Weekend Coffee Share 16th July, 2016.

Welcome To Another Weekend Coffee Share!

If we were having coffee today, we’d be having to resort to pens or typewriters to jot down any writing ideas because we could well be too busy using our phones and other devices capturing Pokemon. Not that I’ve been hugely into Pokemon Go myself but I had a couple of creatures invade our lounge room, evading me, the dogs but not my son’s eagle eye armed with his ipad. One of these things even had the audacity to sit on the couch. No doubt, it was responsible for the latest packet of Tim Tams which went missing, instead of the usual suspects.

DSC_1898

The Kids Arriving At The Theatre.

Pokemon Go was launched in Australia just over a week ago and it’s gone manic. My kids woke up all ready to go  hunting, only to find out the site had crashed and once it came up, that they couldn’t play with their phones. They don’t have WiFi. My phone’s from the ark and we couldn’t get it connected. So, the kids just had to satisfy themselves with the few Pokemon who ventured into the house. Meanwhile, however, a friend who took her toddlers to the park, said they were the only little kids there and the park was packed with teens chasing Pokemon. Well, at least they got out of hte house and found out those feet were made for walking!

DSC_1908.JPG

Today, we finally saw our kids perform in their Scout/Guide Gang Show. Have you ever been to a Gang Show? This was my first. So, throughout all these months of rehearsals and the last couple of weeks getting costume details finalised, I really felt I was flying blind. Although I’m quite used to being in the dark, that doesn’t mean I like it. I ended up delegating the “navy dress pants” to my Mum who ended up running round and round  Sydney’s Macquarie Centre with the kids like rats stuck in a maddening maze. They were having terrible trouble trying to explain what dress pants were and kept getting shown formal pants and you wouldn’t think that buying a pair of pants in a big city could be become so difficult…or so complicated! In the end, they were using my Mum’s navy pants as an example and in the end , Mum remembered she had a smaller pair or navy pants which might do the job. So, our son headed off to Gang Show in Grandma’s dress pants with a belt. Our other drama was our daughter’s hair, which had gone very dry over Winter and is getting very knotty. I swear I used half a jumbo bottle of Pantene conditioner to  get that hair plaitable!

Take it from me, there’s absolutely no glamour involved in being a stage parent. The kids might be shining, but our lights have gone out.

Yet, if you knew me, you’d be saying: “Come on, Ro. We know how much you love it. You just can’t get enough!”

Too true!

We attended the Matinee Show today and absolutely loved it. I can’t show you any photos from inside but suffice to say that I walked about feeling a hell of a lot better than when I went in and had so many belly laughs. The show was called : Once Upon A Time and had had a series of fractured fairytales including Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood and Rapunzel with so many hilarious twists and turns. They sang and danced to Waltz Disney classics like “When You Wish Upon A Star” (while flashing their torches. Scouts and Guides love torches!!) Bad To The Bone and an a more extended version of this poem from Dr Suess’s The Places You’ll Go:

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”
― Dr. Seuss, Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

O course, there’s that surge of pride of seeing your kids on any kind of stage and they don’t have to be the star to to feel absolutely and totally blown away by their performances. The whole concept of Gang Show is that it’s about the gang and while some of the older kids and leaders had some more extended solo parts, most of it was done as a group. My kids each had about 5-7 costume changes in the show and multiple stage entries, so it was a fabulous introduction to what it’s like to be in a theatre production.

However, as much as they were performers performing on a stage, they were also Scouts and Guides and the show finished off with everyone in their uniforms, marching and proud of who and what they represent.

While a group of Guides and Scouts performing on a stage might seem of little consequence given what’s going on around the world at the moment, I disagree. Although the current state of the world feels overwhelming and somewhat scary, we still need to believe in the future and our kids, our teenagers and young adults are our immediate future and we need to keep building them up. Teaching them the importance of good values and character and standing up for what is good and just in this world and how that doesn’t begin somewhere out there in the adult world but starts with them where ever they go. This is where the rubber hits the road for all of us. Being nice to your brother or sister and not erupting, even when they deliberately press all your buttons all at once just wanting for them to go troppo and get in trouble with Mum and Dad. It means being patient in traffic and not even muttering words under our breath, thinking they can not be heard.

We might not be able to change the big staff, but at least, we can work on our own stuff, the seemingly small, insignificant stuff which doesn’t seem to matter until it does.

Before I head off and unfortunately we’ll really be heading off soon because we have to pick the kids up tonight from their finale performance tonight at 11.30PM. I think Dad’s Taxi’s going to need a double expresso before we leave. It no doubt think it’s gone to bed for the night and won’t be happy heading out there again…especially in the cold.

Yellow taxi

It’s not quite this wet as we head out tonight. However, why let truth get in the way of a good story?!!

