Gold From The Couch.

Nothing like crawling out of bed after a Sunday sleep-in and winning a Gold Medal at the Rio Games. After all, when Mack Horton won Gold in the 400m freestyle for Australia, that includes me.

Mack Horton Gold

Aussie Mack Horton Savours Gold…another great shot from the couch.

Thanks, Mack!

I also have to thank Mack Horton for a great Sunday morning pep talk. After his win, he shared his self-talk during the race: “I am in control.I can do it.”

What a contrast to that panic-stricken: “Everything’s falling apart”. Feeling “out of control” and “I’ve lost it”.

That’s the difference between being a VICTOR, and becoming the VICTIM…success and giving up!

Great wisdom…as I scoff another Honey Joy from our daughter’s stash from last night’s party.

Are you watching the Olympics? Any highlights?

I must admit that I also just cheered when Hungarian Katinka Hosszu won Gold in Women’s 400m Individual Medley. This is her fourth Olympics and although a brilliant swimmer, she was yet to win an Olympic Gold:

“In London, I was so scared of what’s going to happen if I lose,” Hosszu said, according to The New York Times. “It was awful, really. I just felt like: ‘This is my time; I need to show it. It’s now or never.’ I put this pressure on myself.”

Hosszu was ranked World No. 1 coming into the Olympics, yet there are no guarantees. So, her success was a huge personal triumph and a reminder to anyone:”Never Give Up!”

Women's Relay Team

No time to rest or get a cup of tea, it’s grueling pace.

Another race and a huge yahoo from the couch, as the Australian Women’s 4 x 100 m Freestyle Relay Team take out Gold and the World Record.

The kids and I met Cate Campbell at a Muscular Dystrophy NSW event held just after the London Olympics. She is a truly inspirational person in real life, just as much as in the pool. Truly, someone to follow…even if it’s only with a cheer from the couch!

Aussie! Aussie! Aussie! Oi! Oi! Oi!

Top of the medal tally…not that I’m showing off, but I had to play this: Queen: We Are The Champions.

Have you been watching the Olympics? Any highlights so far?

Cheers from the couch! I have more medals to win!

xx Rowena

11 thoughts on “Gold From The Couch.

  1. Joanna Lynn

    It’s so fun to see how our country pride just rises to the top during the Olympics – no matter what country you’re from. I know whenever I hear the Star Spangled Banner play when America wins gold, there are always tears that come with it.

  2. Rowena Post author

    So true. I still remember when the Olympics were held in Sydney. It was incredible. The whole city was transformed. We’d win gold and the streets would errupt in “Aussie! Aussie! Aussie! Oi! Oi!trangers would talk to each other in lifts and at bus stops. It was amazing.
    Australia usually does pretty well at the Olympics, especially given our smaller population but to be at the top of the medal tally probably won’t last.

  3. TanGental

    Yep trying to resist the urge to stay up to stupid o’clock to watch things unfold. And I always love the Anglo Aussie rivalry to see who wins most. So good start well done but you want to watch over your shoulder….

  4. Pingback: Olympic Coffee Share | beyondtheflow

  5. Tails Around the Ranch

    Watching the Olympics has been a lovely diversion from the hideous political campaign currently going on like a reality show in the US. Even have been cheering for the Aussies poolside (well at least until Michael Phelps gets into the water 😉 ).

  6. Joanna Lynn

    You never know. Maybe it will be Australia’s year. I was heartbroken watching the American women’s cyclist lead almost the entire race and end up going to fourth right before the finish line. So sad.

  7. Rowena Post author

    I know what you mean. There’s so much emotion at the games with the highs and lows. An Aussie gymnast had a fall and they showed her teary and I thought the cameras should’ve left her alone.

  8. Rowena Post author

    I heard Michael Phelps won another medal. I couldn’t believe he was still competing. Some people are definitely made of different stuff.
    I haven’t seen much of the US election coverage lately. I’ve been in a bit of a bubble here what with the kids, my writing etc.
    Lady got out again this morning so I took the dogs for a good stint at the beach. They loved it. She probably needing some exercise and social time. She’s much more social than Bilbo, who is a definite introvert. I tell people he’s that guy standing in the corner at the pub talking to his beer.
    I am currently watching USA versus Australia in the women’s hockey. Score is 1 nil US in the lead. Need to send them a few cheers “Aussie! Aussie! Aussie! OI! Oi! Oi!”
    Take care xx Ro

  9. Rowena Post author

    Yes, the US is breathing down our throats all over the place…and beating us. Haven’t caught up with today’s medal tally. Just heard UK has won it’s first medal.
    I am enjoying all the human interest stories with the incredible hurdles the athletes have overcome to get there.

Leave a Reply

