Weekend Coffee Share 24th September, 2016.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

You’ve chosen a great day to join me for coffee. This time, I’m not offering you Vegemite toast with your beverage of choice. Rather, I have been to the bakery and bought a try of delectable Chocolate Profiteroles with a rich Crème pâtissière filling. Trust me! I’m very discerning about anything involving chocolate or desserts and these are to die for. Or, worth paying me an actual visit. They taste nowhere near as good in cyberspace!

How was your week? I hope it’s been a good one but this coffee share also offers a great place to vent a bit about your week and let it go. I had a fairly stressful week with a whole lot of strange things happening, which stressed me out quite a lot. On Tuesday, my daughter’s train was cancelled and a friend gave her a lift part of the way and we were told the trains further up the line were fine but they weren’t. So, this meant my daughter and her friend were walking for an hour to school when I was told the bus company had it covered. That afternoon, her train was running 40 minutes late so she rang me and asked me to pick her up from the station. However, she didn’t say which station so I was waiting for these trains there for 40 minutes and then she wasn’t on there. Of course, I had to leave my mobile phone at home during all of this and her phone is missing. She ended up getting home at 6.00PM and was very rattled. Thursday, I witnessed something rather concerning involving a child on the train and had to report that and follow it up. Friday, I couldn’t find my wallet and searched all around my lounge chair and couldn’t find it but then it only took Geoff five minutes to find it down the side. Don’t you hate that? I swear sometimes my eyes just don’t work!

After all of that, I felt like I needed a long bath but life goes on.

During the last week, I came across a series of interesting dog stories after trying to find out more about a story about a guide dog stealing Pal from the supermarket and winding up in court. So, if you like a good dog story, you might want to check these out:

Judge Reprimands Thief Dog

A Different Type of Rescue Dog-Newfoundland

The Dog and the Omnisient Narrator

The Dogs’ Commandments

The week is finishing up on a more relaxing note. We had stunning Spring weather today with bright azure skies and several of our native Australian plants are flowering. So, it was lovely sitting out in the garden and having lunch.

suncatcher

The Sun Catcher Kit.

Later in the day, my daughter and I made a suncatcher or stained-glass window cat from a kit and baked it in the oven. We tried one of these four years ago when she was 6 and had a bit of a disaster with the metal frame shifting and the plastic crystals spread far and wide and overflowed the frame. I still remember our disappointment and reblogged a post I wrote about it at the time.

stained-glass-fairy

The “Stained Glass” Fairy

Disaster Crafter-our first attempt at the fairy.

The Craft Master- Making the Stained Glass Cat.

Today’s effort went really well after my daughter with her x-ray vision, still found mistakes. I probably don’t notice them enough and have quite a “she’ll be right mate attitude” unless it comes to my writing.

amelia-cat-glass

The “Stained Glass” Cat we made today.

The kids are now on school holidays and we’ve booked our son in for a three day sailing course and they’re both doing a three day surfing course the following week. Sounds like fun to me!

What have you been up to? Do you have any plans?

I’d love to hear from you!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the Linky.

xx Rowena

 

17 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share 24th September, 2016.

  1. vanbytheriver

    Bad week or not, you are about to be in the middle of Spring, and that’s okay ! ☺ It’s fun to witness the very different seasons on the other side of the world. Enjoy the weekend. 💘

  2. Tails Around the Ranch

    While you’re moving into Spring, we are (finally) moving into Autumn. Finally some relief from the relentless 90 degree temps with no rain for ages. Things have been very exciting around the Ranch, our pack grew by one last Friday! I’m not sure I’m young enough to keep up with the new young girl! And speaking of girls…the little miss did a marvelous job with her owl. It’s beautiful! Happy weekend. ღ

  3. bettylouise31

    Even though you had frustrating week , you sound like everything is alright. We are going into Autumn right now. Since is it is cooler the flowers are lovely. The bed of white petunias is special, I have tried to get a picture but none shows the beauty. Ha e pleasant week.

