Grandma’s Featherbed…#WeeklySmile

Back in the 60’s, Spike Milligan described our areas as “the largest above ground cemetery in the world”. Ouch! Not exactly the most positive feedback. However, there are some benefits to being the place where folks retire before moving onto the pearly gates for that final port of call. Aside from having loads of living treasures to talk with, our local opportunity or charity shops have a stead stream of antique and vintage treasures at very reasonable prices…which, I must admit, seem to add up when you buy in bulk like someone I know…

So, I’ve decided to share a wonderful find I had this week…twin paisley eiderdowns (Quilts) dating back to the 1940s/50s in beautiful condition. They arrived in the shop while I was there, and literally walked straight out. I had no idea what they were worth but I wanted them because I had an eiderdown just like it as a child, which came from my grandparents’ place and I felt like I could roll myself up on it and think about my grandparents and their rambling old house overflowing with uncles, aunts and us kids. We did wicked things like swinging from my grandparents’ Hills Hoist clothes line and there were at least 10 of us on there. Needless to say, the whole thing snapped and we run for the hills.

Isn’t is amazing how an object can trigger those memories almost as effectively as a time machine?!! Moreover, as someone who does have their pyjama and doona days, there’s something about wrapping yourself up in a fluffy feather quilt that is so comforting…just like chicken soup for the soul!

GrandmasFBed

John Denver & The Muppets.

Indeed, perhaps some of you remember John Denver’s: Grandma’s Featherbed:

Grandma’s Featherbed

When I was a little bitty boy
Just up off-a floor
We used to go down to Grandma’s house
Every month end or so
We had chicken pie and country ham
And homemade butter on the bread
But the best darn thing about Grandma’s house
Was her great big feather bed
It was nine feet high and six feet wide
Soft as a downy chick
It was made from the feathers of forty ‘leven geese
Took a whole bolt of cloth for the tick
It’d hold eight kids, four hound dogs
And a piggy we stole from the shed
We didn’t get much sleep but we had a lot of fun
On Grandma’s feather bed

John Denver

Being a Muppets fan, I also can’t go passed this version of the song, where John Denver sang it on the show: John Denver & The Muppets Sing

If you are looking for a few more smiles, Florence Henderson and The Muppets were great too: Happy Together

After all, you can’t have too many smiles!

What’s made you smile lately?

xx Rowena

28 thoughts on “Grandma’s Featherbed…#WeeklySmile

  1. tj6james6

    The title of your post, actually :).
    My mind immediately went to John Denver, not the Muppets version though.
    I hear his songs, in my head or on my iPod, and I start bopping along.
    Wayyyyyyyy back in the late 70’s I heard my first John Denver son at my great-aunt’s place. Her great grandson was doing his toddler best to dance along to Thank God I’m A Country Boy. We all got a kick out of it and I haven’t looked back, even though I’m the only one I know in real life who actually likes him (and Barry Manilow).

  2. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I loved the Muppets Show! Laughed my butt off.
    Our “above ground cemetery” is the state of Florida. It’s a great place geared towards the elderly.
    Thanks for the laugh this am πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ƒ

  3. vanbytheriver

    I still have most of the featherbed from the 1920’s made by my grandmother, and used by us as children in an upstairs bedroom with no heat. It was said that the feathers were all from geese on their farm, some were plucked while they were still alive. Dad spoke of naked birds running about all the time. ☺

  4. trentpmcd

    I did see the quilts, I guess on your coffee post. Nice find if it brings back such memories. Well, more than a find, it seems you were in the exact right spot at the exact right time. And yes, I remember that song πŸ™‚

  5. Rowena Post author

    I belonged in a school band and we sang that song. I think the teacher must have loved Country Music because we also did “Take Me Home Country Roads”, which I haven’t heard for a very long time. In music class, we did “I Leaving On A Jet Plane”…takes me back.

  6. Rowena Post author

    That is such a beautiful story, Van. Thanks for sharing!!! I love that image of the poor naked geese running about the farm. It sounds very funny but also painful. Ouch!

