Nigella’s Nutella Cake with Rowena’s Raspberry Cream

After a very extensive preamble, here is my revised version of Nigella’s Nutella Cake. The ingredients are the same but I’ve added more detail to the directions after I encountered difficulties.

If you check out Nigella’s recipe online, she writes: “Not only is this one of the easiest cakes to make, it happens – joyously – to be one of the most delicious. My household is totally addicted!”

DSC_1643

Yum! Just check out all that Nutella and melted chocolate.

To be perfectly honest with you, this cake is NOT easy to make. You have to separate eggs and whisking the egg whites by hand, is open to disaster and exhaustion and after two attempts, we’re still fine tuning the cooking time. It also generates a lot of washing up.

However, there’s something about this cake that encourages me to persevere. It definitely improves after a night to set in the fridge and I love it served with fresh raspberries and cream and I needed a good coverage of roasted hazelnuts on top to break up the richness of the cake. They also provided that much sought after “crunch”.

So, I would consider this a special occasion cake for adults.While my kids do have a very sensitive palate and don’t like dark chocolate, they found the cake “too bitter” and really didn’t like it.

As I found Nigella’s icing too runny after two attempts, I have included an alternative recipe for dark chocolate ganache, which has worked for me in the past.

Nutella Cake

Ingredients

For the Cake

6 large eggs (separated)

1 pinch of salt

125 grams soft unsalted butter

400 grams nutella (1 large jar..NOT the jumbo size)

1 tablespoon frangelico (or rum or water)

100 grams ground hazelnuts

100 grams dark chocolate (melted)

Dark Chocolate Ganache

  • 250g dark cooking chocolate, chopped
  • 1/3 cup double cream

100 grams hazelnuts (peeled weight)

Raspberry Cream

Double Cream

1 punnet fresh raspberries

Sifted icing sugar to taste.

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC/gas mark 4/350ºF.
  2. Melt chocolate in the microwave, following packet instructions. Put aside to cool slightly.
  3. In a large bowl 1: whisk the egg whites and salt by hand until stiff but not dry. This means soft peaks but not until the foam starts to ball up. Put aside but you need to move quickly or the foam will liquefy.
  4. In Mix Master bowl 2: Beat the butter and Nutella together, and then add the Frangelico (or whatever you’re using), egg yolks and ground hazelnuts.
  5. Into Bowl 2: Fold in cooled, melted chocolate, then lighten the mixture with a large dollop of egg white, which you can beat in as roughly as you want.
  6. Bowl 2: Fold in remaining egg white a third at a time.
  7. Pour into a 23cm/9 inch round greased and lined springform tin and cook for 40 minutes or until the cake’s beginning to come away at the sides, then let cool on a rack. The cake will still be moist and wet inside, so do not overcook.
  8. Hazlenuts: Toast the hazelnuts either in a moderate oven or in a dry frying pan until the aroma wafts upwards and the nuts are golden-brown in parts: keep shaking the pan so that they don’t burn on one side and stay too pallid on others. Transfer to a plate and let cool. It’s imperative that they’re cold they go on the ganache while If your hazelnuts have skins on then after toasting in the frying pan transfer them to a slightly dampened tea towel and rub them while they are still warm to remove the skins.

To Make The Icing

  1. In a heavy-bottomed saucepan, add the cream, liqueur or water and chopped chocolate, and heat gently. Once the chocolate’s melted, take the pan off the heat and whisk until it reaches the right consistency to ice the top of the cake

Assembling The Cake

Unmould the cooled cake carefully, leaving it on the base as it will be too difficult to get such a damp cake off in one piece.

Ice the top of the cake with ganache, and cover with whole, toasted hazelnuts.

Slice cake into small portions, as it is quite rich and plate up with a generous scoop of raspberry cream.

DSC_1648

….

Enjoy and if you do make the cake, please let me know how it goes. I’m rather curious.

20 thoughts on “Nigella’s Nutella Cake with Rowena’s Raspberry Cream

  1. Suvi

    If a recipe asks you to separate egg yolks and whites, then I know it’s not for me 😉 I think I could have some of that raspberry cream now though! xx

  2. Rowena Post author

    Masterchef really is getting to me. I can assure you once the show ends and Summer starts up again, it will be back to makeshift eating again.

  3. Rowena Post author

    I haven’t tried to replicate any of the recipes from the show yet. They’re way out of my league. Nigella’s Nutella Cake was something I found on the net and even that would have looked plain compared to what they’re cooking.
    Speaking of worker bees, my cousin is a chef and worked on the show. She was involved in food safety among other things. I would’ve loved to be in her shoes!

  4. Tails Around the Ranch

    Cooking is like sewing…I’ve found the simpler it is, the greater the chance for it to be reasonably acceptable to my standards. Nothing worse than having one’s expectations out of line with reality!

  5. Rowena Post author

    Yes, no doubt you’ve heard of the KISS Principle…Keep It Simple Stupid. Applies well to me!
    As for the sewing side of things, I have boxes of fabric but no experience. I get way ahead of myself and am looking at encouraging my daughter to use them up. I wanted to make her a quilt and bought all sorts of remnants of chenille to patch work in with this flower fairy fabric. I have made quilts before but this was ambitious. By the sound of it, you’ve had similar issues. It’s very easy to get carried away, especially when you see something elsewhere and it looks so simple until you try to make it yourself!

  6. Rowena Post author

    Agreed! Except the insanity I’m inheriting from my kids not doing what they’re supposed to. Another ballet lesson missed and another stinking mood!

  7. Rowena Post author

    The kids went away on a Scout Minecraft camp for the weekend. It was great for them and they had cake and food in a Minecraft theme and it really was fantastic. I slept much of this weekend. I seemed to have a virus or something.
    I have started reading a series of newspaper columns by Eleanor Roosevelt and there are some real gems in them. I’m compiling a cut and paste file. She had a real love of young people and really believe in them, which I find so refreshing. I am currently reading through 1936 and am up to JUne and she reflects along on the Depression. She was such a dynamo. I will be posting some bits throughout the week and I’ll email you the file soon. It’s like superfood for the soul!

  8. Norah

    Oh I do like the sound of that – superfood for the soul. We could probably all do with more of that!
    I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. I hope you feel better soon. It was probably a good thing the children were at camp enabling you to rest. Look after yourself.

Leave a Reply

