Happy Birthday To Me…Enjoying the Australian Outdoors.

Happy Birthday to me!

We cruised by the sea.

Bushwalked to the lookout.

Then went home for tea.

Welcome to my virtual birthday party. Once upon a time, one of my friends would’ve turned up with vodka jellies and chocolate mouse, but I can offer you a Tim Tam. You could also join us to watch a great Australian movie: Oddball. It’s based on a true story of a Mareema Sheepdog, Oddball,  who saved a endangered colony of fairy penguins from foxes. We loved it.

Today, I reached the magical age of 21…again!

After opening presents this morning with the family, we set off bright and early for a history cruise along our local waterways with the kids’ Scout group. Although I’d originally planned to head into Sydney to the Koi Dessert Bar for my birthday, this cropped up and it felt like a ready-made party. We just had to turn up…perfect!

Fisherman's Wharf

Fisherman’s Wharf, Woy Woy.

The cruise set out from Woy Woy, which is is roughly 2 hours drive North from the Sydney CBD. You might recall that Spike Milligan placed Woy Woy on the world stage, although you could say the publicity was hardly positive. He described Woy Woy as “the world’s only above-ground cemetery”.

Indeed, this is what he had to say about Woy Woy back in 1959, when he wrote a portrait of his parents’ home “Goon Fishing”:

“There is, somewhere in the steaming bush of Australia, a waterside town called Woy Woy (Woy it is called Woy Woy Oi will never know).

 

25 thoughts on “Happy Birthday To Me…Enjoying the Australian Outdoors.

  1. Solveig

    Happy birthday! How many times have you turned 21 so far?
    I was reading your post and when I read “great north walk” I thought that sounds like something that might be something that could exist in Newcastle upon Tyne where I went for my bachelors degree. Well I read on and read the word “Newcastle”. I had to tell you.

  2. Jet Eliot

    Your birthday sounds joyful and adventurous, Rowena, and you look happy. A grand way to celebrate your birth — have a great new year ahead.

  3. Gulara

    Happy birthday dear Rowena, you look amazing! It looks like you had a great day. Thank you so much for sharing it with us 🙂

  4. Rowena Post author

    Ha! I love that. A friend suggested I was 21 again and I loved that. It’s been so long since my 21st these days that I hadn’t thought of that.

  5. Rowena Post author

    Hi Gulara. Thanks so much for the birthday wishes. Sorry, it’s taken me so long to reply. We had a big day and I was working on a short story for a competition entry through the week and had a lot of adjectives and adverbs to kill off to meet the word limit. I will be posting the real story based on newspaper reports soon. It’s quite an intriguing story.

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Geoff. I love a good sunset photo and even though I no doubt have thousands on the hard drive, I still want more.
    I love that hat. It feels very snug and cosy.
    Sorry, it’s taken me so long to reply to your comment but I’ve been working on a short story for a local competition and had to murder a lot of adjectives and adverbs not to mention other darlings to meet the word limit. Emailed it off last night so fingers crossed.

  7. Rowena Post author

    Definitely 21 again, Trent! Had a great day and I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to reply but I was working on a short story for a long competition and was tinkering to get it ready for today’s deadline.

  8. Rowena Post author

    Hi Solveig. I turned a very youthful 47. That is, until I start listening to my kids and conversing with them about technology and I realize the horse has bolted and let me behind.
    Sorry that it’s taken me so long to reply. I was out for the birthday weekend and I had a deadline for a local short story competition. It had a 1500 word limit and I really wanted to create a complex multilayered situation so it was like working with tweezers in the end and I went on an adjective and adverb massacre to knock the word limit down. I can’t post it but I’ll email it through.
    Our Newcastle was named after Newcastle upon Tyne..or at least, Newcastle in the UK.

  9. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much Geoff. I can’t post it but I’ll post it through along with the original reports. I still can’t understand what happened that precipitated his descent into such madness that he killed his wife.

Leave a Reply

