H: Q & A With Hemingway #atozchallenge.

So, there we were down on the beach with the opportunity of a life time. I could actually ask Hemingway THAT question!

However, do you think I could find the words? I had enough trouble writing a letter to Ted Hughes and I pretty much sidestepped all of that. Although Hemingway is known for his trademark, minimalist style, does that mean I can simply ask him straight out, at point blank range?

Well, I’m about to find out.

Using a permanent marker, I wrote the letters  on the back of an old receipt:

WHY?

Before I could change my mind, I stuffed the note into the bottle and my son threw it far beyond the waves. Of course, some crazed mutt sploshed through the surf trying to retrieve it but gave up once they’d found their old stick.

I didn’t know how long I’d have to wait for a reply and to be perfectly honest, was rather apprehensive. Who in their right mind would have the insensitivity to ask a question like that? So much for the Golden Rule and putting myself in someone else’s shoes. I’d let my insatiable curiosity totally overpower all discernment. Why couldn’t I simply leave the man in peace?

However, almost immediately, I spotted the bottle floating back through the waves towards us. Despite being fully dressed, the kids strode out through the water to retrieve it. Battling it out, of course, to see who  could get there first. Without any hesitation or directions from me, our daughter popped the cork and pulled out the note:

Dear Rowena,

Please don’t let my death

define my life.

-Hemingway.

A very valid point! Indeed, so wise!

I really loved The Old Man & The Sea and I no longer needed to read in between the lines.

He just was.

ernest-hemingway-with-typewriter

This has been part of a philosophical series of letters to Dead Poets who have inspired me, which is part of the April A-Z Blogging Challenge. They are a cocktail of fiction and non-fiction.

xx Rowena

 

11 thoughts on “H: Q & A With Hemingway #atozchallenge.

  1. Pingback: Alphabet Soup: #atozchallenge Week 2 | beyondtheflow

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thank you so much. Your comment really made my day. I’ve really allowed myself to step right out there writing these letters and I’ve truly been amazed at the answers which pop into my head, seemingly from nowhere. It’s been a very fluid process, taking me well out of my comfort zone but it’s been so rewarding. Thanks for popping by xx Rowena

  3. calensariel

    I’d say fluid is the key word there. That’s when you know you’re really in the zone. Doesn’t happen all the time. These must have sparked something in you.

  4. roweeee Post author

    Definitely. I’ve never been in the zone this long. Just hoping I can still function somewhat at the end of the challenge. I’ve swung right over into the right side of my brain. xx Rowena

  5. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 3 #atozchallenge | beyondtheflow

  6. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 4 | beyondtheflow

  7. Pingback: #AtoZchallenge Reflections…66, 652 Words Wiser. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

