Alphabet Soup Week 4 #atozchallenge

For better and worse, the A-Z Challenge has only 6 days to go and the frenetic pace will eventually return to a peaceful calm. Actually, I think the journey is only just beginning.

As luck turned out, yesterday was the 400th Anniversary of the Death of William Shakespeare and so I delayed writing his letter to coincide with the big day. That was quite a bit of fun as Shakespeare feasted on birthday cake and almost touched the stars on the London Eye. The last I heard he was heading off to the theatre, substituting a hat for a head. As you might have heard, recent investigations have confirmed that Shakespeare’s head was stolen from his grave.

Shakespeares-Grave-Top-Tenz-533x400

The fate of Percy Byssche Shelley’s remains turned out to be an interesting story as well. Given his wife Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein, I shouldn’t have been surprised.

Considering I virtually plucked Qu Yuan out of a hat, I was pleasantly surprised. He is a very much respected figure in Chinese poetry and culture and the Dragon Boat Festival is held in his honour.  Despite living over 2000 years ago, he writes so well about what it means to be in exile, stand up for a cause and not fit in.

This week, I wrote to Rabindranath Tagore. I first came across him at my grandmother’s funeral and spark led me on to find Kahlil Gibran and The Prophet. From there, I discovered Rilke and his poetry but also his Letters to A Young Poet. From there, I think the last stop was Rumi.

So, now I encourage you to follow in my footsteps and get to know these incredible poets, who are perhaps not so well known among some English speakers.

Here’s the list to date:

A: AA Milne

B: Banjo Paterson.

Banjo Peterson Replies.

C: Lewis Carroll.

Lewis Carroll Replies.

Roald Dahl

Roald Dahl’s Reply.

TS Eliot.

TS Eliot Replies.

Robert Frost: The Road Not Taken.

Robert Frost A Reply.

Kahlil Gibran.

Kahlil Gibran Reply.

H: Ted Hughes.

Ted Hughes Reply.

A Surprise Letter From Ernest Hemingway.

Q & A With Ernest Hemingway.

 

A Letter to Issa- Japanese Haiku Master.

Issa: A Reply.

 

A Letter to Jim Morrison-The Doors

Jim Morrison Replies

 

A Letter to John Keats.

Keats Replies

A Letter from Rudyard Kipling including the poem: “If”

A Letter to John Lennon

A Reply From John Lennon.

Lao Tzu: A Poem about The Journey.

Dorothea Mackellar: Australian Poet.

Dorothea Mackellar Replies

Mary Stevenson “Footprints”.

A Letter from Mary Stevenson re “Footprints”.

Maya Angelou

Dr Maya Angelou A reply.

N:Oodganoo Noonuccal: Indigenous Australian Poet

Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde Replies

Dorothy Parker

A Letter to Dorothy Parker

Dorothy Parker Writes to the Poor Little Dogs.

Dogs Accuse: “Dorothy Parker Is A Fraud!”

Dorothy Parker Defends Dogs’ Accusations

Sylvia Plath

Help Me Dorothy Dix: What to Write to Sylvia Plath.

A Letter to Sylvia Plath

Qu Yuan

Qu Yuan Chinese Poet

A Letter From Qu Yuan: Chinese Wisdom.

Rumi

A Letter to Rumi

Rumi Replies

Rainer Maria Rilke

Rilke: Letters to Young Poets

Rilke Replies: Advice to Modern Poets.

Percy Bysshe Shelley

Percy Bysshe Shelley

Advice from Percy Byssche Shelley

William Shakespeare

I delayed writing my letter to William Shakespeare by a day to coincide with the 400th Anniversary of his death on 23rd April, 1616. By the way, when Shakespeare woke up, he found his head was missing.

Despite writing some of the most loved and recognised love sonnets of all time, Shakespeare admitted that his track record with love wasn’t a commendation. So, he introduced me to poets Elizabeth Barrett and Robert Browning.

Shakespeare Time travels 400 Years

Shakespeare on Love 400 Years On.

Rabindranath Tagore

Letters to Rabindranath Tagore

Wisdom of Tagore: Love, Children and Dogs.

 

 

How are you finding the challenge? I must say it’s been challenging for me having the kids at home on school holidays for the last two weeks..especially after taking up an overly ambitious theme.

I apologise for not reading as many posts as I would like but will continue making my rounds afterwards.

Best wishes,

Rowena

3 thoughts on “Alphabet Soup Week 4 #atozchallenge

  1. AJ.Dixon

    Your theme is so interesting. I especially like the way you’ve tried to get to know the poets on a personal level through their own work. I’ve not read as many of these as I’ve intended to, but I will get round to them eventually!

  2. Pingback: Coffee! Coffee! Wherefore art thou, Coffee | beyondtheflow

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks for popping by, Adam. Actually, I understand that reading these posts is more of a sit down than a fly through.This series has definitely taken my writing to another level and me with it. xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

