Surfers Paradise By Night.

If my brain was somehow in gear, I’d write something about Surfers Paradise or “Surfers” as it’s known. I know a smattering about its history, which also weaves a thread throughout my own history going generations back. My collection to this stretch of golden beaches, its fun parks and nightclubs is coming here for holidays ever since I was a small child, although these days we prefer the serenity of Byron Bay…somewhere quiet and away from the action.

Here I am at Sea World around 1976. Not even a hint of fear!

I first came to Surfers when I was about 7 years old and my hair was too short for pigtails. Mum used to keep it short before I could have a say. I remember staying a few beaches south at Palm Beach and going to the local bakery. My brother would have a Neenish tart and I had a pineapple tart and we both wore Mickey Mouse thongs. Inevitably, we both got badly sunburnt and that’s what I remember most about that holiday…pain! As luck would have it, my Great Aunt and Uncle were property investors back in the Surfers’ property boom back in the 1980’s, which saw the place turn into unit city. That meant we had somewhere very flash to stay. We moved around from Pacific Point to the Golden Gate with it’s two golden yellow stripes down the front. I think it used to be the tallest building in Surfers back in the day.

Scan10152

Yes! A photo wearing my much loved Mickey Mouse Thongs. My Dad’s mother made my dress.

After I finished my HSC exams and finished school, my friends and I flew up to Surfers and spent the week between the pool, the beach and nightclubbing. They had these motorised scooters you could hire and two of my friends crashed into each other, which dampened their holiday a little but they weren’t badly injured. I remember learning a dance called:Β  “The Bus Stop”, which took forever for me to learn the moves. No female John Travolta, I was much more adept at the “D & M”but I did enjoy trying to dance all the same. I also remember staying home with the guys who had a Cold Chisel party, while the other girls headed off to a strip show. I had a boyfriend during schoolies who didn’t go. That meant there wasn’t any romance on that trip but that doesn’t mean that Surfers doesn’t have any stories to tell. They’re just not going to be retold.

That’s probably the most important rule about Surfers Paradise. What happens in Surfers stays in Surfers.

DSC_1228

Sunset Behind Surfers Paradise.

I really enjoyed visiting Surfers the other night after my Sister-in-Law’s birthday picnic. I won’t lie and say I hated all the razzle dazzle. I loved it. Just like I loved taking the lift up to the 40 something floor of their hotel to stand out on the balcony and gawk at the view. This place crammed with bright lights, crowds of people along side a breathtaking surf beach, had lost its appeal. Or, a sense for me, of coming home.

Geoff moon shot

Moon Rising Over Surfers Paradise- Geoff Newton.

Is there a place where you’ve gone on holidays throughout the years that means a lot to you? I’d love to hear your tales and please add links to any relevant posts. After all, holidays have such a special magic and are so wonderful to share.

xx Rowena

14 thoughts on “Surfers Paradise By Night.

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I can say that we didn’t go to many places twice. Unless you count relatives houses πŸ˜‰
    I have gone back to some of the places I have been as a child. Sometimes they are as magical as they were back then, sometimes they are lacking.
    Surfers Paradise reminds me of Clearwater Beach in Florida. It’s a spring break mecca. I used to live about 20 minutes from there. Residents would avoid the area during the spring, what we would call “amateur hour”.

  2. merrildsmith

    For many years we took our girls to the same B&B in Ocean City, NJ. We never did anything special there–beach, boardwalk, ice cream– but it was always a special time that I think we all remember very fondly. The innkeepers were like kindly grandparents. πŸ™‚

  3. Rowena Post author

    That’s so lovely. That reminds me of my childhood at the beach too. Simple things, although there was also the annual purchase of a new bikini, which wasn’t cheap but quite a ritual, which has been beyond me for a very long time. I live my bikini dreams vicariously through my daughter these days. Hope you’re having a great week xx Ro

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks for expanding my education. Had to Google Clearwater and yes, it does seem very much like Surfers. Dare I ask what they were amateurs at? Maybe not?

  5. Norah

    What a beautiful shot of Surfers at night. When I was a child I used to love my holidays visiting rellies on their properties in the country. Now Hub and I get away for a few days to Coolangatta every few months. We love it there.

  6. Rowena Post author

    My grandparents used to meet up with my grandmother’s sister and her husband at Coolangatta. They’d come up in their caravan. It’s a stunning part of the world there.

  7. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share 29th May, 2016. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

