Hi, my name is Erin, and I have a mental illness.

For anyone who has loved, know n or cared about someone living with bipolar, this is an insightful, sensitive and encouraging account of living with bipolar. xx Rowena

It's Fine.

I have bipolar disorder.

This is not the best way to start a conversation, maybe, but it certainly does separate the wheat from the chaff.

You get a lot of different reactions when you tell people you have a mental illmess. Some people will act surprised (“WHAAAAAT?? But you seem FINE!”), or try to relate (“I’m so moody and random, I’m probably bipolar too!”), or awkwardly change the subject. Some people will be awesome and understanding. Some people will use it against you every time you get angry or sad. Some people will use it to discredit you (“Well, sure, she said that, but you know she’s bipolar, right?”), and others will use it as a reason to disappear from your life entirely. It’s okay. Let them go. Those are not the people you need to have around you anyway.

I didn’t receive my diagnosis until I was an adult…

View original post 1,770 more words

4 thoughts on “Hi, my name is Erin, and I have a mental illness.

  1. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much. I have already received this award before and am a bit tied up at the moment to do it again.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

