Wet Weekend Coffee Share 5th June, 2016

Welcome to another Weekend Coffee Share Australian Style. That means it’s Winter here and we’re thinking Hot Chocolate, although I’m currently drinking tea.

What are you sipping on? No doubt, many of you are trying to quench the Summer heat with a long, Iced Tea.

Autumn Leaf Palm Beach Sydney

Autumn Leaf, Pittwater, Palm Beach, Sydney

Personally, each season has its own character and beauty. Summers I love the long extended hours of sunlight and going to the beach at the end of the day. Autumn…I usually appreciate relief from the stinking hot Summer heat and the occasional flash of stunning Autumn colours. Winter is a time of hibernation, rest and restoring the soul before events take off again in Spring. Spring…it’s great to see the sun again and enjoy a bit of sun before it gets too hot. I enjoy other people’s gardens.

Spring and Autumn are my favourite seasons and Autumn edges out in front. I love those stunning Autumn leaves with their kaleidoscope of reds, oranges and yellows which glow like nature’s stained-glass windows backlit by the sun.

If you’re joining me this weekend, then you’ll need a good raincoat, gumboots, umbrella and a bit of pluck and courage to take on the heavy rain. That is, unless you’re a duck.

It seems like someone’s upended the heavens and that great swimming pool in the sky, is falling down. Still falling down. There have been dangerous, surf conditions, localised flooding and absolutely no incentive for heading out. For us, that’s been limited to driving the kids around. We’re no longer that interested in chasing the bright lights. Too much hard work…especially in the rain! The Georges River in Southern Sydney has burst its banks, along with the Wilson River in Lismore. As it’s flat around here, I’m sure there’s some localised flooding but we’re fine at home.

Last Thursday, I had my first job interview in around 4 years. It’s a one day a week job at my daughter’s school working in community liaison. I’ve done this type of work before but I haven’t seriously returned to paid work after having chemo two years ago. I had my last job for 5-6 years and so it’s been a long time since I’ve been through the interview process. Even if I don’t get the job, I am pleased with how it went and how I came across. These days, I’m more concerned about finding the right fit, than having to push the proverbial uphill to “make it work”.

I find out if I’ve got the job tomorrow, which may mean I’m pulling my old business-self back out of the closet during the next week. I am quite used to dramatic changes around here but as I was sorting out Summer and Winter clothes this afternoon, I was consciously aware that those business clothes might need to be moving centre stage…yikes!

This brings me to today’s job…sorting out our Summer and Winter clothes and boxing the Summer clothes up and having some snug woolly jumpers to wear, instead of needing a dog on my lap. Well, make that in addition to to dog!

Speaking of dogs, Bilbo has parked himself right next to my chair and his nose is almost on the laptop. You see, I’m eating a Vegemite sandwich with my cup of tea and dogs LOVE Vegemite. Lady, who as second fiddle has to sit further away, is lying on the floor just as keen but more of a sleeping assassin.

Van Gogh Sunflowers

Sunflowers – Vincent Van Gogh.

With all this rain, I’ll need to hang up my latest art acquisition: Sunflowers by Van Gogh. While other fools have forked out many millions for their Van Gogh, I picked mine up at the charity shop for $20.00. It might be a print but those sunflowers are still smiling at me and spreading their much needed cheer! Just what I need with the gloomy wet outside! Read more here.

By the way, my weekly flash fiction also fitted in well with all this  rain: A Rainbow In The Sky

How’s your week been ? Hope you’re all doing well.

Thanks for popping by! This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana at  Part-Time Monster . You can click here for the linky to read the other posts.

xx Rowena

 

18 thoughts on “Wet Weekend Coffee Share 5th June, 2016

  1. merrildsmith

    It’s Sunday morning here. I’m reading this as I drink coffee and wait for the Sunday paper to arrive. Good luck with the job! We’re expecting rain and thunderstorms here today, but we had some beautiful weather earlier in the week. I didn’t know it was rainy where you are–we knew it was bad in the Houston, TX area where my husband’s aunt and uncle live, and in Paris with the Seine rising so high.

