L: John Lennon: A Reply.

Dear Rowena,

Thank you!

I was rather stuck for words myself but I understand that you haven’t been well and this hasn’t been easy for your kids.

You probably weren’t aware that  Hey Jude was actually written for my son as: “Hey Jules”. I wrote it to comfort him after his Mum and I split up. Finding out how to walk through sadness is something everybody needs to learn. After all, we can’t always stay in the sun. We need the seasons just as much as the Earth. They make our experiences so much richer, more complex and diverse. As much as we complain, life would be so boring, if we didn’t have the rain. However, that doesn’t mean you keep standing out there getting wet. Only a fool wouldn’t find an umbrella.

Beatles Red Album

This is what I knew as The Beatles as a kid- Dad’s “Red Album”.

Moreover, as much as your kids might ask for loads of stuff and it’s hard to provide it all, when it really boils down to it, love is all they need. Anything else is a bonus and possible even a distraction.

That applies to you to my friend. I’m not suggesting that you stop writing to dead poets altogether but we have such a brief time in the land of the living. Don’t waste it.

Indeed, get off your laptop, out of that chair and off to the beach. It’s only metres away, and yet time and tide are passing you by. Let your dogs take you by the leash, pulling you along those golden sands. You could even get your feet wet. Frollick in the surf. You know the dogs are always ready, simply waiting by the door.

Don’t worry. You don’t have to keep writing and writing until you’re typing in your sleep. The muse will not desert. Indeed, the muse is part of you. It’s just that you don’t know it yet.

Farewell my friend until we meet again!

Best wishes,

John Lennon.

John Lennon autograph book

John Lennon wrote this in his cousin Stanley’s autograph book.

 

11 thoughts on “L: John Lennon: A Reply.

  1. Solveig

    Make the most of bat beautiful beach you have!
    Ah I share the wornoutness a bit. But I think everyone is there now. I am visiting less but it seems as though less people visit too. Everyone is longing for Sunday now 🙂

  2. mkmmajean

    Interesting how we are quoting the same person in two very different ways. Your series is wonderful. Thank you for putting it together.

  3. roweeee Post author

    You’re welcome and thanks for the encouragement. I’m enjoying your posts as well. I’m really enjoying it although the amount of work required with the daily deadlines is pretty stressful but that fusion is what’s making it work.
    xx Rowena

  4. Catherine Cheng, MD

    Hello and so nice to meet you! This is a beautiful post and I’m so happy to find you here! We are almost halfway through the alphabet, Woooo hooooo! 😄
    I see you have the ‘survivor’ badge from this challenge last year. Strong work! I am happy to have gotten this far, and I’m hoping to make it all the way through with minimal late posts! Looking forward to reading more of your posts! 😊

  5. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Catherine. Good luck with the challenge. I swore after last year, to keep it simple this year but I’m in over my head again. What started out as a list of poets who have inspired me, has become a real philosophical quest. I don’t know if you’ve read my post about Roald Dahl but thought you’d enjoy it as a doctor. No family should go through so much hell! https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2016/04/05/d-roald-dahl-letters-to-dead-poets-atozchallenge/
    xx Rowena

  6. Catherine Cheng, MD

    Thank you, for the comment and the follow!! I’m behind and it’s bugging me, so I want to catch up this weekend!! 😄 I will check out this post, thank you for the suggestion! 😊

  7. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 3 #atozchallenge | beyondtheflow

  8. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 4 | beyondtheflow

  9. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 4 | beyondtheflow

  10. Pingback: #AtoZchallenge Reflections…66, 652 Words Wiser. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

