Paralympics Weekend Coffee Share.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee  Share!

This weekend, I won’t be asking you to join me on the couch watching the Paralympics because I have a nasty cough and my son and I are staging our very own coughfest. Indeed, last night my cough suddenly deteriorated and I was relieved to have antibiotics on hand to fight it off immediately. I’m not back on deck yet but have perked up.

 

Being a person living with chronic health and disability issues, the Paralympics have a personal resonance for me. It’s encouraging to see other disabled people overcome their own hurdles to become athletes. I have experienced this myself in my own small way when I’ve taken on skiing, playing the violin and more recently ballet and have been amazed at how much I could do. Sure, I’m not flash but I’m getting out there and having a go. Moreover, I’ve achieved so much more than I ever thought possible. This is no doubt because I sell myself short and think I can’t do something. Moreover, I need to keep an open mind, remembering that just because I can’t do one thing, it doesn’t mean I can’t do something else or I could possibly be able to do something a different way. You could say that this involves applying my creativity and that creativity can also be about problem solving.

My big news this week, is that Beyond the Flow finally reached 50,000 views. I’ve absolutely stoked and have posted a photographic retrospective here.

Meanwhile, we went on a history cruise along the Hawkesbury River to celebrate Father’s Day last weekend. If you’d like to experience a taste of touring along this soothing river, you can click here 

The cruise took us under the Hawkesbury River Railway Bridge and we heard about the demise of the original bridge, which only lasted 60 years. All that remains of this original bridge is a row of stately sandstone pylons…a testimony to engineering error.

After the cruise, we headed up to my parents’ place for afternoon tea and dinner.

dsc_3310

Wednesday night, we attended my daughter’s school musical and absolutely loved it. While she loves the performing arts and has had a few performances this year, the school school was part of this and every class put on their own act. I really like this kind of inclusive performance and strongly believe that singing, dancing and any form of musical of expressive dance, are for everyone. My daughter’s class represented the 80’s dancing to Footloose.

DSC_3343.JPG

Make-up is now becoming an essential part of these performance for our daughter. Mum barely wears lipstick and yet she had very tastefully brushed on eye  shadow in rainbow colours and it looks like the soft feathers of a bird. She did a great job and helped the other girls with their makeup. This seems to be quite important to her and a means of self-expression and being creative. One of the young assistants at our local pharmacy was very helpful, which I greatly appreciated. She is learning to apply it tastefully without looking like a clown, which has to be a bonus!

In addition to watching the Paralympics today, we also watched Ghostbusters I & II. That was such a trip down memory lane remembering video nights back in the day and running around your friends asking: “Who you going to call? Ghostbusters!” (with an Australian accent, of course!)

On that note, I’m heading back to bed. I’m napping a fair bit at the moment and it’s now very late.

How has your week been? I hope you’ve had a great one.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the Linkup Linky.

xx Rowena

14 thoughts on “Paralympics Weekend Coffee Share.

  1. agshap

    Amazing what one can do when one puts their mind to it. I had a friend who lived to be 100 and I asked how she managed as she got older (getting there myself) and she said one day at a time, one thing at a time…slow down and it will get done. Now I look at life that way – My week was hectic as I returned to work in an elementary school and had to adjust to getting up early and “working” – it was fun having two months off…but alas, we do what we have to and eventually I wont mind the 5 am wake up (said no one EVER)…

  2. Norah

    Hi Rowena, I’m sorry to hear you have not been feeling well. I hope you and your son are able to ditch that cough real soon.
    Congratulations on your own achievements, and those of your daughter. She obviously has some of her mother’s creative spark and energy.
    Take care of yourself. Have a good week – recovered!

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks so much for your well wishes, Norah. Got more antibiotics tonight. Our daughter arrived home from scout camp today and leaves on school camp tomorrow and just hope she hasn’t been infected in the short time she’s home. Hope you have a great week! xx Ro

  4. Kathleen Howell

    Ugh, hope you feel better! I had to giggle at “staging a coughfest” though! 🙂 The Paralympics sounds like truly a wonderful thing! And congrats on your views milestone!

  5. Robin

    I hope you’re feeling better, Rowena. Congratulations on your 50,000 views! I love your daughter’s rainbow makeup. It’s beautiful. Your life sounds so full, not limited at all by your health and disability issues. Except for the coughfest, of course, but that’s temporary.

    Have a wonderful week! And if you get out in a kayak, let me know how it went. 🙂

  6. Joanna Lynn

    I’ve always been impressed with the special olympics. I worked at one once here and fell in love with the participants. It was a great experience.

    Your daughter is beautiful and her makeup is very pretty and applied well. I only wear mascara anymore and only then if I’m going somewhere.

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Joanna. That’s great you worked at the special olympics. We went to a book talk by Australian Paralympian Kurt Fernely. He spoke about the the Paralympics have been gaining respect and equality over the years and I’m really trying to give both Olympics equal attention..especially given my disability and health issues. I know two athletes at the Paralympics along with meeting Kurt and that also draws me in. A guy I know from Muscular Dystrophy is playing Bocce for Australia…Daniel Michel and has very limited mobility but Bocce has given his sporting interests a vital outlet. We’ve played Bocce at a few events and the kids like it but I didn’t really get how to play it.

  8. Joanna Lynn

    I love how much things have changed and grown in opportunities for everyone, no matter what your physical abilities are or aren’t, to play and compete. Growing up I never heard about these opportunities. I believe there was special olympics to a point but I don’t remember anything about the Paralympics. Now we have people like Oscar Pistorius being in the regular Olympics (too bad he turned out to be a murderer).

  9. Rowena Post author

    I agree with how disabilities were swept right under the carpet when we were young. My kids have learned songs in sign language at school and I think by seeing people who have lost limbs etc in the Paralympics and the ads in between, it helps the general population feel more comfortable about disability and better equipped if something like that ever happens to them or someone they know. My grandfather lost his leg when I was 12 and it took me years to come to terms with that. I was quite frightened by it all. Seeing all these people carry forward, is very encouraging.

Leave a Reply

