A Rainbow In the Sky…Flash Fiction.

“The fishermen know that the sea is dangerous and the storm terrible, but they have never found these dangers sufficient reason for remaining ashore.”

Vincent Van Gogh

 

A Rainbow In The Sky

Cast into a stormy sea, raging waves tower imperiously overhead. I’m nothing but a speck in the vast, unending ocean. Lightening shoots through the darkness like laser beams. I’m absolutely petrified.

The storm has brutally ripped me away from my very being…my kids, my very flesh and blood…my husband. It shows no mercy. Will gobble me up like a shark, without spitting out the pips.

I do not understand. Please explain!

Yet, the storm rages on without end. This is it.

Suddenly, a rainbow appears…an upside down smile spreading right across the sky, strangely making some kind of sense.

Rowena

…..

May 24, 2016 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story that changes with a smile. It can be a character, tone, setting or any creative use of smile. You can go deep and consider motive and influence, or you can light up the world with a brilliant flash (of teeth as well as fiction). And smile, because your writing matters and is not hostage to your level, experience or circumstances.

Respond by May 31, 2016 to be included in the weekly compilation. Rules are here. All writers are welcome!

10 thoughts on “A Rainbow In the Sky…Flash Fiction.

  1. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Monika. I paid a high price to get that shot. That turned out to be a severe hail storm and I managed to get to the car just in time and it was pummeled with hail. Our whole town was covered in about 10 deep of hail and it looked like snow. It was absolutely terrifying!! xx Ro

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Jim. That turned out to be a violent hail storm and I got caught in thick of it. We lost part of our roof and had to get emergency services out to put up a tarp. I must remember to check the weather reports the next time I see such photogenic clouds!

  3. Norah

    I love the symbolism of your story. Life often seems that way – tossed around in an ocean, lost, without direction, flashes of lightening threatening annihilation. But then the rainbow. Yes an upside down smile setting everything to rights again. It can appear in the most unexpected places. Beautiful image and accompanying words, but what a terrifying storm the clouds heralded. So glad you live to share your beautiful words and images.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks so much, Norah. That storm shot was a bit stupid in retrospect. It was time to bunker down, NOT head out into the elements.
    I find it quite difficult to orientate myself after things going up and down so much and it’s hard to just step out there and know what kind of ground you’re stepping onto. Normally, that doesn’t matter but applying for the job last week really required me to draw a line in the sand and know that I’ve moved forward. Well, I had to settle with “to the best of my ability”. After all, nobody knows what’s around the corner. Life has constant twists and turns and I’m learning that it’s more about learning how to respond to the waves that how to control or stop them. It’s taken quite a long time for that seemingly obvious insight to sink in.
    Hope you’re dry. Geoff and I are home with the kids out at Gang Show rehearsal. Dogs asleep on the floor, without any thought about what it would be like to be out in the elements! xx Ro

  5. Pingback: Wet Weekend Coffee Share 5th June, 2016 | beyondtheflow

  6. Norah

    Glad you’re dry. Hope the kids stay dry too. Nice for you and Geoff to be able to curl up for a while when the kids are out.
    “it’s more about learning how to respond to the waves than how to control or stop them” – so true, and a wonderful way of expressing it. Unfortunately some Sydney-siders would have liked to control rather than have to respond to a few waves recently. We are powerless against nature. We must accept what she dishes out. Particularly if we add froth to the ingredients.
    Have a good week.

Leave a Reply

