Winter Weekend Coffee Share.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

Today, I can actually offer you your choice of tea or coffee along with an almost healthy Strawberry & Macadamia Nut Muffin. Although  I really loved them straight out of the oven last night, they were still scrummy cold this morning with juicy chunks of strawberry complimenting crunchy macadamia nuts perfectly.

It’s Winter here in Australia.At least, that’s the official line.As far as winters go, even for us, it’s been pretty mild now that last weekend’s storm’s been and gone.

Winter in Australia

This week, I posted a rather funny cartoon about 20°C  in Brisbane (Winter) versus 20°C in London (Summer) . The funny thing was, that I just compared Sydney and London’s weather reports today and you wouldn’t believe it. They’re the same…16-20°C!

Not that I’m bragging. I don’t control the weather and I didn’t choose to be born here but I’m not complaining.

At least, not this weekend!

That said, we’ve had a few strange things going on in the last week.

DSC_1550

Our beach track was wiped out in the storm and transformed into a cliff.

I’ve already mentioned last weekend’s dreadful storms which hit the Australian East Coast.

On Tuesday, we had a 4.0 magnitude earthquake 100 km of the coast from here. Well, you might ask if I noticed because I didn’t feel a thing. Indeed, I only found out about it while following up the Sydney Storm online.

Tuesday, must have been a busy day for exceptional events around here because a Great White Shark was photographed leaping out of the waves while a guy was filming his mate surf…”Good Morning, Jaws!” This was an hour’s drive up the road from here and we live in a beachside community where we’ve seen local fisherpeople catch juvenile Bronze Whaler Sharks but although we know the Great Whites seemingly swim passed here to attack surfers on the NSW North Coast, we like to think they’re further out to sea and chomping on something else along the way.

It’s funny about us Australians because half the time we’re beefing up the dangers of our wildlife to terrify the tourists, and yet denial also seems to be a national sport. Sharks? What sharks?

Not all of our stories about our dangerous wildlife are made up. On a more serious note, last Sunday tourist Cindy Waldron was taken by a croc while swimming in the Daintree, near Cairns. On the very same day on the other side of the country, diver Doreen Ann Collyer was killed by a giant Great White Shark while diving about 1km off Mindarie beach in Perth.

So, while we might jest about the dangers, they also need to be taken seriously!

However, things have been relatively uneventful here.

DSC_1603

Our daughter drawing a unicorn in the sand when her friend visited.

It’s looking like I didn’t get the job at my daughter’s school. I’m fine about that but am putting more thought into setting some goals and objectives, while getting things more organised at home. I feel like I’ve finally moved forward from the chemo two years ago and that my health is stable and I am okay. That’s a huge leap forward, although it still feels very tentative at times and sometimes, it feels absolutely terrifying and like I’m about to combust or something. Strangely, the big stuff doesn’t worry me too much but things usually related to my poor spatial skills like parking the car somewhere unfamiliar. Chemo? No worries mate.

Just call me “odd”. You won’t be the first and you won’t be the last.

the_life_plan_inspiration_2016_grey_angle

Anyway, I bought myself a book, which offered great promise this week: Shannah Kennedy’s: The Life Plan. I found it at a stationery and organisation shop called Kikki K, which says:

“Do you want to live with purpose and achieve your life goals? In The Life Plan, leading life coach Shannah Kennedy sets out a step-by-step strategy to help you identify your true purpose and values, declutter and find clarity, improve your time management, and create tools to help you stay focused.”

By the way, all these thoughts about getting organised at home just received another setback. We just visited a local 2nd hand book sale and returned home with two more boxes of books. I wonder if you can store books in the fridge…Then again, I don’t think there’s any room in there either. We’ll just have to read them fast!

So, how has your week been? I hope it’s been good and look forward to catching up!

Thanks for popping by! This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana at Part-Time Monster. You can click  for the linky to read the other posts.

xx Rowena

night lights Ettalong.JPG

Good night…Night Lights, Ettalong Beach, NSW.

24 thoughts on “Winter Weekend Coffee Share.

  1. Suvi

    Hi Rowena! Heheh guess what, it’s summer here in Finland and around 10-15 Celcius. We had two weeks of warmth so this is a bit depressing.. My daughter escaped the Fall to Australia last year but came back after 3,5 months to the darkest time of the year. 😱 Not the best time to come back, LOL!

  2. Rowena Post author

    Did she go home for Christmas? I spent 9 months in Europe back in 1992 and came back home for Christmas. I regret it a bit now as I’ve never experienced a white Christmas…or even a cold one. I left in early December so I did see some of the German Christmas decorations, which was very special. What did your daughter think of Australia? My blog has quite a strong Australian feel, especially as I’ve been unable to go overseas since our honeymoon 15 years ago but we do a bit of Australian travel.

  3. merrildsmith

    I’m an American, so I have to look up and convert Celsius to Fahrenheit. 🙂 So your cold is our lovely spring day temperature. The last couple of days it’s been beautiful–in the mid-70s F and down to about 60 F at night–chilly, but nice for sleeping. It’s supposed to get hot and sticky later today, so the a/c is going to be back on. We might get thunderstorms, too.

    Good luck with the organizing!

