Coles Bay, Tasmania with Little Man…a Flash Back.

Today, we’re not only travelling back in time, but also to another dimension.

Well, at least, I think Tasmania’s another dimension.

In November, 2005 my husband, our year old bolt of energy, the inimitable Little Man and my rather pregnant self, went on our “before the new baby arrives” holiday to Tasmania. My husband, Geoff, was born and raised in Scottsdale, North East of Launceston  and can trace his lineage back to John Newton convict who spent a bit of time at notorious Port Arthur after a stint on Norfolk Island. I think the rest of his folk were free settlers.

Coles Bay

Anyway, it’s my husband’s 50th birthday next week and rather too late in the planning, I’ve been playing archaeologist ploughing through the archives digging up memories.

That’s how I came across this series of photos taken at Coles Bay.Coles Bay is located on Tasmania’s East Coast and is a 2.5-hr drive (192 km) from Hobart and a 2 hr 20-min drive  (173 km) from Launceston.

Coles Bay Lighthouse Walk

 

To be perfectly honest, its been 11 years since this adventure and I can’t say I remember exactly where these photos were taken. I can’t remember a lot about the trip to be honest. I’ll blame baby brain and exhaustion chasing the Little Man. The Little Man was also waking up about 3-4 times a night and that didn’t help keep the brain operational either.

So, rather than being about Coles Bay, this is the view of a misty-eyed parents whose Little Man turns 13 early next year and these photos now feel so incredibly precious and I’m filled with passionate love for this uber-energetic, flash of blond curls.

 

It makes me smile seeing Little Man up on my shoulders. It was such a long time ago and it’s been a long, long time since he was able to sit up there without killing me!! Indeed, these days he’s working very hard trying outgrow his Mum and Dad and I’m just lucky I’m tall because I think he’s already caught up with my Mum.

Geoff & Little Man at Coles Bay

That said, I did label these photos as the Lighthouse House Walk. There is a stunning but rather rugged walk down to the incredibly photogenic Wine Glass Bay. However, we thought it was too much for me at the time and so we took the Lighthouse House Walk, which is wheelchair-accessible if you need it.

 

What I haven’t forgotten about this trip, was the usual difficulties of trying to round up the Little Man and get him back into the car. I’m sure most parents share such memories, which might do your head in at the time but become part of family legend as time goes by.

I really love this shot:

coles-bay-jg-hometime

Time to go Home.

Have you been to Tasmania? Or, perhaps you’d like to share about your special family holidays.

xx Rowena

9 thoughts on “Coles Bay, Tasmania with Little Man…a Flash Back.

  1. sizzlesue15

    Hi Rowena! These photos are gorgeous. I live in Brisbane and have never visited Tasmania but it is definitely on our bucket list. Looks like you have a beautiful family. Enjoy!

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Sue.
    Tassie is definitely worth going to and allowing a good week or two to get around. It might look small on the map but it’s like it’s been compressed and it takes a lot longer than I’d anticipated to get around. I went on my first trip for the 50th anniversary of the Sydney to Hobart. That was long before I met my husband, which made so much difference to getting around and understanding the cultural heritage.
    Hope you have a great weekend.
    xx Rowena

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Vicki. They’re such precious memories! And I agree with you…Time does move fast!
    Hope you have a great weekend!
    xx Rowena

  4. Rowena Post author

    It was beautiful. Wine Glass Bay, which is part of Coles Bay, is known for it’s stunning beauty. We are planning to go back in January so we’ll be able to update the pics.

Leave a Reply

