Australian Pastry… including Tasmania!

Rolling out pastry and dough, can be a bit like watching the clouds drift by. You never know what shapes and intriguing characters you’re going to find.

Yet, I was still surprised  to find Australia perfectly rolled out on the bench, while I was rolling out my pastry for the Cornish Pasties last night. I haven’t changed the shape at all. The kids simply added Tasmania because with their Dad being from Tasmania, they’re not allowed to leave Tasmania off the map.

By the way, this accidental Australia was way better than my botched efforts at trying to draw Australia at school. There’s a sort of cheat’s method where you draw a framework up with your pencil and ruler and then fill in the wiggly bits. Unfortunately, my Australia looked more like Antarctica and I must confess that I left Tassie off the map. Please don’t tell Geoff. That could be grounds for divorce!

Indeed, leaving Tasmania off the Australian map, is so commonplace that it’s even warranted it’s own Wiki page: Omission of Tasmania From Maps Of Australia  It mentions how performers who created a map of Australia during the 1982 Commonwealth Games opening ceremony, even omitted Tasmania. This prompted English-born Tasmanian poet Andrew Sant to write:

Identity deleted,
Close to the Continent
Who wouldn’t make a fuss?
There have been wars for less…

Andrew Sant, Off The Map

Being from Tasmania, of course, isn’t like being from Sydney, Brisbane or Dubbo. It’s special. Almost like being from overseas but not quite. Jokes abound about Tasmanians being inbred and backward such as having scar tissue on the shoulder from where the second head was surgically removed. Then there’s the response…”two heads are better than one!”

 

However, these days Tasmania is touted as a fabulous travel destination what with it’s unspoilt wilderness, convict ruins, gourmet food trails and stunning coastline. Oh yes! How could I forget! The grass is also greener in Tasmania…much greener! After being with my husband for almost 20 years, how could I forget?!!

Have you ever been to Tasmania? What did you enjoy most about the trip? Or, what would you like to see there?

 

11 thoughts on “Australian Pastry… including Tasmania!

  1. Rowena Post author

    I’ve been there 4 times. The first time I went down, was for the 50th Anniversary of the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race in 1995. I hired a car with a guy I met at the hostel and headed of all places to the West Coast and stayed in Queenstown, a denuded former copper mine town, which was interesting but not why you go to Tassie. I’d always thought Tasmania was very small and that you could drive around it in a day of so, perhaps using a bit of exaggeration. However, it takes quite awhile to get around and there’s so much jam packed into it. I ended up staying in a Youth Hostel in Launceston which used to be a boarding house for country high school students who had to move to Launceston for their last two years of school. It was quite funny because Geoff boarded there so our paths crossed many years before we met. While I was staying there, the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. It was a false alarm but I can’t help feeling like it was the ghost of student mischief past.

  2. merrildsmith

    I’ve never been there, or anywhere in Australia. It looks beautiful.
    That’s funny about Tasmania having a page about it being omitted from maps. Many US maps have Alaska and Hawaii in separate boxes because they don’t fit.

  3. Rowena Post author

    I hadn’t considered the issue of trying to fit Alaska and Hawaii onto a US Map.
    Tasmania is very beautiful and has a real old world English feel to it. I remember seeing loads of hedges when I was down there, which you don’t see around here at all. I did end up at Queenstown on my first trip, which was a former copper mine and looks like a moonscape, with terrible environmental destruction. I’d done no research before that trip and thought we’d whip around Tassie in a day or two. Tasmania is not as small as it looks and is packed full of things to do and see. We’d tried to get back down there in January but our son had the Scout Jamboree and we ran out of time. It’s best going there in Summer when it’s not too cold.

  4. Suvi

    I’ve never really thought about visiting Tasmania, but why not! 😀 I have only been to Perth as a 12 year old. xx

  5. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Kat. By the way, I’ll do you a deal. I’ll swap some of my cold for your heat…ice cubes into the fiery furnace. We’re going to get quite a cold snap overnight, which I think is only 12-17 not real bad but you’d think it was a blizzard from the news reports.
    xx Ro

Leave a Reply