  4. Rhio

    It’s been 23 C here in the UK this week but it feels as though it’s at least 30 C. I really struggle with it and wish we had air conditioned homes! I went to Canada and Spain in the middle of summer before, Spain gets up to 40 C regularly, and I was really ill the entire time I was there so much so I ended up in hospital with heat exhaustion. I think I am too British biologically to deal with heat, haha.

  5. trentpmcd

    I am a cool weather person. Not cold weather, though I handle it. The problem with cold weather is that it is so expensive. I don’t use AC, but the heat is on about 6 months of the year. I like summer. Yeah, like 20C (It’s been over 30C a few times already).

    Not as many dangerous animals in NH, but we still have them in this country. Great Whites off Cape Cod, grizzlies in the west. Wolves in the west, yet bison kill far, far more people than wolves, bears and sharks combined. Some of the alligators kill people, but they aren’t any place as bad as your crocs.

    Have a great week!

  6. Kathleen Howell

    The muffin looks so delish! I still can’t get used to hearing about winter in June. 🙂 I’m from the states and we’ll have 92 F today, which is 33 C. Hot and sticky. Glad to hear you’re doing better, healthwise!

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Kathleen. What caught another blogger out was when I talked about heading North to the tropics, instead of South. Although you know the seasons are around the other way, the differences creep up on you.
    Sounds like you’re having lovely weather.
    It’s been such a relief and a blessing for my health to improve. Such a difference to our family! xx Rowena

  8. Rowena Post author

    You certainly do have your share of dangerous animals over there. I wasn’t aware that the bison were dangerous so I would have been that idiot tourist walking straight into their path.
    Are you into Johnny Cash? I’ve watched a movie about his life and a documentary about his life. Quite interesting. I haven’t heard a lot of his music but it’s familiar. Willie Nelson is on here and I do remember Gracelands…we had it on cassette tape. Shame it’s 12.30 AM and I should be asleep.

  9. trentpmcd

    Go to sleep! WOK, I guess i was exaggerating – Deer kill more people in the US than any other large animal (52 per year) while bees kill even more. Dogs, insects, snakes and cows kill in the double digits every year. Bears, mountain lions, sharks and alligators each have been responsible for an average of 1 death a year since 2000. Between 1980 and 2000 about 4 people a year died of injuries from Bison (which is where I had my stats) but recently it has fallen to just under 1 per year. In modern times only a few people in the US have died from wolf attack and mountain lions have claimed a few more. With bison it is usually stupid humans.

    I listen to a little Johnny Cash but not a lot. In the 60s he was like a country star with a rock attitude and folk roots. As such he hung out with Bob Dylan a bit, at least in the late 60s. I listen to a little Willie Nelson, but not a lot. He’s a country star with a jazz feel and rock attitude.

  10. Robin

    Hi Rowena! 🙂 Thank you for the coffee, and for a chance to cool off a bit. It’s warming up here, and even though the solstice hasn’t come around yet, we are well into summer weather. The Life Plan book sounds like something I could use. I’ve been terribly disorganized lately.
    That drop off to the beach looks quite dramatic. It’s amazing the kind of rearranging storms can do.

  11. KB Garst

    Wow, that muffin looks yummy! Here in Arizona it has been in the triple digits,100 degrees plus! Keep your chin up, you will find a job. Have a good week!

  12. Suvi

    My daughter loved Australia, she saw amazing places and experienced things she never would have at home. I think she grew up on the trip too. She did come home for Xmas but we left for Florida shortly. She was so tired from the trip that she stayed in Finland with relatives!!!

  13. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I’ll have to look into that book suggestion of yours. I’ve really been looking into getting a coach as it seems the psychiatrists are not into helping me with my life, just prescribing meds. 🤑
    Again, thank you for the muffin recipe. I’m shopping for the ingredients tmrw. I’ll let you know how they turn out!

  14. Norah

    I love the cartoon comparing UK and Queensland weather. It’s so true. I have visited Belfast a couple of times in June/July. I wear the same clothes over there in their summer as I do here in our winter. It made packing easy! 🙂

  15. bettylouise31

    Yummy strawberry macadamia muffins lookand smell delicious. Glad storms have pass by for now. Sorry you didn’t getthe job. The weather here continues strange. Wildlife sightings are fun, but one must remember that they can be dangerous. Too many forget that and get themselves in touble. Have good week.

  16. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Betty Louise. A good reminder about wildlife sightings, een though the form of wildlife changes around the world. Here we have to watch out for kangaroos on dusk and many country drivers have roo bars on their cars. I understand moose are a problem in Canada.

  17. bettylouise31

    Yes, moose elk are problems where they are present. They are referred to s moose, elk, or bear jams. Traffic is a problem as people stopped for pictures and often do things to get them in trouble. There is a saying “A fed animal is a dead a animal.”

  18. Rowena Post author

    We don’t really get jams when our wildlife dies on the roads, as it’s usually in less populated areas.
    When people slow down to check out traffic accidents here, we call them rubberneckers.

  19. bettylouise31

    No I don’t live close to Yellowstone, but was a camp host in a park near it. I have been to Yellowstone a number times. Now, I am a days drive from the park.

  20. Rowena Post author

    You’d probably think it was Summer some days around here. We had a bit of a cold snap but I think we’re through the worst of it now. I’ve been such a hibernating bear and I bet I’m going to pay for it when I get out there again!
    Take care!
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