  7. Rowena Post author

    Oh, yes! heard about Florida.
    You’re welcome for the laugh. I must admit I loved watching Muppets clips this afternoon, doing my “research”.
    Take care xx Ro
    PS Have you ever considered spinning your dogs’ fur and making something? I heard about it recently and considering Bilbo is about to start moulting, I thought I might give it a go. He’s now 10 so it woud be special to have a part of him to keep. Apparently, the wool is 4x warmer than sheep’s wool, although my husband disputed that.
    No doubt, I’ve given you another laugh for the day! xx Rowena

  8. Rowena Post author

    I’m not too sure about Barry Manilow but I do enjoy Bob Denver’s music. It takes me back to my childhood, although I don’t seek it out. I’m quite a retro soul. No surprises there!

  9. trentpmcd

    He loved John Denver – those songs are more light fold rock than true country, particularly back then when country = twang. And, of course, “Leaving on Jet Plane” is pure folk.

  10. Life In Camelot

    Ah Rowena, you must be in Wyong or close by, as I recall that’s where Spike’s dear old mother lived until she died. We just sold our house in Terrigal last year, are originally from Sydney but have been living in Melbourne for the last 11 years.

    I have been feeling incredibly sorry for myself with extreme sciatic nerve pain for the past 3 weeks but then read your ‘about’ page and am scolding myself for feeling so self-absorbed.
    I hope you get as much satisfaction from your writing as I do – I also like knowing that I might leave some small mark on the world and make them laugh…

  11. Rowena Post author

    I could do with a bit of Beach Boys today. It’s a cold, wet Winter’s day here but we live a short walk from the beach.

  12. Rowena Post author

    I did read about that and they seem to think it doesn’t smell once they’ve washed it. I’m not sure whether the fur would be too warm for a sweater as I read it’s really warm. That definitely had me thinking about socks, though. My feet tend to freeze.

  13. Rowena Post author

    My defintion of country is probably very broad because it’s not something that;’s been popular where I’ve lived. Australia has its Country Music Festival in Tamworth and we’ve exported Keith Urban to the States. I’d like to export a few of our politicians at the moment, especially Pauline Hanson who somehow got re-elected to the Senate. If she and Trump joined forces, it would be terrifying!!
    Hope you’re enjoying the outdoors on my behalf. It’s been wet here this week and I’m only going out on necessary errands.
    Take care!
    xx Rowena

  14. trentpmcd

    Genre is a funny thing and often very slippery. In ways John Denver was a bit of a cross over artist – he was huge on the pop charts, big in folk circles (though not the “serious” folk people) and may have been played on some country stations. As far as politicians, no thank you, as you point out we have enough pretty nasty ones of our own! And you already exported Rupert Murdock, so you’ve done enough damage there πŸ˜‰

    I hope the weather gets better. It’s been hot and humid here (well, you’d be wearing a heavy jacket πŸ˜‰ ) and today is wett, but it has been nice to be outside a bit.

    Have a great weekend!

  15. Rowena Post author

    I live in Umina Beach but come from Sydney and consider myself a citizen of the world. I had sciatic pain a few weeks ago and wasn’t too happy about it either. Pain can be very consuming. However, as my health situation is long term, I’ve had to learn to live alongside it and somehow find joy and meaning in circumstances which are very different to what I’d envisaged. I have struggled with this lately and have had to give myself a talking to and I also love op shopping and all my finds are a bit of a tonic.
    As you might have gathered, I’m very passionate about my writing and also about helping people. I agree we need a laugh too. By the way, have you come across Dodinsky? Google it. I think you’d really enjoy it!
    Hope you’re getting through Winter okay.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

  16. Life In Camelot

    Hi Rowena, I don’t know why I wrote Wyong when I actually meant Woy Woy, but yes Umina is lovely too. I had friends who owned a place in Pearl Beach.

    I make a lot of lists and a lot of plans and when I’m thrown a curve ball, like this ongoing pain, it takes me quite some time to realise that there isn’t any way I can continue as normal and I have to work a way around it, etc. You have obviously become expert at rethinking the situation and readjusting and I applaud you for that indeed.
    And I do try to keep out of the op shops because they always hold hidden gems but I’m trying to declutter as I get older.

    I shall google Dodinsky later on today.

    I hope you have more sunshine up there than we currently do in Melbourne.
    Best wishes to you and your lovely family,
    Genevieve

  17. New Journey

    My grandmother had a big feather bed….it was a beg metal frame….the kind you feel like your in jail when you look out the bottom…big, fluffy with the smell of bengay and vicks all around…LOL this post brought back great memories…..xxkat

Leave a Reply

