Weekend Coffee Share – April 17, 2016.

Welcome to another Weekend Coffee Share,

If you were thinking about popping round for coffee today, I’d probably tell you not to bother. That you’d probably have to make your own and truth be told, I’ve very surprised the family hasn’t been surviving on Vegemite toast for the last week as I’ve been totally swallowed up by the Blogging A-Z April Challenge. My theme is: Writing Letters to Dead Poets, which has evolved into quite a grueling yet fascinating journey alongthe road less travelled. You definitely need a mechanically sound 4WD to make your way through.

If you are interested in checking our the letters, I’ve posted a list of letters so far on my weekly review: Alphabet Soup

I also wrote a post about some of the twists and turns I’ve negotiated so far as I’ve faced what many would consider rhetorical questions head on for better or worse:Diving Deep into Deep Poet Creek.

On a more light-hearted note, the kids are currently on school holidays and still have another week to go. So far,, I’ve learned that trying to make cupcakes when your head’s focused elsewhere is not a good thing.  While translating grams into cups, I accidentally told my daughter to add double the amount. She later laughed that you couldn’t have too much sugar but thinking about the chemistry involved, I wasn’t quite so sure. They emerged looking like ponds with sunken centres which she filled up with icing sugar mixed with food colouring which was quite runny and moved. I didn’t photograph the neon ponds. No doubt, fearing I’d burst into hysterics and offend the cook, which is NEVER advisable!

My daughter and I also went for a walk with the dogs along the beach. There was quite a terrible smell and I knew that no matter what or where it was, Lady would find it and not just roll in it but actually grind the stench deep into the fur follicles to 100% guarantee it never came out. In this instance, the stench was a baby Bronze Whaler Shark. Just as well it was dead!

My son has spent most of the holidays playing Minecraft in chat rooms although he and Geoff built a shelf for his room and are in the throws of painting it. Mr has done most of the work and it’s look great.

Now, it’s Tim Tams and TV while psyching myself up to jump back on the A-Z wagon tomorrow with a controversial O.

How was your week? Have you been participating in the A-Z Challenge and how are you going with it? I’d love to hear from you!

Wish all a wonderful week ahead!

xx Rowena

 

11 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share – April 17, 2016.

  1. trentpmcd

    Idina is the first female dog we’ve had and the only one that has rolled in smelly stuff. Is it a female dog trait, then? It reminds me of the Far Side Cartoon: “You look wonderful tonight, Ginger, and whatever you rolled in sure does stink.”
    Hope you enjoyed the neon sugar ponds. Have a great week!

  2. jhwinterauthor

    I’m having a great time so far! It’s my first time participating in the challenge, and I wrote my posts in March. With a two-year-old, another job, and a trip to visit my brother and sister-in-law next week in Washington state, I knew I wouldn’t have the time to get it all done in April, not to mention promoting the posts on social media. Needless to say, I’ve stayed strong with the challenge so far and am looking forward to the rest of the month!

    Julianne
    Ink & Stitches – http://blog.jhwinter.com

  3. bettylouise31

    Yes, if it is melly dogs like to roll in it. To bad it was a dead shark. We are make mistakes in cooking. I once didn’t figure the time right for cooking the turday. We had meat for that Thanksgiving meal.

  4. Diana

    The A to Z challenge is keeping me pretty busy as well, with lots of research and writing to do. I’m flexing some writing muscles I haven’t in a while, so between the reading and the writing and the answering comments, it’s all taking quite a bit longer than I’d remembered it taking. But the writing is fun, and I’m enjoying the research. We’re halfway through, at least!

  5. New Journey

    We have been house bound due to wind/dust, with my husbands bad lungs he stays in during the bad windy days…and were learning that they last about 3 days easily….so between soccer and cooling up a storm we have been trying to be civil to each other…LOL today I ventured out to the grocery store and actually went swimming as the dust was not blowing on the mountains…I have also been enjoying reading your poet challenge…you have not only captured the essence of the challenge but I love your personal twist you add to it….good job…isn’t is nice that the dogs can find the most disgusting nasty things to roll in…and I agree with your daughter, you can never have to much sugar….LOL Enjoy the week my Ausie friend..you have a few hours on me already….kat.

  6. roweeee Post author

    Great to hear from you, Barbara. I’m hoping the second half of the alphabet will be a bit easier. I think so. That said, I’ve just navigated my way through the complexity of Oscar Wilde. He was only 46 years old when he died but those years were incredibly intense.
    I’ll pop over shortly xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

