Strawberry & Macadamia Nut Muffins

Tonight, I converted a healthy punnet of fresh strawberries into scrumptious Strawberry and Macadamia Muffins with dubious nutritional worth.

Not so long ago, I could well have called these “Healthy” without a second thought. No guilt whatsoever… just like banana cake.

However, thanks to the wowsers, “healthy” has now been redefined. No matter how well you disguise it, anything with refined sugar is now evil! This means, of course, that even though my muffins are overflowing with fresh strawberries and macadamia nuts, they’re now “from the wrong side of the tracks”.

Just like me!

I’m usually not just adding evil sugar to my recipes, but also that evil of evils…chocolate!

Indeed, I was sorely tempted to add white or dark chocolate chips to these muffins but resisted.I wanted the strawberries to be the hero. I didn’t want to sacrifice their flavour to the chocolate and see how the muffins went without it.

We didn’t miss the chocolate. We ate our muffins hot straight out of the oven. With their lush strawberry flavour and macadamia nut crunch, they were scrumptious.

These muffins would make a delicious treat with a refreshing cup of tea, with enough goodness to escape being what I’d call an “indulgence” and you don’t have to feel too guilty after all.

strawberries

 

After all, strawberries are packed full of goodness. They’re an excellent source of antioxidant-promoting vitamin C and manganese. They are also a very good source of dietary fiber, iodine, and folate. Plus, strawberries are a good source of copper, potassium, biotin, phosphorus, magnesium, vitamin B6, and omega-3 fatty acids.

All that goodness tells me, it’s time to go and grab seconds before I miss out!

DSC_1630

Strawberries, Macadamias and Sugar…Yum!

Strawberry & Macadamia Nut Muffins

Ingredients

  • 180 ml (3/4 cup) milk
  • 80 grams butter, melted (1/3 cup or 5 1/3 Tbsp.)
  • 1 large egg
  • 475 grams sifted flour (2 cups)
  • 160 grams caster sugar (2/3 cup)
  • 2 teas baking powder
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 punnet fresh strawberries
  • 120 grams chopped macadamia nuts
  • Extra castor sugar & chopped macadamia nuts for topping.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 180 °C (400°F)
  2. Grease the bottoms only of 12 standard-size muffin cups, or line with paper wrappers; set aside.
  3. Finely chop all but 3 of the strawberries and put aside.
  4. Finely chop roasted Macadamia nuts.
  5. Melt butter in the microwave on high for around a minute.
  6. In a large bowl, beat together the milk, melted butter, and egg.
  7. Stir in the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt just until combined; do not overmix.
  8. Gently fold in the strawberries and macadamia nuts.
  9. Hull and slice through strawberries and place a slice on top of each muffin.
  10. Roughly chop Macadamia nuts and sprinkle around the slice of strawberry.
  11. Sprinkle the top of each muffin finely with castor sugar.
  12. Spoon batter into the prepared tins; sprinkle with sugar, if desired.
  13. Bake for 20-22 minutes, or until golden and puffed.
  14. Immediately invert onto wire racks.
  15. Serve warm or cool.

Enjoy with Love!

xx Rowena

18 thoughts on “Strawberry & Macadamia Nut Muffins

  1. Sari

    That’s true but you can always substitute sugar for honey and it’s just as delicious :)! I once made a vegan version of my mom’s favorite oatmeal cookies and they turned out just as delicious and guilt-free 🙂

  2. Rowena Post author

    I should experiment a bit more. I’ve been watching Masterchef lately and they love fat on that show and being our Winter, it does encourage wickedness. At least, that’s my excuse!

  3. Rowena Post author

    Having one cold this morning with my cup of tea. The strawberries are really lush and juicy. Definitely making these again!

  4. Rowena Post author

    I did add a bit of extra milk to them but I made them with soy as I’d run out of my milk. We have lactose intolerance here and use zyomil milk and soy buut I prefer using full cream cows milk for much of my baking. I’m going to make some more and see what, if any, difference it makes. BTW, have you been watching Masterchef? My cooking gets better this time every year while I watch the show. I bought a BBQ chook for lunch today and tonight I added it to some pasta and added some diced whole dried apricots, macadamias, grated cheese and french dressing. Really enjoyed it.

  5. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Merril. Was very pleased with these and will be having one tonight along with a Ferro Rocher. They were on sale today. Yum!

  6. Norah

    Your dinner sounds delicious! I don’t watch Masterchef. Maybe I should! I tend to spend most of my “spare” time at the computer at the moment. I’m hoping that one day soon I’ll allow myself some time off. Maybe then my cooking will improve with Masterchef as well. I was thinking some white chocolate buttons would go very nicely with the strawberries. 🙂

  7. Rowena Post author

    The white chocolate buttons would be great, especially for a special occasion or visitors. I love Masterchef as it really does get me thinking and breaking out of the same old same old. I’m currently trying to motivate myself to cook pancakes for lunch at 3.00PM We have our first pancake with grated apple to be healthy, although I think Geoff and the kids all add maple syrup and cheat! I’m also planning to remake that Nigella Nutella Cake. We have guests tomorrow. My friend is doing her psychologist registration and my son is being her guinea pig. I’ve just been summoned to go check out the backyard and had my shoes delivered so I’ll take that as a powerful hint and head off. Hope you’re enjoying your weekend! xx Rowena

  8. Norah

    Thank you, Rowena. Sounds like lots of cooking to do. Yum! I hope you are happy with Nigella’s cake this time. I wonder what’s in the backyard, and also who delivered your shoes! Sounds like there’s a story in that!
    The weekend is just about over. I’m off to bed as soon as I’ve written a few replies. Thanks for yours. Have a great week. xo

Leave a Reply