  2. Norah

    I’ve just heard the news. It’s dreadful in Sydney. We had rain all day yesterday, but nothing like the damage in Sydney. Glad to hear you are staying inside, staying dry and warm, and not getting washed away. Look after yourselves.
    I look forward to hearing if you land the job. Best wishes for it. You’d be great! xx

  3. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I agree with the interview process, it takes a bit to get back in the saddle. Fingers crossed for you!
    Rain had been an issue for parts of our county, Texas has been flooded. Of course they were in a drought for the past few years.. figures. All or nothing sometimes! We’ve been average and shouldn’t complain. We’re just a month off tho. Usually April is our rain month, not May… it’s June now, so maybe some relief?
    I laughed at Bilbo wanting the veggimite (sorry, US English phone doesn’t know the spelling of it! ) sandwich! I seriously need to try it. Curiosity has got me, huge! Is there a good brand I might find on amazon.com or? I can’t imagine I could find something on the shelves here. We don’t have an Aussies-R-Us store here 😉😉

  4. Deb

    Good luck on the job. Sorry to learn of all the rain though. Stay safe. Seems funny you are boxing up summer stuff while I’m getting the summer clothes out!

  5. Rowena Post author

    Thanks for your best wishes re the job, Deb. I do find the contrast in the seasons quite intriguing at during Summer/Winter when the differences are so extreme.
    Take care!
    xx Rowena

  6. New Journey

    Still sucking down iced coffees….LOL what fun to work at the school…when my son was lower grades, I was working full time night shifts so I had the days to do as I pleased…I didn’t sleep much…so I became the back up secretary at his school….it was a lot of fun…did that little extra job till he was in 4th grade…then had to beg off…pretty sure I had exhausted myself….LOL good week to you….kat

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much for the job wishes, Barabara. Still in the wait and see stage but they’re letting the person know today so, it’s not looking likely. I’m quite philosophical about it all…as usual! I have some very strong strengths but some equally weak weaknesses so finding the right job is important.
    Non-stop rain in Texas sounds out of character, is it? I know what you mean about your pine forests. I feel a bit the same about our rivers and creeks. Some of the creeks which don’t look like much normally can flood with the heavy rains. A beachside suburb in Sydney had to be evacuated and there were really heavy surfs.
    I went for a beach walk this morning and the damage wasn’t as bad as I’ve seen in the last year but more trees were swept away and my dog walking track to the beach has become a sand cliff. I’ll be posting some photos shortly. xx Rowena

  8. Lisa

    Hello, and thank you for the coffee. I do hope you hear good news about the job. Summer is my favorite season. I guess I’ve retained the feeling of freedom that came with it in my childhood. Lazy days spent doing whatever you wanted. There are endless possibilities in the summertime 🙂

    P.S. LOVE the Van Gogh!

  9. marilynwrites

    Love the relaxed vibe of your writing. Makes me feel all warm and welcome despite winter and rain decending on you ☺ All the best with the job…so true what you said about ‘the right fit’…

  10. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Lisa. I also love those lazy Summer days. Australia almost comes to a standstill during January, our Summer. Whenever you’re talking about getting something done at the end of the year, it’s either December or February.
    I was stoked to find the Van Gogh. I have loads of picture frame, which drive my husband crazy so it had to be good to bring anothet picture frame home. He hasn’t said a word about “Sunflowers”. They’re probably my favourite flower.
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

  11. Lisa

    I didn’t realize you are from Australia! (Or maybe I forgot :/) My girlfriend and I have always wanted to move there. I love the US but it isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

    Sunflowers are my favorites too, but they are tied with Lilies, Calla Lilies, Daisies, and Peonies. Oh and Orchids! Lol I just love flowers 🙂

  12. Rowena Post author

    I’m sure Sam will like it more than you. I love the stuff but I think you need to grow up on it. hat said, neither my husband or son like it, which I spread it quite thickly and love the stuff. Yum!

Leave a Reply

