Sydney Opera House…One More Sleep!

Tomorrow night,  our daughter will be performing at the Sydney Opera House at the Acacia Concert, a instrumental performance for NSW public schools.

I am so excited. She is so nervous. It’s such a big thing for anyone to perform at the Sydney Opera House, but what a mix of thrill and nervous torment for a kid.

Moreover, as much as you try to get it right. Be Perfect. I can tell you from personal experience, that violins are notoriously temperamental. Love to be difficult!! When you need to play one string, you play two and vice versa and getting those fingers in the exact spot can be tricky too. Just to make things even more difficult, the kids are performing without music. Yikes!

Fortunately, there’s safety in numbers. She’s playing with a few errors but she’s pretty much nailed it. Nailed the playing. Hopefully, the nerves won’t get to her. Must remind her to enjoy herself and have fun.

I’ll be meeting her for afternoon tea, so I can give her a pep talk then…along with taking her to Starbucks. She loves Starbucks and it’s a real novelty in Australia. I don’t think I’ve ever been. I prefer local cafes.

Anyway, on the eve of her big adventure, I thought I’d share this photo of her when she first took up the violin as a 5 year old. She was so cute!

Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House

Stay tuned. I can’t wait to see her perform and to get my photo of her standing on the Opera House steps. This is so incredibly exciting…yet all the organisation is quite overwhelming and we have such a detailed running sheet. Scary stuff.

On that note, I’d better get back to it.

Wish us all luck. She just needs to perform…the support crew will be madly paddling our feet behind the scenes, like a duck’s feet underwater. It feels like I’m juggling a dozen raw eggs and disaster can strike at any time. Not that I’m catastrophising. Turning a mole hill into a mountain. Definitely not!

Performing at the Sydney Opera House…that’s definitely the top of the mountain. At least, a Kosciusko of a mountain!

Not that I’m about to hit the panic button.

Oh no! The most important role of all for the support crew is to keep calm at all times. Smooth the waves.

Keep Calm and violin on!

Have you ever performed at an intimidating venue and how did it go? Or, have you been the support crew? I’d love to hear how it all went!

xx Rowena

15 thoughts on “Sydney Opera House…One More Sleep!

  1. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Dermott. She’s worked so hard and had to overcome so many hurdles. Something like this doesn’t just land in your lap. That said, I’ve been playing longer than her and I haven’t played at the Opera House…YET!! I’m working on that.

  2. New Journey

    Well its all over by now….and I am so proud of you little one…..what a great experience for her to have…..so happy for your family…..can’t wait to read about it…and nope never had the pleasure to play anywhere of great importance…..always dreamed of Carnegie Hall….but it was just a dream….something I put no effort into…LOL..xxkat

  3. Rowena Post author

    My grandmother played at Carnegie Hall back in 1948. Don’t think it went as well as she’d hoped but she did perform there as a concert pianist. Don’t think there are any photos though.
    I am starting to upload a series of posts on how it went. The organisational logistics were a nightmare and I’m amazed I pulled it off. Have pretty much been sleeping or resting for the last two days to recover.
    I was bursting with pride even though I couldn’t see her from our seat. xx Ro

  4. New Journey

    I will check out the post tonight…we are on oou way out the door…just checking on the terrible earthquake in Italy…my daughters family is just west of there out in the country….so far she said everyone is ok…..xxkat

  5. Rowena Post author

    Oh my goodness! I hope they’re okay. I’ve been lying low since the big performance…a bit of yin and yang. So, I haven’t been watching the news. So does your daughter live in Italy? Or, just her in-laws? Would normally be very exciting to have family living in Italy but not with earthquakes around. Keep me posted.
    xx Ro

  6. New Journey

    Its her aunts, uncles and cousins all well in there little corner of Italy…they live out in the country a ways West of the earthquake…my daughter and her husband live in Santa Rosa…so sad, my heart aches for them in Italy…..

Leave a Reply

