Weekend Coffee Share April 3, 2016 #atozchallenge

Welcome to another Weekend Coffee Share and if you are popping along from the A-Z Challenge, make that an extra special welcome! As you might be aware, I am in the habit of offering Tim Tams or Vegemite toast with your beverage of choice. This week, you’re in luck. I bought the Tim Tam bag at the Royal Sydney Easter Show. Eat up!

How was your week?

Our week has been a bit manic what with going to the Royal Sydney Easter Show and getting fired up for the A-Z April Blogging Challenge.

family

Our family at the entry to the Royal Sydney Easter Show.

Monday, we went to the Royal Sydney Easter Show, which is the largest event in Australia and the sixth largest event in the world. As we were struggling to squeeze everything into the day with aching legs, we weren’t surprised. It’s huge!

Dodge Ems

If you are interested in things Australian and experiencing a virtual tour, here’s an overview with links through to specific exhibits.Royal Sydney easter Show Now & Then.

DSC_0680

Best in  Show.

Friday April 1st, saw the launch of the A-Z April Blogging Challenge. As you may recall, my theme is: Letters to Dead Poets. On the eve of the challenge, I decided to share the works of a living poet Nan Whitcomb, who wrote: The Thoughts of Nanushka. I first discovered her poetry when I was at school and it not only blew me away, it also guided me through what a family friend very aptly called:”the swirling vortex of pubescence”.

I also received this poem from a “dead” poet just to remind me to tread a bit gently around the subject:

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there; I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sun on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there; I did not die.

Mary Elizabeth Frye

So, it seems that even death can become complicated!

While Letters to Dead Poets might be my theme, I consciously decided against having a strict format for each letter, preferring something more fluid…allowing each poet to speak to me personally and take me where we end up. Go with the flow. As the April deadline loomed like a menacing black rain cloud, this lack of structure was a bit alarming but it’s falling into place far better than I’d ever expected. This has now become my book project, fusing much of what I’m been working on in the past together, which is such a thrill…and relief!!

We’ve only had two days of the challenge so far.

A was for AA Milne I addressed him specially about growing up and my grievance that now that my kids are growing up, my second childhood seems to be growing up with it without my consent. I wonder if that’s something you relate to as well?

B was for Banjo Paterson. Andrew “Banjo” Barton Paterson is an Australian poet whose best-known works are:  The Man From Snowy River and Waltzing Matilda, which is Australia’s unofficial national anthem. Given that the Man From Snowy River was perceived as the iconic Australian bloke for many years,  I asked Banjo: “What it means to be a bloke?” Fortunately, he replied but took a more lateral approach and wrote about what it means to be human, emphasising that there is “no prescription”. Read Banjo Paterson’s reply here.

DSC_0792

Inspired by The Man From Snowy River, perhaps…RM Williams Truck at The Show.

So, these Letters to Dead Poets have become something of a philosophical discussion.

Meanwhile, I’ve been a serious “Blog Flirt” visiting other blogs. It’s absolutely shameless and I just hope that some of us will hook up again and it’s not all just a series of “one-post-stands”. I know I am certainly looking for relationships!

Speaking of relationships, we welcomed a new family member this week.

Eeyore & book

Eeyore reading “Winnie The Pooh” at the beach.

Feeling a bit of a psychic twang after dropping my daughter off at school, I mysteriously found myself back at the Vinnie’s Warehouse and the Lifeline shop next door, which is selling everything but furniture off for $1.00 before moving. So, I looked out the back of the Lifeline shop and there’s Eeyore sitting there, looking like someone left him behind and forgot to take him to Pooh Bear’s party. Well, being the caring, sharing person I am, I just had to take him home. Yes, I know he’s not Paddington Bear and that our house is already overcrowded BUT…You wouldn’t leave him there, would you?!!

So there I was doing the 45 minute drive home with Eeyore sitting there in the front seat with his shoulders hunched over, eyes downcast.Nobody does gloomy quite like Eeyore which, ironically, made me feel strangely happy. I also started to think of ways of cheering Eeyore up and took him to the beach the next morning. The sun was out and it was an absolutely glorious morning and yet Eeyore was still being Eeyore. Oh well!

DSC_0842.JPG

Even on a sunny day, Eeyore was gloomy.

By the way, I did find it a bit freaky finding Eeyore like that. It wasn’t just that I was writing about AA Milne. I was also re-reading: Winnie the Pooh.

It was meant to be.

How has your week been? I apologise that I won’t be able to get through quite as many coffee posts during April but will have a go. If you are doing the A-Z Challenge, please leave a link below and I will pop over.

Blessings & Best Wishes,

xx Rowena

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share April 3, 2016 #atozchallenge

  1. trentpmcd

    Yep, finding Eeyore was meant to be. Aren’t those funny life coincidences great? Sounds like you had a great week. Hope next is great too, though I’m sure not as busy.

  2. Lynne Brown

    I love that you rescued Eeyore. The beach photos are brilliant and point out we all have to be who we are. Eeyore may look sad to us but he’s just being himself. Good luck with the A – Z challenge, I thought about it too late but have a theme for next April.

  3. merrildsmith

    I think I’ll pass on the vegemite (well, maybe I should taste it just to see?), but I’ll try a Tim Tam and coffee. Thanks. 🙂

    I understand about trying to keep up with everyone’s blog posts. It gets a bit overwhelming.

    I love the gloomy Eyeore on the beach photo!

  4. Tails Around the Ranch

    Outstanding! It’s been a good and productive week (my kind of success!). Reading posts this morning over “a” hot cuppa coffee (ok, I’m on the 3rd one now) and planning a glorious springlike Sunday. Woot. ❤
    Hope yours has been grand!

  5. eclecticalli

    Oh! I’m glad we had the chance to meet over coffee — I love the sound of your A to Z theme and will make sure to pay more visits!
    Eeyore is such a great find! I’m sure you’ll give him a great home – and don’t be fooled by his sad demeanor, I’m sure he loved his trip to the ocean.

  6. New Journey

    Love Eeyore…I am sucking down an iced coffee and its 6pm here…LOl guess I won’t sleep much…..heading out tomorrow for a short road trip….nasty fire next door and the house burned down, and with COPD lung problems my husband is already on prednisone as his lungs aren’t happy….so we are heading out early…last week was a good week….getting into the hang of living in the desert…I am a little late checking blogs out…I realize it its already midmorning at your house…hope your Wednesday is a good one…xxkatt

  7. roweeee Post author

    Hi Kat,
    So sorry to hear about the fire. I know what a bit of smoke does to my lungs so I feel for your husband. Also must have been quite terrifying and concerned about your house. Or, is there some distance in between? My goodness! You both okay? Neighbours must be shattered!
    This time of year is weird here. Hot today and it felt like Summer but the hours of daylight are cutting back.
    Take care ! xx Ro

  8. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Alli. These theme has definitely been an extraordinary avenue for me. I’ve been working on writing a motivational memoir for about 9 years but there have been many ups and downs and I’ve been trying to find a thread, my voice etc and I wanted it to be realistic but not bogged down. So, not so easy. This theme is allowing me to cover a lot of that and is really coming together for me. It’s been an incredibly long road to get here!
    Thanks for your insights into Eeyore. That’s right. He must have been smiling on the inside! xx Rowena

  9. New Journey

    it was right over the fence…our trees were singed….we stood out there with 2 houses on them….could of been really bad if the winds were acting up….it was deadly calm that evening…..

  10. roweeee Post author

    Great to hear from you Lynn and thanks for the encouragement. Eeyore says so much without saying anything at all. Will have to take him sightseeing after the challenge is up.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

