Birthday #WeekendCoffeeShare!

Welcome to Weekend Coffee Share with a difference. It was my birthday on Saturday and we took our celebrations outdoors enjoying a history-themed cruise around our local waterways, followed by a bush walk. Although many consider Everest a challenge, for me this mountainous “hill” was challenging enough. While it was great starting off with a down hill trajectory, what goes down must walk up unless you get a piggyback. Or, in the case of the kids, Dad picks you up.

 

You can read more about our birthday celebrations Here. We had a great day!

Sorry that I can’t quite offer you a piece of birthday cake with your beverage of choice. We didn’t have one. The cake is waiting until we catch up with my parents. Makes the party last longer.

How was your week? What did you get up to?

I’m currently beavering away on a short story for a local competition. It’s probably what you’d call historical fiction and it’s seen through the eyes of a little girl whose father becomes delusional and cuts her mother’s throat and then his own. He survives. The little girl and her baby sister in my version are adopted out and she remembers nothing until her husband’s death opens Pandora’s Box and fragments of memory started flashing back. To establish the historical framework, I’ve set the short story in Sydney’s Balmain and the entire neighbourhood is seemingly jammed into the tiny terrace to watch the moon landing on TV. I was supposed to be born on the day man landed on the moon. So, it’s always been a big part of my own story, even though I ran ten days late.

Stay tuned. Although I can’t post the short story, I intend to post a write up about the case. What makes it even more tragic, is that it’s not about about a bad or evil man and it wasn’t what I’d consider domestic violence in the traditional sense. This was a  happy couple living an ordinary life with their two daughters. However, in the aftermath of the depression of the 1890s, debtors weren’t paying up and he was facing bankruptcy…at least in his mind. He literally lost his mind with depression and a week beforehand said he wanted to jump of Sydney’s famous suicide spot The Gap but wasn’t taken seriously. This was a guy who loved his wife, his daughters, went fishing and read the paper…a tailor running what appeared to be a thriving business.

Who would have thought?

I am wondering how far I can take this story and feel it really has legs.

So, I’ve been head down doing research, writing the story and crossing my fingers . It’s due 5th August.

By the way, if you remember watching the moon landing, I’d love to hear from you and find out where you were and what it was like.  It was such a phenomenal moment of our time, and yet as time’s gone by, it’s easy to forget what an achievement it was.

Lady Silhouette

Lady contemplating her next escape attempt.

On the home front, our naughty little black dog Lady, has been tunneling to freedom mimicking the Great Escape. With her black coat, Lady becomes completely invisible in the dark and having come from a farm where she went hunting with the other dogs, she knows how to hide herself well. Too many times lately, she’s been waiting for me out the front of the house when I’ve arrived home wagging her tail…the fiend! Given her black coat and camouflaging capabilities, blending in with the road and getting run over is a major concern. So, all of this means that last weekend, Geoff banged in more wooden slats and this weekend, he laid pavers over the side path… hopefully bringing an end to her excavations!

Lady at Ocean Beach

I hope Lady didn’t make it as far as the beach on her travels.

Not that Geoff had nothing else to do!

The rest of last week, has been a blur.

How was your week? I hope you had a good one!

This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana at Part-Time Monster. You can click the  linky to read the other posts.

xx Rowena

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Birthday #WeekendCoffeeShare!

  1. Lizl

    Love the picture of you and children, and also the dog, who does look like an escape artist. 😀 Am especially taken by the leaf silhouettes, shapes and shades of colors.

  2. Sanch @ Living my Imperfect Life

    Belated Happy birthday! Looks like a lovely time on Saturday. I’d actually planned on going to the central coast on Saturday but I was tired and sick so we’ve postponed our plans to this Sunday. Lovely photos of the family, nature and the dog. Hope you have a good week!

  3. Nancy

    Happy birthday a little late. Hope you enjoy your cake. Lady sound like quite an escape artist! She is also quite beautiful. Oh, and I love your hat!

  4. Suvi

    I had a great week as it was my last week of holidays! Your short story sounds heavy but intriguing. In Finland we have had some cases in the past years where a husband in debt has seen no other way out than kill their family. Absolutely devastating… Break a leg with the competition!