By the way, what do you think of my new writing mug? I bought it tonight when Geoff and I went out for Churros after the performance. It all but says “writer” on it and I stuck my black Artline pen in there because that’s what I use to do much of my writing. It has a really smooth action, almost enabling my fingers to keep up with my surging train of thoughts. By the way, I have been known to chew my pens and turn the clock back 20 years and I chewed my pens until they cracked, splintered and and no doubt damaged my teeth. Thank goodness, I have chilled out since then.

So, how has your week been? What have you been up to?

I hope you and yours have all been safe during the terrible events of recent times. As much as I’d love to travel, at the moment I’m just wanting to keep everyone close and stay put.

This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana at Part-Time Monster. You can click the  linky to read the other posts.

10 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share 16th July, 2016.

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Love the new mug!
    And the performance sounds like it was a hit! I bet you’re frazzled after getting them ready 😉
    I know what a Pokemon looks like.. he’s yellow. (Or is that a Pikachu?) That is about it. I know nothing of the game aside from you’re supposed to visit places and some places aren’t happy about it, like the Auschwitz museum. I can’t blame them, it’s not the memory they are trying to preserve.
    Otherwise, my week was good and now we’re camping at the beach… Lake Michigan beach that is. It feels like an ocean, just fresh water!
    Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. Diana

    Glad the performance was fun! Sounds like you had a bit of a kerfuffle leading up to it, though—hope you get some rest over the weekend!

  3. merrildsmith

    I’ve never heard of a Gang Show. I’m glad you and your kids enjoyed it. It has been a difficult week with so many terrible things happening. You are right that instilling ideas such as working together as a group (and having fun doing it) is important for children–and adults, too!
    Your new mug is cute!
    We’re having a heat spell here, but I baked a strawberry-blueberry pie today anyway. Thank goodness we have air conditioning.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend. Well, I guess yours is nearly over. 🙂

  4. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    I’ve heard of gang shows but they didn’t exist when I was in Girl Guides. A great idea and it sounds as though it was a lot of fun with good lessons to be learnt. I couldn’t agree with you more about the teaching of good values and it is those little things that will prevent the big things from happening – when we all get involved. I hope sooner rather than later.
    Hope the rest of the weekend is good Rowena before you have to again wake up early (not for Pokemon but for school). Great cup by the way.

  5. Joanna Lynn

    My son is going nuts over Pokemon Go. I guess in America the cemeteries are putting up signs asking gamers not to come in because they are walking on graves and interrupting funerals. Pretty sad.

    I love that everything went so well for your kids’ performances! I am a mom of a theater student in HS. He has been since before Kindergarten. He lived in costumes when he was little. It’s lots of fun.

    I love your outlook on how we have to keep moving forward and looking with hope to the future with our kids. Beautiful sentiment wonderfully written.

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thanks so much, Joanna. It’s funny what you connect with chatting with parents of acting dancing kids. I remember a friend of mine tearing her hair out years ago trying to find flesh coloured undies for her son. Last week, I was following in her footsteps. Fortunately, grey was okay. People probably thought they should call the Police by the time my husband arrived home. He was also looking for flesh coloured undies for our daughter and sounds like he had quite a search. A few months back I was scouring the shops for black genie pants.
    I love the sound of your son in costumes when he was little. Our son had a couple of costumes but I do remember him having great delight running round with his pants on top and his top on his legs. That wasn’t long before he started school, and I must admit I was a little concerned.
    Hope you’re having a lovely week.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Irene. I am able to scratch off day 1 of return to school. I have a big day tomorrow going to a Central Coast Author/Writer event and my daughter’s friend is coming round after school. Made a pavlova for the visit. They’re luckyt I’m going out tomorrow, or they’re be a chunk missing.
    I found the cup last week and was stoked. Only $7.00. Perfect!
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

  8. Rowena Post author

    We live in kerfuffle here. Somehow, we actually rise above it. Do our thing and then triumphantly dive deep back into it again.

  9. Rowena Post author

    I saw a photo from a friend the other day and I think she lives on Lake Michigan and it looked stunning. Hope you’re having a great time and the weather is behaving itself.
    You know more than I do about Pokemon. I think you’re right about the yellow one being a Pikachu. I just remember the cards being spread all over my son’s floor forever.
    I think I’m glad Gang Show is over. It was fabulous but we were a bit overstretched. I think we have a month until Miss is off to play her violin with the school at the Sydney Opera House.
    Meanwhile, I stumbled across a tragic murder doing my family history. Not sure if I’dm related to the woman but her husband became delusional and killed her. I will be writing up the story. It’s very much like that Oscar Pretorius case. Stay tuned.
    Hope you have a great week! xx Ro

  10. Rena McDaniel

    You are exactly right Ro! Learning these values at home is where we put a stop to hatred and violence. Our children only learn what they’re taught.

Leave a Reply