  4. agshap

    If we could look at life like it was a mountain, with up and down points, and just enjoy the ride, we would all feel less stressed. I find blogging helps…work this week was hectic and I was very glad for the weekend….which is way too quiet, but quiet is good….things could be worse, so enjoy the day….Autumn is starting here, the humidity is gone, for today at least – life is good….now where did I leave my glass of wine???? (that helps too, lol)

  5. Daisy Smiley Face

    I loved those oven bake craft things. So fun! Glad Spring is arriving. Last week seems to have been stressful for many, including me. Some moon in the wrong house perhaps? 😉 ~Tara

  6. New Journey

    love the sun catcher…nice job….bummer about the train debacle…you didn’t mention your bronchitis..hope alls well…sounds like you had a busy week….do the kids out of school soon for your summer?? I can’t keep up…our entire lives are completely the opposite….LOL Happy week to you!! xxxkat

  7. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I hope Miss is ok after her crazy train day. It is hard (at least for me) to have to rely on public transportation. I guess you just need to chill and relax. 😄
    I can’t complain about my week. Kayaked with my sister-in-law, buddy’s 50th bday party and going to relax and write tmrw. I hope your have a great next week!!

  8. trentpmcd

    The train saga with your daughter sounds like a nightmare! It does sound like there was a lot of stress in your week. I’m glad you started the narrative by saying overall the week was good! I hope next week is also good but without the stress!

  9. Olive Ole

    Ah what a disaster of a week when it comes to transportation! Hate it when that happens – the trains here in Denmark should be included in the Lottery; How late are they – IF they come at all?

    The crafty bit souds fun, I used to do quite a bit of crafts with my som when he was younger. Now he’s too cool for that – or finds his mom to be too clumpsy (havent dared to ask him which it is)

    I really enjoy your blog, and your coffee shares in particular. I have nominated you for the 3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge. Please do not feel obligated in any way, but if you are interested – here is the link: https://travelmuch.net/2016/09/25/nordenskiold-glacier/

    Hoping that your public transports will be alot more cooperative in the coming weeks!

  10. Rowena Post author

    Tom, you’re about the only one.
    Bilbo still hasn’t forgotten all those Vegemite sandwiches I gave him with his tablets in them last year. He LOVES Vegemite. He’s a terrible beggar normally and all but has his nose on your plate but Vegemite really seems to rev him up. A dog nectar of the gods, perhaps!

  11. Kathleen Howell

    Glad your week turned out better! Wow, that would really be stressful.. Loved the suncatcher, haven’t made those in years. It also stirred up a memory of Shrinky Dinks. 🙂 Hope your lovely weather lingers.

  12. forgottenpumpkinpie

    I remember doing a couple of those stained glass window pieces…but it was with real glass! Mom used to work with stained glass and I’ve grown up with it. Always was a fun thing watching her turn sheets of glass into beautiful works of art.

    Your daughter will have some fun memories when she is older (regardless if the project went awesome…or burnt lol).

    Come and have a cup of hot chocolate with me!

  13. Joanna Lynn

    Oh my word! That would be a horrible situation with your child and the train/bus! And for it to happen twice is even worse. I’m so used to the bus picking my kid up in front of my house or at the corner that this sounds like a huge deal to get them to school. I guess that’s just how it works there and it is normal for you. I’m sure it’s a great system (usually) just very different from here in America. Glad the week ended on happy notes.

  14. Rowena Post author

    Hot chocolate sounds like a great idea. Hope you’re still awake.
    That sounds like so much fun making real stained glass windows and I’ve had those moments as a child where there’s that seemingly magical metamorphosis and it’s like being part of a fairytale.
    There’s one thing for certain. My kids are going to have a lot of blog posts to read when they grow up and loads of photos to check out. So even if they don’t remember things, there will be plenty of reminders.
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

