M:Mary Stevenson: Footprints Poem

Dear Mary,

As a young 22 year old Australian backpacking through Europe, a friend I met along the road gave me a much treasured copy of your Footprints poem. Despite being a Christian most of my life, I’d never come across your poem before. All of a sudden, it was like all my matches had been lit at once, sparking such a fire. Naturally, the poem was particularly poignant being a traveller at the time. I felt understood…a very rare experience for me at the time!

Scan10296

While backpacking is supposedly about seeing and discovering the world, it can also become a journey deep inside yourself. Without the structure of a schedule, having no fixed plans, being far away from family, friends and any kind of personal history and simply drifting with the wind, you could easily feel like an atom drifting through space. Such freedom is incredible and indeed, I didn’t even have a watch but it’s all too easy to slip into some kind of existential angst.

Who am I? Why am I here? Where am I going? What is this nagging feeling inside which I can’t quite explain? When am I going home? What am I going to do with the rest of my life?

Scan10428b

Of course, the quest to find true love, weaves its tentacles through all of this.

Personally, I also had a pool of excess fluid sloshing around inside my brain, which I sort of knew was there although I didn’t know what it was. I simply turned to my faith, writing, philosophy, psychology and the humble cup of coffee for the answers I desperately sought.

Overseas travel is quite different for young Australians. Given the high cost of getting to Europe, many of us save like crazy and then try to stay away as long as possible. While this makes for a grand adventure, it can also mean serious homesickness and dislocation. At least, it did for me and I wasn’t alone. I heard quite a few Aussies hanging out for the scent of gum leaves. I had a an Australia $5.00 note stuck up in my room in Heidelberg where I lived for about 6 months.

Scan10532

Brandenburg Gate, Berlin 1992.

As you could appreciate, I came across your poem at an intensely confusing and vulnerable time and it fortified me. Gave me such strength, knowing I wasn’t alone. That God was walking along this path with me and when the going got tough, he picked me up and carried me on his shoulders, just like a parent carries their child…right out of the quagmire. It was truly transforming. While The Bible is the word of God, somehow you translated its complexity into something I could understand, bringing alive God’s infinite love for me.

Thank you so very much for that. I know your poem still speaks to so many, possibly at a time when it might feel like the light’s gone out. Helping the broken-hearted to rekindle that light is  life changing.

I hope that I share some of that light with those I meet and through my writing. It is not that easy for me to have that physical presence but I try to share what you gave to me all those years ago…hope!

Love and God’s richest blessings,

Rowena

 Footprints in the Sand

One night I dreamed a dream.
As I was walking along the beach with my Lord.
Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.
For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,
One belonging to me and one to my Lord.

After the last scene of my life flashed before me,
I looked back at the footprints in the sand.
I noticed that at many times along the path of my life,
especially at the very lowest and saddest times,
there was only one set of footprints.

This really troubled me, so I asked the Lord about it.
“Lord, you said once I decided to follow you,
You’d walk with me all the way.
But I noticed that during the saddest and most troublesome times of my life,
there was only one set of footprints.
I don’t understand why, when I needed You the most, You would leave me.”

He whispered, “My precious child, I love you and will never leave you
Never, ever, during your trials and testings.
When you saw only one set of footprints,
It was then that I carried you.”

– by Mary Stevenson

This is the latest installment in my series of Letters To Dead Poets for the A-Z Challenge. Please click  here to catch up on Letters A-H. This list will be updated on Sunday.

10 thoughts on “M:Mary Stevenson: Footprints Poem

  1. Solveig

    What a lovely letter Rowea. I had never read or heard this poem but it is beautiful.
    Heidelberg, Paris, what other destinations do we have in common?

  2. roweeee Post author

    Hopefully, you’ll make it to Sydney some time! I was just about to get myself a cup of tea, some Saos with Vegemite and settle down to catch up on your A-Z posts. My kids are on school holidays so it’s hard to juggle things. How are you finding the challenge? I’m loving it but wish there were twice as many hours in the day…and night! xx Ro

  3. Solveig

    I am really enjoying the challenge, but the nice weather, my very active toddler and the lack of hours in a day do make it hard to stay on top of things, after all there is cooking, dishes, laundry and all that other stuff too…
    I have completely fallen behind on replying to comments, but I do try to leave as many comments as possible on other blogs. One cannot do everything…
    Well maybe one day we’ll travel there, or maybe more? My mother in law has never taken a plane before and I tell her to take it to come and visit as it saves her a lot of time… But she is scared, then I always menace with the possibility of us moving to Australia. With my fiancés interests that might actually happen one day 🙂

  4. kcg1974

    Rowena, this was a beautiful letter which brought a deeper meaning to me. Much inspiration here, Rowena. Thank you so for sharing!

  5. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 3 #atozchallenge | beyondtheflow

  6. Pingback: P-Sylvia Plath: Letters to dead Poets #AtoZchallenge. | beyondtheflow

  7. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 4 | beyondtheflow

  8. Pingback: #AtoZchallenge Reflections…66, 652 Words Wiser. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

