son growing up is how the boys don’t get into singing. It’s not cool. My son sings a lot at home but my daughter performs in choirs etc. Both of them, however, have gone away with scouts for the weekend and are part of the Gang Show…a variety performance. I am hoping this becomes some kind of awakening for our son. We’ll see.
    xx Rowena

  3. roweeee Post author

    I’m afraid I’m not a good gauge on the status of the Aussie bloke. While I was at uni, the SNAG or sensitive new age guy was in vogue and I think that strong and silent type isn’t doing so well. Where we live, there’s more of that tough guy thing and boys not singing etc. There’s a much greater acceptance of homosexuality and non-conformity.
    Geoff mentioned that the level of urbanisation really puts an end to that stereotype. 90% of Australians live in cities.
    This is actually quite a tough question.
    Hope you’re having a good weekend. Kids are off at an overnight camp for the Gang Show so we’re relaxing. Need it xx Ro

  4. Michelle Wallace

    So true that we admire artists without knowing the first thing about them. If you discover a deep and dark secret about an artist you really admire, would it impact on your admiration for his/her work? Should it? Or should we learn to separate the artist from the actual artwork?
    Writer In Transit

  5. Pingback: Alphabet Soup: #atozchallenge Week 2 | beyondtheflow

  6. roweeee Post author

    Sorry, it’s taken me awhile to reply to your comment. I have trouble accessing my comments at times. I’m a technical disaster. I have been quite perturbed by a few of these poets taking their own lives, especially Hemingway. I did find out Rudyard Kipling pulled strings to get his son Jack into the army, despite being rejected due to his short-sightedness. He died in France. Kipling also wrote war propaganda. I also dropped the poet I’d found for I who turned out to be an Italian Fascist during WWII.
    We all have our human failings but character and ethics are very important to me.
    How about you? It’s a great question!
    xx Rowena

  7. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 3 #atozchallenge | beyondtheflow

  8. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 4 | beyondtheflow

  9. Pingback: #AtoZchallenge Reflections…66, 652 Words Wiser. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

