Weekend Coffee Share 29th May, 2016.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

As much as I love my morning coffee, this week I’m recommending you join me for High Tea Queensland style at the Teahouse Gallery in Mudgeeraba on the Gold Coast Hinterland. You’ll be offered over 20 teas presented in little glass jars and you’re encouraged to take the lids off, smell and take your time making your choice. While you’re waiting for your pot of hot tea to arrive, you can admire each others’ vintage tea cups with their pretty patterns and gold trim. I collect antique tea cups, the way with Shelley and Royal Albert being my favourites. They remind me of cups of tea with my grandmothers who’ve since passed on.

DSC_1385

If things had worked out a bit differently, I could have offered you a slice of Nigella’s Nutella Cake. However, you know how it is when Lady Luck is working against you and every twist and turn doesn’t entirely work out and then all those mishaps seemingly fuse together into a veritable “catastrophe!”

Nigella Nutella Cake

An Earthquake Hit Our Interpretation of Nigella’s Nutella Cake. The lactose-free Cream was to “skinny” for the ganache, leading to “liquification”.

Well, that’s what happened with the cake. The minor mishaps along the way would not have been a major problem. However, we had great difficulty judging cooking times and whether the cake was ready. I needed to pick up my daughter and left my husband in charge. He kept getting mixture on the skewer (a sign that the cake isn’t cooked) but as it was starting to “caramelise”, he thought he’d better take it out. This meant the cake was somewhat burnt, dried out and the hazlenuts tasted bitter. However, a layer of cream, fresh raspberries, icing and freshly roasted hazlenuts almost resurrected the thing and we did enjoy a few slices. That was until our naughty little Lady dog was caught with paws up on the kitchen table, nose through the plastic bag and tail wagging until Geoff sent her packing.

I have been on the lookout for a good chocolate cake recipe to make for birthdays etc and thought this might have been the one. I’m going to give it another chance but suspect the kids would prefer one without the hazlenuts. All recommendations would be grateful received.

Anyway, we arrived home from our road trip to Queensland on Monday night. It was a huge relief to be home after our 2000 km round trip, even though it was hard to leave family and the North behind. However, once you’re in the car, you just want to get there.

If you’re interested in virtual trip to Australia’s tropical Queensland, here’s a series of links to my posts:

Driving To Queensland Via The Long White Line.

Sunset Behind Surfers Paradise

Surfers Paradise By Night

Bangalow Markets – Near Byron Bay

A Queensland High Tea

I hope you’ve all had a great week. What is the weather doing in your neck of the woods? We have two days left until the official start of Winter. That could mean anything. Yesterday, we had rain and a sudden cold snap. It was absolutely freezing, especially as our homes aren’t built for Winter and our Winter woollies are still in the roof. Indeed, the dogs are lucky to still have their fur coats. I was very tempted to take them but a dog on my lap is almost as good!

By the way, we go into denial around this time each year, thinking we live in a perpetual Summer. Then, we wonder why it’s cold and whinge bitterly.

Anyway, the sun is back out again today and although my toes are frozen numb, things are looking up.

I hope you’ve had a great week. It’s now Sunday afternoon here so we’re starting to get ready for another week.

This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana atΒ  Part-Time Monster . You can click here for the linky to read the other posts.

xx Rowena

 

 

18 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share 29th May, 2016.

  1. Suvi

    The high tea sounds like something I’d love. These days I’m such a lousy Baker, can’t seem to get the easiest things to turn out. Except scones! Here in Finland we are preparing for summer. Had a few beautiful weeks and now that the weekend has been cloudy everyone is moaning ☺

  2. fromdreamtoplan

    Lovely pics and post!!
    P.S.
    I’ve changed the URL of my blog so if you still want to receive my post notifications please press the follow button here: http://www.fromdreamtoplan.net/ πŸ˜‰ (the old one will be closed soon!)

  3. Norah

    The high tea at Mudgeeraba sounds wonderful. It’s such a pretty spot. The chocolate cake doesn’t appear to be a total loss. I make strawberry hazelnut torte for our special occasions – birthdays and Christmas. It’s a favourite with everyone. It is whipped egg whites with ground hazelnuts and coffee, baked in two halves, each of which is then topped with melted chocolate, sandwiched with chopped strawberries and cream, then covered all over with cream and decorated with strawberries. Let me know if you’d like the recipe.
    Oh, I’ve just realised you used lactose-free cream in your cake – maybe it’s not suitable after all! Or maybe the lactose-free cream would whip?
    Have a good week. πŸ™‚

  4. Travel Nurse April

    The cake still looks yummy! Congrats on the drive home. I can’t wait to read about Surfer’s Paradise.

  5. Lake Writer

    Lovely to think about a high tea, something we do well all over the Commonwealth, right? Too hot here, though, for tea drinking, unless it’s iced tea. Lovely post.

  6. Barbara In Caneyhead

    Well, being from the Southern United States, I’m much more about a cup of coffee ad a slab of cake, but after seeing your photos of the spread, I could probably get into “high tea”. As homemade chocolate cakes go, my family loves Aunt Norma’s Crazy cake. You mix and bake the cake in the pan. Cover with fudge frosting. Also, a good German Chocolate cake is always welcome. We don’t do hazelnuts. We do pecans or walnuts.

    Barbara, blogging at Life & Faith in Caneyhead

  7. Rowena Post author

    I love pecans. Might try a German chocolate cake. I have German heritage and they do some great cakes. I ballooned in the 6 months I lived in Germany. Yum!

  8. Rowena Post author

    Iced tea isn’t big in Australia, alhtough it is creeping in. My experience of high tea is finding a long lost mug of tea down the track.

  9. Rowena Post author

    I would love the recipe, Norah. My Mum used to make a cake that sounds very similar and we loved it. She wasn’t great with collating her recipes so I’d love it.
    My email address is rowenanewton at outlook.com
    The lactose free cr4eam wrecked the icing. It asked for double cream and I was hopeful. The Zyomil comes in two types and one will whip but I’ve had a lot of trouble finding it. Most of my family should be lactose free, although we do break out.
    Hope you have a great week too.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

