E-TS Eliot’s Reply.

As you may recall, yesterday I forwarded TS Eliot a letter which I’d found. Signed by the “Pollicle Dogs” their poem expressed vehement opposition  to his compilation of Cat poems, which ultimately led to Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber’s blockbuster musical, Cats. Cats the Musical has really pained them and they’re now clamouring for: Dogs The Musical…all in the name of equality, of course.

Anyway, this morning there was a knock at the door and the dogs barked twice and as much as usual and I found this letter, which they seemingly mistook for a cat. After all, it’s not surprising  that a note from TS Elliot would smell of cats, is it?!!

So, without further ado, I thought I’d share his letter with you before I head off.

Rowena,

So much for the “Polittle Dogs”! They’ve left a present on my door step and I strongly object to such tactics.

This is WAR!

Please come at once and bring your trowel!

Tom

….

Oh dear! I’ve told my dogs before that there are ways of means of making complaints to management and that’s not one of them. It also sounds like there could well be a hole under the fence I have to deal with.

dogs

The Troublemakers!

If those dogs are looking for supporters, they’re certainly going about this the wrong way. After all, that’s not how you win friends and influence people!

By the way, in case you’re wondering what “Pollicle dogs means, Peter Ackroyd – T. S. Eliot: A Life, New York, NY, Simon & Schuster, 1984 explains:

“Eliot heard this word [Jellicle] from his young niece, who sounded as if she were saying “Jellicle cat” whenever she called for her ‘dear little cat’ (“Dea-lickle Cat”) and “Pollicle dog” whenever she called for her ‘poor little puppy’ (“Po’-lickle Dog”).”

By the way, if you missed my letter to TS Eliot and the poem by the dogs, here’s the link.

So, I hope you are having a wonderful day. The weather here is see-sawing between Summer and Winter and I guess that’s what makes it Autumn.

Best wishes,

Rowena

13 thoughts on “E-TS Eliot’s Reply.

  1. roweeee Post author

    Sounds good to me. This was actually based on Bilbo’s complaints to management while our son was seemingly missing at the scout Jamboree. He kept leaving deposits right near the car Geoff was working on out the back and he was not happy. Bilbo is very good usually so I rose to his defence but it didn’t help much. Not the way to register your dissatisfaction apparently!

  2. roweeee Post author

    Defintiely. I have to admit that I don’t understand his earlier poems very well but read a few explanations so when the challenge is over, I’m going to go back and have another shot.

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Monika. That photo was taken not long after Lady arrived and was one of the first photos we took of them together. It was like “see they are getting along”. It took a few weeks to break the ice.

  4. Pingback: Alphabet Soup: #atozchallenge Week 2 | beyondtheflow

  5. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 3 #atozchallenge | beyondtheflow

  6. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 4 | beyondtheflow

  7. Pingback: #AtoZchallenge Reflections…66, 652 Words Wiser. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

