Sunset Down the Street!

So often, you feel you have to travel and have buckets of money to experience the Earth’s beauty.

Yet, there can be so much to soak up right under your own nose when you bother to look. Jump out of your couch. Switch of the TV. Detach yourself from your phone, electronic devices and other leashes and open your eyes to what’s right there. Indeed, all too often we can be standing right in the midst of exquisite beauty and yet absolutely oblivious to it, and miss it all.

As a photographer, I have some kind of unconscious, automatic inner switch or alarm which goes off when conditions are “photogenic” and before I know it, the camera and I are out the door and chasing clouds, sunsets….pure magic!

Although we live near the beach (which was by design and not luck, by the way), these photos were literally taken in my street when the entire sky lit up turning an electric orange.

magic sunset

Absolutely mesmerizing! The entire sky was a brilliant sunburnt orange…even including the air!

Personally, I feel you need clouds for a truly magnificent sunset and once you’ve photographed numerous sunsets, they have to be good to catapult you out o the chair and in the zone.

This sunset didn’t disappoint. Indeed, it was good. Really good!

So, I hope you can appreciate our sunset vicariously and feel a bit more motivated to do a bit of cloud chasing yourself!

It’s great fun but watch out for those snarling, deep purple beasts with dripping tentacles. Take it from me! They’re something to photograph from a sheltered distance with a good zoom.

Rowena Storm

I’d do anything for a photo- including venturing out into the rain.

Have you seen something close to home that’s blown you away recnetly? Please share in the comments!

Wishing you a fabulous weekend!

xx Rowena

27 thoughts on “Sunset Down the Street!

  1. Gulara

    Stunning sunset, and you are right that often we miss out on beauty right in front of us. Sending love, thank you for inspiration! Off to explore 🙂

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Monika. It was my lucky day! Hope you have a great week! xx Ro
    PS Have you ever heard much about spinning dog’s hair/wool? I saw a segment on TV recently and checked it out. You use the felt they shed in Spring and I’m thinking about collecting Bilbo’s fur and see how it goes.

  3. Tails Around the Ranch

    When I had the OES’s I often joked we should spin their fur but never did it. Eliot’s was like a wool sweater…with paws. 😉 I’ll be curious how your spinning project turns out-keep me posted, ok?

  4. trentpmcd

    Great pictures! My “home” house is in NH, which is beautiful in one way. We aren’t in the mountains but it is hilly and forest covered. And then the Cape Cod house is surrounded by a totally different type of beauty. So I’m lucky, I see beauty all of the time 🙂

  5. E. E. Rawls

    That sunset is GORGEOUS. And your camera must be a great one to capture the colors so vividly! Mine don’t always turn up as pretty as the actually sunset itself.
    Something recently, hmm, it would have to be the giant moth that flew over our roof. I’ve seen a few before, and there big as a luna moth but a mix of brown and yellow-purple “eyes” on the wings. It was a pretty sight. 🙂

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Kat. I might have out done it yesterday if we’d been able to stop. I’ve posted about it tonight.
    Hope you’re doing well. I’m getting over my chest cold and starting to feel a bit better. The kids are finally performing in Gang Show this week so there’s been much organisation of costumes, driving. We’re going to the show on Saturday. Can’t wait to see it but it’s going to be a long week!!! xx Ro

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Kath. It’s lovely to hear from you. I’ve been beavering away on a dead end on my family history research and thought I’d just keep going til I found out when my Gardiner family arrived and where they were from but I’ve been trawling through so much material and I’m still not there. Very annoying. At the same time, I have come across some fascinating stories and great writing material. I’ve also had a nasty cough. How are you going there? Hope you and the family are going well! xx Ro

  8. Minuscule Moments

    All good Rowena searching through your family history is fascinating the kids had to do an assignment and find out how far back our families arrived in Australia it was so interesting and we all learned a lot. Hope the cough is on the way out keep warm and keep writing xxxx

  9. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much Kath. You’ll be impressed to know that Erina Library has held a local author/illustrator forum for the last two years. I’ve been to both and met some fabulous writers and bought more books to add to my pile. I have to do some serious reading as well as my writing!
    xxx Ro

  10. Minuscule Moments

    Wow I never knew that, I use to take the kids there for book time when we lived on the Central Coast. Although in those days my dreams of writing picture books had not evolved yet and I am sure it was after reading so many books to my kids that my own stories came to me.

  11. Rowena Post author

    The Central Coast Library network has really lifted its game in the last two years and it’s been free. I actually did a illustrator’s workshop at Woy Woy Library run by Sarah Davis. She’s worth Googling. She’s been quite prolific. My daughter’s been reading her Anti-Princess Club books and loves them and your daughter might appreciate them too. My son loved a book put out by some gamers from the ABC. As you might recall, he’s not much of a reader.
    Hope you have a great weekend!
    xx Ro

  12. Minuscule Moments

    Thanks Rowena my gal reads the same books as me now we are reading the Gone series at the moment and she is already two books ahead of me. I have fond memories of Erina library story times and also some challenging times with the boy not being able to handle the noise etc.

  13. Rowena Post author

    I’ll ask the kids if they’ve heard of them tomorrow. They’re tucked into bed.
    I took a ride on the wild side tonight and attended an adult ballet class. I felt so god and buzzy afterwards and like I could fly to the moon. JUst fantastic…especially when you consider I couldn’t walk looking back. Actually, it’s easier to move around in a studio being a controlled environment unlike footpaths. I’m learning from my daughter’s dance teacher so she knows me really well. I’ll be writing a post but it was quite an inspirational bunch in all shapes, sizes and ages. Take care xx Rowena

  14. Minuscule Moments

    The Gone series are YA there is about eight books in the series its fun to talk about characters etc with my daughter yet she is a faster reader than me or has more time I guess. Go dance Rowena they say its one of the best things you can do for your body as we age. Sounds like fun to me.

  15. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much! I have a Nikon D3100 with a zoom on it. It was taken at ISO 400 1/40 sec. f/7.1 44 mm. The biggest trouble I had, was capturing the sunset without getting any rooftops or TV antennas in the way. The rest came together exceptionally well. Another one of nature’s generous gifts to a vigilant photographer!

Leave a Reply