  5. Rena McDaniel

    I love catching up with your exploits. You always seem to find fun and adventurous things to do with your children. Your story sounds terrific! Too bad we won’t get to read it. Maybe they’ll post it and you can share a link or something. Fingers crossed that you win! Are your children twins? I am curious because they look alike and are the same size. I have twins a boy and girl grandchildren. They keep our hands full, but we’re crazy about them!

  6. Joanna Lynn

    Happy Birthday! It looks like it was a beautiful day and a great time with your family.

    We have a big black dog as well and it is a pain in the butt to find him on the few times he doesn’t want to come into the garage at night. The flashlight on the camera is the helper in those times because those eyes still reflect red. But I totally agree with the fears associated with them getting out on their own. They just don’t realize we’re trying to protect them.

  7. Joanna Lynn

    Shoot, hit the send button too soon. The story sounds great! I look forward to hearing where it takes you and how long of a story it wants to become. All the best in the competition.

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thanks Joanna. Unfortunately, I’ll have to wait to see how the competition resolves before I can post it on the blog. At least, in it’s current form. I am about to start writing up the true version of events pulled from the newspaper reports. That I will be putting on the blog. Stay tuned and I hope you have a great weekend!
    xx Rowena

  9. Rowena Post author

    Thanks for the tip with the flashlight. Hadn’t thought of that.
    Dogs and kids have alot in common. They don’t know you have their best interests at heart!

  10. Rowena Post author

    Hi Rena,
    Thanks for the enthusiastic encouragement. I could use a bit of that this week. I’ve actually booked myself into an adult ballet class for 6 weeks starting on Thursday night. My daughter dances and I love watching and it just seemed like such an out there thing for me to do, that I jumped at the chance. They had an adult jazz class before and they had a guy who was recovering from a stroke doing it and he just went at his own pace. Aside from my health and disability issues, I also have double-jointed elbows so this could really be an experience for the teacher. I know her quite well and she’s fully aware of my issues so I feel quite safe.
    My kids aren’t twins. Our son is two years older than our daughter so the photo could be misleading. My cousin had identical twin boys a few months ago. They’re so cute but what impressed me most was how she could tell them apart by the shape of their ear. That was just after they were born. I saw a video of them “talking” to each other. Talk about cute! My cousin’s Mum now has 6 grandchildren under 5 and another on the way. They sold their Torago a few years ago but I think they’ll be needing the Partridge Family bus soon!
    Hope you have a great weekend!
    xx Rowena

  11. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Suvi. I finished the story and emailed it off last night. I’ll post it on my blog once I find out how it’s gone. I will be writing up the true story of what happened but that’s going to take some time.
    We’ve had some dreadful cases like that over the last few years and you just wish you could have stepped in and helped somehow. That we need a greater sense of community.

  12. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Nancy. I was stoked to find the hat as I have trouble finding one that fits and that one feels really snug and cosy.
    Lady got out again this week. My poor husband was out there filling in the hole and covering it with pavers before leaving for work. The dog’s popularity nose-dived after that.

  13. Rowena Post author

    We’ll have to catch up some time. I was talking to a few people about your what to say to someone who is depressed this week. I thought you could add one of what not to say to yourself and what to say to yourself when you’re depressed. Add anxious to that too.
    I spent the last two weeks working on my short story about the murder and building the tension and hey presto, my own anxiety levels and tensions skyrocketed. How unlike me to catastrophise!
    Hope you have fun on Sunday. Where are you off to?
    Take care xx Ro

  14. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Lizl. Yes, I was struck by that at the time. They’re Australian eucalyptus or gum leaves. Gum trees are pretty rugged and you see them growing on ledges on cliffs seemingly surviving on air. Those leaves were a bit weather beaten and had a lot of character. Glad you could appreciate that from the photo! xx Rowena

  15. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Sue. Here’s my belated reply. I’ve been working on a short story for a local competition and it was launched from an actual situation where the husband had a mental breakdown due to financial stress and killed his wife in a delusion. I am also writing up the true story and will be posting it on the blog.

Leave a Reply

