Rainbow Bike & the Bookshop…Weekly Smile

Last Thursday, while I was being led astray by detour after detour after detour, I felt a strong twitch which turned into something of a magnetic pull and before I knew it, I was inside yet another bookshop.

Yikes! There’s something about bookshops for me, which is like the call of the wild and I am absolutely powerless to stay away. Like the children being lured away by the Pied Piper of Hameln, I am always lured in,. Moreover, shame upon shame upon shame, I almost never leave empty handed. Resistance is futile. It’s beyond my control.

Anyway, last Thursday I went on a bit of an “excursion”. To be exact, it started the moment I left the doctor’s surgery in St Leonards when instead of catching the train North towards home, I jumped platforms and was soon click clacketting my way across the Sydney Harbour Bridge, through the city and alighting at Kings Cross Station. From there, I explored the Anne & Otto Frank Exhibition at the Sydney Jewish Museum and then took a right and stumbled across Darlinghurst Gaol, which is now the National Art School. Struck by it’s imposing sandstone architecture, I HAD to explore it further especially as I had my camera with me. Before long, I was in Surry Hills, my usual stomping ground.

That’s where I stumbled across The Oscar & Friends Bookshop.

Well, in terms of budget control and not spending any money, I kept stumbling over.

Or, you could look at it on the bright side and say I only bought two books. One is a gift for my brother so I won’t give it away but the book, which I bought for myself, was very pertinent:

Tim Harwood’s Messy: How to Be Creative & Resilient in a Tidy-Minded World.

messy-hb-us-206x300.png

‘Utterly fascinating. Tim Harford shows that if you want to be creative and resilient, you need a little more disorder in your world. It’s a masterful case for the life-changing magic of cluttering up’ – Adam Grant

Ranging expertly across business, politics and the arts, Tim Harford makes a compelling case for the creative benefits of disorganisation, improvisation and confusion. His liberating message: you’ll be more successful if you stop struggling so hard to plan or control your success. Messy is a deeply researched, endlessly eye-opening adventure’ – Oliver Burkeman

Now, I know that when you’re a bit quirky and spend your life swimming against the flow, you can get rather excited when you finally find someone who agrees with your point of view…AT LAST!! Indeed, given the thrill of finding a so-called published expert supporting your long held philosophical stance when you’ve been as a lone ranger on a tiny Pacific atoll,  is such a relief that you don’t even question whether the author’s legit. Indeed, here’s finally the proof you’ve always been looking for that messy desks beat tidy desks. Yippee!

Anyway, as you might gather finding Tim Harford’s book is a good enough reason to smile.

However, as I’m leaving the bookshop, I spotted a bicycle, which had been painted in luscious rainbow colours and I was in heaven.

DSC_4445.JPG

Indeed, I thought about riding that rainbow bike right up into the sky and into the heavens. That was, until I spotted the very secure bike chain.

While everyone has their own perspective of what rainbows mean to them, I love all the bright colours and how rainbows are formed by that mingling of sun and rain which must be viewed from the correct angle in what must be a fusion of magic and science.

Rainbows make me smile.

Hmm…and now thanks to Tim Harford I can ignore all the crap on my desk until my keyboard gets buried again and a rescue mission is required.

What has made you smile this week?

This has been part of The Weekly Smile hosted by Trent’s World. You can click on the linky here to check it out.

xx Rowena

 

12 thoughts on “Rainbow Bike & the Bookshop…Weekly Smile

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I’m smiling because we’ve been able to squeeze in 2 more weekends of camping (last & upcoming), and the weather has been ok. Still a bit chilly, however just move in closer to the fire!

  2. trentpmcd

    I think bookshops have black holes in their center, great pools of literary gravity that pulls at all readers from miles away. I’m ultra messy, does that make me ultra creative ? 😉 Great bike.

  3. Rowena Post author

    Interesting that you’re ultra messy. I’m not sure quite what that entails but I’m definitely messy.
    Apparently, creative people do tend to be messy because they have so many projects on the boil at the same time and there mind darts onto the latest source of inspiration. This is definitely true of me and I do leave things out so I don’t forget about them.
    BTW, this book looks excellent. I’m finishing Jimmy Barnes and then it’s next. I seem to be a slow reader so I should get into it next week.
    Hope your week is going well. Monday is just about done and dusted here.
    xx Ro
    BTW I read that your wife is a speech therapist. My 10 year old daughter developed vocal nodules from yelling mainly at her brother but also me and had extensive voice therapy last year and now they’re gone.Her speech therpist put out a fundraising cookbook to set up speech therapy services in Vietnam.

  4. trentpmcd

    Ah, the stressful life of a 10 year old 😉 “Her speech therpist put out a fundraising cookbook to set up speech therapy services in Vietnam.” – very cool.

  5. Rowena Post author

    I have friends who live in Michigan on the lake. At least, I think they do. They definitely live on the lake.
    The fall colours sound so beautiful and I’ve always wanted to experience fall in New Hampshire. We have a great climate here and are right near the beach but great gardens are not a local thing and there aren’t that many deciduous trees around here. My rose bush, however, is still spectacular covered in red roses. One is sort of waving at me through the window. Hope you have a great time camping.
    xx Ro

  6. Midwestern Plant Girl

    There are many great places to view fall colors. Yes, the New England area (Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire…) is VERY well known for great viewing. I think it depends on what colors you want to see. Also, it helps to have water or a clearing nearby to have the sunlight shine on them or shine thru it from behind, implying you need some place with elevation (Illinois is flat!)
    In Colorado, the Aspen are bright yellow with the white bark shining thru! So beautiful!

  7. Rowena Post author

    You really know your stuff with the Autumn leaves! I Googled the Aspen in Colorado and they’re stunning.
    I never thought about having that clearing to get the backlight through the leaves although I’ve instinctively looked for that through the lens and tend to get down low looking up.
    Humph…think I’m getting Autumn leaf envy.
    BTW Lady got out this afternoon and vanished. Thought our nasty neighbour had sent her to the pound but then received a message on my phone and she was about 50 metres down the street. She’d almost got hit by a car so they took her in and there she was tied up in the driveway. I tell you, Lady is very lucky she’s a very cute friendly dog. She’s used up a number of her 9 lives. That is, if dogs can have nine lives. Lady tells me if it’s good enough for cats, it’s good enough for dogs!!

Leave a Reply

