Sunflowers-My Budget Van Gogh

“One may have a blazing hearth in one’s soul and yet no one ever came to sit by it. Passers-by see only a wisp of smoke from the chimney and continue on their way”

Vincent Van Gogh

Nothing like buying a million dollar painting for $20.00 from your local Opportunity of Charity Shop. While unfortunately my find is clearly a print and I’m forced to visualise the brushstrokes etched into the thick golden paint, it could nearly be the original.

Not a bad find for $20.00 and our renovator’s nightmare can actually feel a tad loved as I add such a spirited piece of beauty to its ho hum walls, especially when you consider that other of Van Gogh’s Sunflower masterpieces, Vase With 15 Sunflowers last sold for $39.7 (£24.75) on March 30, 1987.

Now, all I need to do is work out someway of turning our humble “beach” backyard with its sandy soil, into a magnificent field of smiling sunflowers with their stunning faces all turning to the sun.

Do you have a favourite Van Gogh?  Please share.

xx Rowena

 

14 thoughts on “Sunflowers-My Budget Van Gogh

  1. merrildsmith

    I’m not sure I have a favorite. I love the Sunflowers (I think there are several versions), and Starry Night, but also there are some other stunning landscapes, especially in Arles.

  2. Rowena Post author

    I second your selection. I absolutely love his works. I also love Cafe Terrace at Night. I had to Google the name…I’m constantly learning through the blog.
    BTW my daughter just wandered off to bed wearing Owl earmuffs and with a giraffe wheat bag on her head. It’s cold. She looked so cute!

  3. Norah

    Starry Night is my favourite. I have a large print on my wall, accompanied by a smaller starry night painted by my granddaughter when she was 2 (I think). My daughter and son-out-law gave me the print, and they also gave me a T-shirt printed all over with Van Gogh’s Starry Night. One day when I was walking (at Tweed Heads) a person greeted me and called me Vincent. I didn’t get it until much later. How disappointing for both of us. I was very slow, but at that time I wasn’t thinking about what I was wearing! I can’t think of Starry Night without thinking of Don McLean’s song either! A beautiful tribute.

  4. New Journey

    Oh my, a Van Gogh, looks like the real thing and I bet it brightened up you home….he has so many I love, but Starry Night and Wheat fields with crows are a couple that spring to mind..I have a Starry Night, its huge…I bought the night my second divorce was final at the local market parking lot….a bunch of up and coming artist were set up to sell there paintings, and they all had been doing the same thing…I choose The Starry Night….reminds me of my night of freedom once again…LOL however it cost me $80….LOL I love the High Tea….my daughter would love that….we have a tea house (The Tudor Rose) in California ….my daughters favorite place…very posh and extremely English…..love your story, Rainbow in the Sky…and what a picture….I forgot is winter there…its 114″ here!!! Not sure what I was thnkin when I agreed to live in the frigin desert….LOL hope your weekend has been a restful one….have you looked up good ole Betty Crocker’s chocolate cake recipe on google…if I remember right it was pretty good and it was from scratch….I think the Nutella masterpiece looked mighty tasty….just eat it with a spoon LOL
    Have a fantastic week my friend….kat

  5. Rowena Post author

    Hi Kat! So good to hear from you as usual. I loved your story of buying Starry Nihg to “celebrate” your divorce. I had a stressful week last week and vented via the op shops…plural! Most of it was stuff I needed but I ended up going round and round a mall trying to find my daughter black harem pants for her dance dress rehearsal. Considering the temptation on offer, I fared fairly well but did get caught up in a few stationery shops and bought two books: Hemingway’s “For Whom The Bell Tolls” and a organise your life type book from a shop called Kiki K. Do have it there? Smiggle? My daughtger and I LOVE these shops.
    I will look up Betty Crocker’s recipe on Google. Sounds great. I am going to remake that Nigella Cake.
    While you’re out there in the desert in the heat, we are experiencing a weather pattern called an East-Coast low, which means flooding rains and sometimes really nasty storms. We only got the rain this time but there are times when you feel like you’re out there in Noah’s Ark immersed in water!!! I am staying home today but had to go out a few times yesterday and let me just say that I am no duck. Or, for that matter, a daft BC whose woolly coat seems to block all rain sense altogether. Rainy days should be cancelled due to lack of interest.
    Meanwhile, the kids are at reheasals all day for the Scout gang show. Aside from the sound of heavy raindrops outside, the house is absolutely silent! Ah…!!!!
    Will get on with my coffee share and you can catch up on the rest there. Not that there’s much else to tell.
    Hope you have a great week and a nice, long iced tea!
    xx Ro

  6. New Journey

    Hi….no I don’t recognize either of those shops, but they sound like fun….enjoy the silence of the house….and I can’t get enough iced coffee….LOL its going on Monday at your place so have a great week….stay dry!!!

  7. Pingback: Wet Weekend Coffee Share 5th June, 2016 | beyondtheflow

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Kat. Not looking forward to the school run in the morning. There’s usually flooding outside my son’s school on very wet days. The car might need to get some “floaties” to become amphibious. By the way, in case you’re not familiar with the term, “floaties” are those inflatible things you stick on kids when they’re learning to swim. Hope the rest of your weekend goes well and you find a cool patch of shade to enjoy with your iced coffee! xx Ro

  9. New Journey

    suppose to start cooling down after today….we will only be at 111 and then back down in the low 100’s….that’s do-able….we had floaties when I was growing up…LOL you nee a Chitty Chitty Bang Bang car…LOL…I will keep cool and you keep dry!!!!

Leave a Reply

