Weekend Coffee Share May 15, 2016.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share,

If we were having coffee, I’d actually suggest we trade the coffee in for a couple of bottles of water and head down to the beach with my dogs.  Not that I’m a health freak but it truly is magnificent down there and it’s too easy to take it for granted. Sit inside and write my days away without stepping outside beyond my responsibilities as Driver in Chief of Mum’s Taxi.

dogs

Lady and Bilbo

Shame we didn’t catch up yesterday when it was a gloriously sunny day. It could have been a mild Summer’s day, if someone didn’t turn off the lights around 5.00PM and the sun mysteriously disappeared from the sky. By day, we’re still getting around in T shirts but you’re getting no complaints from me…just the rag trade which is now crying poor. As yet, there’s been no need for sleeves let alone jumpers.

A-to-Z Reflection [2016]

Last Monday, I posted my Reflections of the A-Z Challenge. This includes a full list of all my posts. I have pasted of these into a document I’ve labelled “DRAFT” and the final word count reached a staggering 66, 652 words. I started writing and researching the posts two weeks before it kicked off. So, I almost combusted getting through it and I’m thrilled with the results:  Letters to dead Poets: Reflections of the A-Z Challenge 2016

Emotionally speaking, the last week was a bit challenging. I found a lump on my arm recently and deciding it was too weird to explain to my GP, I put it off until last week and I’m having an ultrasound done tomorrow. I’ve had to wait a week for the appointment and that has probably stressed me out more than what the lump might be. I don’t like not knowing and I sort of figure that whatever it is, the sooner I find out the better. So far, my doctors have had so many tricks up their sleeve, that I’m quitely confident but I’m not beyond letting my mind wander. Ten years ago, this would have freaked me out completely but I’m pretty chilled. Well, maybe.

I am a bit concerned and I’ve minimised and catastrophised things in my head and there’s no point going either way until I know.

However, battling against this waiting game, the sense of limbo, could well explain why I’ve spent the last week delving back into my family history research. I’ve been  pursuing my Great Great Grandfather, William Henry Gardiner/Gardner for some time without any sign of working out who his parents were or where they came from. It wouldn’t surprise me if there was some convict blood and William tried to cover his tracks. Being a non-indigenous Australian, he had to come from somewhere.

So, instead of getting stroppy with or about the lump in my arm this week, I’ve been taking it out on William, whose only known crime was leaving his parents off his marriage certificate, which was fairly common at the time.

Understandibly, after being a recluse during the A-Z Challenge and reaching a dead end with William Henry, I needed to get out. So, today I went to the local markets with my husband, which gave me an unexpected  boost. We met such an interesting cast of characters all over a painting I found of a mediterranean scene. The RHS was fairly full while the left hand side had a lot of empty sea. As a photographer, I instinctively wanted to crop 10cm off, which seemed a waste of space. The lady who owned the store was busy with another customer so a lady from the store next door stepped in and then my husband joined in and he started talking about “balance”. Then, the lady grabs a guy walking past who turns out to be an artist. She asks him if he thinks it’s balanced. He replies that as an impressionist, he “knows nothing about balance”. I liked that.

Hearing him talk about impressionism in art, made me consider that I am perhaps a bit impressionistic as a writer. Or, perhaps it’s just my perceptions. I see a lot of separate images or scenes, which don’t seem to fit together into a unified whole. When I ask why is it so, the pieces don’t obligingly line up into some kind of organised row like an English queue. Yet, they’re perhaps not all over the place either. I’ve simply had to accept that things aren’t always logical or fit together in an obligingly simple pattern and that is what we need to learn to accept. That is, instead of trying to bend nature to get what we think we want when we’re really swimming against the tide.

I’m sure life was a lot simpler when I didn’t ask so many questions and I just sat still with what I thought I knew.

At least, I thought I knew who William Henry Gardiner was and I even have a photo.

Well, it’s getting late here so I’m going to head off. Another week is about to unfold and I’m seriously not prepared. However, how can you be prepared for the unexpected other than to be prepared to be unprepared.

Indeed, perhaps that’s why we’ve been given a smile.

Anyway, how was your week? I hope it was good.

This has been a contribution to the Weekly Weekend Coffee Share. Please here click to visit the linky and join us all for a coffee.

xx Rowena

 

 

5 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share May 15, 2016.

  1. Barbara In Caneyhead

    My week was good, but exhausting! Thanks for asking. I will be holding you up in prayer, that your lump is nothing of concern. Congrats on completing the Challenge! Oh, and I’ll walk down to the beach with you, but I’m taking a big ol mug of coffee with me!
    Barbara, blogging at Life & Faith in Caneyhead

  2. New Journey

    Okay sister whats the lump….??? Its been 2 days since you’ve seen the MD….any ideas??? wish I could bring my Chicka over for a romp on the beach….she would love that..and I have to agree I think your an impressionist type of writer and I love that about you….did you get the picture?? if so we need to see it….xxxkat

  3. Rowena Post author

    Hi Kat. Had a busy week. i haven’t had the final word from the GP but it’s most likely a fatty deposit. Certainly, not a cyst of any kind. That was a huge relief and thank you so much for your concern.
    Yesterday, I went down to Sydney to see my neurologist to get the results of my neuropsychological assessment. That turned out pretty well. I still have some deficits but have improved in some areas. What did show up is that I have depression. I’ve always had a high level of anxiety and that’s still there. So, looks like I’m back to see the psychologist. I am trying to get out more and that does wonders for me. Shut myself off for a bit too long over April and I guess all that dark material probably did have an impact, as well as revisit some pretty hard times for myself. That said, I think it has been very cleansing. Stay tuned for a chocolate post coming up. Can’t do your diet any harm being this far away!
    Take care and lots of love, Ro

Leave a Reply

