Fathers’ Day Coffee Share.

Welcome to another Weekend Coffee Share. It’s Father’s Day here in Australia and we’re heading off on a river cruise with Scouts and then off to see my parents afterwards. So, my apologies. Today, we’re going to drink and run, although I’ll give you some Mars Bar Slice for the road.

How was your week? I hope you’ve had a great one.

I’ve had a fairly quiet week recovering from the excitement and planning of my daughter’s school performance at the Sydney Opera House.

I finished reading Maya Angelou’s Now I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, which I absolutely loved. I found so much in that book and felt myself melt into her words as if she was sharing her story over a coffee. I’ll be coming back to this book because a paragraph here simply does it justice. At the same time, however, I’ll mention that I’m Australian and I only came across her a few months ago. That almost feels like a crime. This book should be part of everybody’s basic, essential education if we are ever going to break down the barriers between us.

As far as my writing’s been concerned, I’ve written a few posts about living with an elderly dog and thinking about the next dog…how and when to make that decision.

bilbo & Lady friends

Bilbo and Lady.

Quite frankly, I thought we’d crossed that bridge two years ago when we adopted our second dog, Lady. Bilbo wasn’t looking well and he was 8 at the time and I thought we’d timed it pretty well.

Thankfully, and trust me I’m not complaining, Lady’s arrival gave Bilbo a second wind and he lost weight, gained fitness and confidence and now bounds along the beach chasing his ball, almost like a pup. Meanwhile, Lady’s proven that she’s not going to make it as a single dog so we’re back where we started except that we can now add a grieving dog to the mix when Bilbo passes. Not that I’m trying to rush things but the kids start talking about another dog and you know how it is. So, if you’re a dog person, you can catch up on: The Hypothetical Dog

Queens-Corgis

One hypothetical dog we thought warranted a bit of research was the Corgi. We spotted one while we were in Woy Woy the other day (a place made popular by comedian Spike Milligan) and while I see them more as the Queen’s dogs and a dubious choice for a Republican, the rest of the family was pretty keen. So, being my usual writer self, I had to write yet again about another what if in The Corgi Republican.

In addition to writing about dogs this week, I also finally made it back to Carrot Ranch and wrote another flash this week: Returning to Chernobyl.

tyger

Lastly, I wrote about English poet William Blake has influenced me as a poet:William Blake: Birthing of a Poet.

I hope you had a great week and that if you are celebrating Fathers’ Day or finding it difficult, that it is a good day.

This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana at Part-Time Monster. You can click the linky  to read the other posts.

Take care & Best wishes,

Rowena

23 thoughts on “Fathers’ Day Coffee Share.

  1. mommyusage

    I made it to your venue 1st this week! I’m on a roll!

    Hopefully your daughter’s performance gets off without a hitch. I still love the fact that she plays. Your pups are so cute. My current doggie went through doggie grief. It was very sad. I couldn’t bring myself to get a new dog. Instead I shower her with extra love and treats. She seems to be fine now.

    While I’ve heard of “Now I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” I’ve never actually read it. I’ll have to catch your post concerning it. It’s definitely a book I’d like to read. Her poetry is some of the finest.

    Enjoy your cruise and your Father’s Day! Have a great week ahead! 🙂

  2. Sanch @ Living my Imperfect Life

    I need to read Maya Angelou’s book…haven’t read it. Sounds like a lovely Father’s Day weekend planned. Your dogs look beautiful…love Border Collies. Sad to hear though that Bilbo is ageing. I dread that day with my cats. For now, they are only 5 years old.

    By the way, I’m moving up to the Central Coast in October. Nervous as hell but excited too. Don’t know where just yet {as I haven’t found a place} but looking around Bateau Bay, Avoca, Forrester’s beach and those areas.

  3. Joanna Lynn

    Your dogs are absolutely beautiful. I wonder how your big dog would do with a smaller dog. My little one hates the big one, even though the big one was here first. It’s ridiculous.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Great to hear from you at long last! How’s the new life going? Settled in yet?
    Lady is still her mischievous self. Was getting out constantly a few weeks ago and we have chicken wire nailed into our garden beds and around the back shed. It looked like we had a wombat living under the house. Take care xx Rowe na

  5. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much. We had a great day out on a local cruise with the Scouts. It was more of a ferry cruise than something luxurious but I particularly loved seeing places from a new perspective from the water.

  6. Rowena Post author

    I was so pleased to find Maya Angelou and intend to read much more of her work. I am currently trying to get through my reading pile so am jumping around through authors, which isn’t ideal. I’m starting to read “The Color Purple” next. Hope you had a great weekend xx Rowena

  7. Rowena Post author

    Dog politics gets very interesting. My aunt had a very small dog and it used to take on huge German Shepherds but she always did so knowing that we could pick her up and make a quick exit and come to her defense..such a cheat! Hope you’ve had a great week!
    xx Rowena

  8. Rowena Post author

    Betty Louise, the dog selection process is still very hypothetical at this stage and hopefully will remain so for a long time to come. Being dsuch dog lovers, however, it’s hard not to add to the two dogs we have.

  9. Rowena Post author

    It’s life changing, Suvi. I’ve been doing more research on the Hawkesbury River Railway Bridge this week after finding out that a relative of mine was one of the contractors on it. I was also quite aghast at how they cut corners during construction which seriously compromised it’s safety putting hundreds of lives at risk.

  10. Rowena Post author

    That will be exciting. We’ll have to organise a blogger’s bash.
    When it comes to choosing where to live, keep drive times to the station in mind. Avoca seems a fair way from the station to me. We live at Umina Beach and it’s 10 minutes to Woy Woy Station and 30 mins to Hornsby on the train. I’m a serious convert to this area, even though it gets mixed reviews. Pearl Beach is great too but gets bush fires and is quite isolated what with the windy road. Forrester’s is lovely and a happening sort of place. Don’t know about transport up there. The Central Coast is so huge. We tend to go to Sydney more than heading into Gosford and it’s only a 30 minute ferry ride to Palm Beach from here. They have great fish and chips by the way. They’ve made me quite fussy!

  11. Rowena Post author

    I’m sorry if I haven’t replied to your comment before. I certainly meant to and thought I had. Sorry too if I’m doubling up. I think I have scrambled eggs for brains. We definitely enjoyed our cruise and Father’s Day and this provided the impetus to return to Brooklyn last week after our sailing trip was cancelled.
    I hope you’ve had a great weekend.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

