Coffee! Coffee! Wherefore art thou, Coffee

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

This weekend I’d like to invite you around to join me for  William Shakespeare’s 400 Death Day Party. Since I doubt Shakespeare was much of a coffee drinker, we’ll be having tea served in my Shelley tea cups with generous slabs of birthday cake…along with Tim Tams. No doubt Shakespeare would approve!

For those of you not embroiled in the Blogging A-Z April Challenge, we only have six more sleeps til the grand finale next Saturday when our all stops journey through the alphabet finally comes to an end for another year. My theme this year is Writing Letters to Dead Poets. This has become quite a philosophical journey as I ask them about the nature of happiness, the role of suffering, advice for young poets and a love of the natural world. My ignorance has been growing my the day!

Once again, I’ve posted An Alphabet Soup Post listing links through to posts A-T.

Since starting Letters to Dead Poets, I’ve retreated into my cave and switched off from the outside world as much as is possible being married with two kids on school holidays and two dogs desperate for walks at the beach. Indeed, I’ve just returned with two pooped pooches from the beach. Nothing like chasing the ball and running round with other dogs. Heaven help me if I show any sign of going out! I was lucky not to be wiped out in the stampede.

On Friday night Geoff and I went out for dinner at a Mexican restaurant on the local waterfront. The kids were staying with my parents for a few days and it was great to be able to kick back and converse. After not leaving the house for a few days immersed in my writing, I also needed to be pulled away. Do something else. Look beyond the screen and the four walls around me.

DSC_0918

Walking back to the car, we were stopped in our tracks. A huge cloudy galleon hovered   over the beach, silhouetted by the full moon. Mesmerised, we stared in awe and dashed home to get the camera and tripod.  By the time we came back, the clouds had changed and weren’t quite as breathtaking but the photos were still impressive. Geoff took most of them. He is much more technically adept than me and also has a excellent eye. We are both keen amateurs.

DSC_0910

We also spotted this very ambitious spider building its web across our backyard by night. It’s been dubbed “Bob the Builder” and “Luke Skywalker”.

I guess you could say things have been quiet when photographing spiders is one of the highlights of the week. That is aside from writing.

Tomorrow , will be ANZAC Day here in Australia. The 25th April commemorates the landing of Australian and New Zealand troops at Gallipoli, Turkey, during WWI. Geoff’s Great Uncle served at Gallipoli and his mother’s cousin served at Kokoda. The kids will be marching locally with their Scout Troop.

How has your week been? I hope things have gone well.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster and I encourage you to pop over for a cuppa via   the “Linkup Linky“.

xx Rowena

10 thoughts on “Coffee! Coffee! Wherefore art thou, Coffee

  1. merrildsmith

    Sorry I haven’t been able to keep up with your dead poets posts, Rowena. Everyone seems to be doing challenges this month, and I’ve been doing NaPoWriMo, as well as my other work, a book festival yesterday–and a big family Passover dinner last night!
    These photos are amazing. Wow! I’m glad you and your husband had a “date night!”
    (Tea drinking wasn’t really happening in Shakespeare’s time. Coffee houses opened in the late 17th century, and then they started offering tea, too. Not sure about Tam Tams. 🙂

    Have a great week!

  2. Tails Around the Ranch

    The full moon was quite stunning this week-our view woke me from a sound sleep it was so bright without clouds. Clearly they all moved down your way. Continued good luck with the final poets. Your efforts have been extraordinary; you should be given a medal for all that work! ღ

  3. Conny Kaufmann

    I’m a massive Shakespeare fan, so I’ll be joining you for the celebrations! To be honest, I’m quite glad the A to Z Challenge is coming to an end. I’m still catching up on my book reviews on Literati Girl, but I’ down to 3 until I’m up to date! Yay.

  4. roweeee Post author

    Great to hear from you, Connie. The challenge needed to end for me. My kids go back to school on Wednesday. As difficult as it’s been to write with them at home but I need to be back on task and functional. Ruled by the clock. It’s going to be a rude awakening from my writer’s den. xx Rowena

  5. roweeee Post author

    Just popped round and read your coffee post and really enjoyed that RSC clip and will check out some more. Would have loved to have been there celebrating in London. xx Rowena

  6. New Journey

    Love the pictures….I am reading all your post on your poets….I just don’t comment on them all…Love your poem for your wedding…perfect and you both looked so happy, you were a beautiful bride……xxxkat

Leave a Reply

