Weekend Coffee Share November 12, 2016.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

If we were having coffee today, there are no guesses about what we’d be talking about. Although I live on the other side of the planet, I’ve been following the US election. I was following along because I’m interested in current affairs but I’m also intrigued by people and what makes them tick. We really can be quite unpredictable. While I wasn’t entirely sold on Hillary Clinton, I’m no fan of Donald Trump. I am old enough to remember the horror of the Berlin Wall and what that meant and it makes me sick to think of a wall dividing the US and Mexico. Haven’t we moved beyond all of that? I hope so.

Anyway, I was doing some research today and I stumbled across a quote from Rumi, which I immediately related to the election. If you’d like to find out how Rumi ties in with the election, read on.

Moving on, I’d be telling you that my husband celebrates his 50th Birthday next weekend. We’re keeping things fairly low key as it’s a really busy time of year and we’ll do something later. However, we’ll be going out for dinner with my parents, his sister and niece and having a beach picnic as well. I’ve wrapped most of his presents and am now putting together a slide show of photos.

Putting together the slide show has put me through a whole gamut of emotions. Of course, it’s been wonderful to go through our wedding photos, photos of the kids as babies and rapidly growing up on my computer screen. Yet, at the same time, there’s this melancholy sense of loss. Wondering where all the time’s gone and there was an underlying anger about the severe auto-immune disease which was brought by my second pregnancy. The knowing of what those people were going through and how all that impacted on the smiling little man in the photographs before his world was turned upside down and all but blown up. It’s hard to re-live that, even though I love the photos.

I guess many of us have that mixture of happiness and sadness reflecting in the mirrors of the past.

While going through the photos, I found photos from our “before the second baby” trip to Tasmania in November 2005 and I decided to start sharing these on the blog. So far, I have posted about our trip to Coles Bay, which includes breathtaking Wine Glass Bay. It was a stunning spot but for me, the highlight of the photos was seeing our then 18 months old son without having to chase after him. He always has been Mr Personality. Here’s Coles Bay, Tasmania with our Little Man. He finally fell asleep at Sleepy Bay of all places.

Thursday night, I had my lyrical dance class. This is my second last lesson for the year and I’m going to miss it so much! Each week, we’ve been looking at various styles and influences on modern dance. We’ve looked at Martha Graham, Isadore Duncan and last week we looked at Doris Humphrey and her fall and recovery technique. I have to admit this felt pretty weird to me. I’ve had some nasty falls in my time and so it really went against the grain to push my body towards a fall if if I was going to save myself. I might not have pulled off these moves with a dancer’s finesse but I didn’t end up on the floor either.

I’ve been wondering where these dance lessons are taking me. What am I doing there?

When I first signed up, I just wanted to get out of my seat and have a go. After having a few dreams where I was dancing, I didn’t want to be a spectator anymore. I knew dance had somehow entered my psyche even if it didn’t make any sense.

Of course, so many things don’t make sense, especially at the beginning. You’re standing there clutching one piece of a 1000 piece puzzle and wondering why you can’t make out the picture but you just need to hang in there. Have faith. Trust that you’re heading where you’re meant to be. That’s a huge leap of faith for those of us without a crystal ball.

On the other hand, what have I got to lose?

I could be watching TV.

Wherever dancing is taking me, it’s definitely brought my daughter and I closer. I tried to show her the steps I’d learned on Thursday night and she said it wasn’t like anything she’d done before. That rang a few alarm bells. She seems to think I should be lifting my leg forward and up where I’m thinking it went behind and it really did look more like I was trying to climb over a barbed wire fence, which wasn’t very encouraging. By the way, while we were working out these moves we had had leg lift over the violin case and leg lift over the dog. Our kitchen was a veritable obstacle course.

Perhaps, I’m learning dance to go into stand-up comedy!

Meanwhile, I did manage to infuse a bit of dance imagery into a poem about trying to photograph some jacaranda flowers,  which were dancing in the wind: Jacaranda Dreaming

“Poetry is just the evidence of life. If your life is burning well, poetry is just the ash.”

Leonard Cohen

Lastly, I would just like to make a tribute to legendary poet and song writer Leonard Cohen who passed away last week. I have barely touched the surface of his work but I love Alleluia. Had to share this quote:

“I think the term poet is a very exalted term and should be applied to a man at the end of his work. When he looks back over the body of his work and he’s written poetry then let the verdict be that he’s a poet.”

Leonard Cohen

How was your week? I hope it’s been a good and wish you a fabulous week ahead.

This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana over at  Part Time Monster

Best wishes,

Rowena

13 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share November 12, 2016.

  1. vanbytheriver

    I did a double take on that black and white photo…his dad looks so much like many of the men I knew from the 1970’s . Happy Birthday to your husband. And keep dancing ! ☺

  2. Tails Around the Ranch

    Happy early birthday wishes to your husband. Yes far too many of us in the US are pretty troubled with the election results. We hope for the best but fear the worst. Sadly this country is on a hair trigger in terms of ‘them’ and ‘us’ and the future seems troubling for the near future. My sense is it will blow over since (unfortunately) most Americans won’t be in it for the long haul and will move on to the next ‘shiny object.’

  3. bettylouise31

    I have vague childhood memories of the world before the Nazi moved into Poland. Pray for us do do the right thing. Happy early birthday to your husband and good dancing.
    I AM PRAYING FOR PEACE!

  4. Rowena Post author

    We live in concerning times and like you, I hope sense will prevail.
    I hope you’ve had a good weekend and Trump surprises us all by finding some sense.
    xx Ro

  5. Rowena Post author

    That was actually his older brother. Geoff’s brother was 16 when he was born. His sister was 17 and there was a younger sister who was 10. Geoff was a bit of a surprise.
    I agree with you about the similarities. is bother looks a bit like my Dad.

  6. litadoolan

    I love this post Rowena! So full of affirmation and joy. I agree to trust the path ahead. The photographs you share are full of life being lived which is (for me) the best success. Thank you for sharing these wonderful moments. Fingers crossed the election results works out fine for one and all. x

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much, Lita. I try to be positive and sometimes have to work at it. I have know come to accept that there are ups and down through life and to hang on tight when the going get tough, because it will pass and hopefully there’s something good just around the corner. That can take a bit of work at times.

  8. Rowena Post author

    Dancing is an interesting thing. It’s something so many people enjoy and yet they hold back. I’ve found so many people are interested in doing adult classes and when I mentioned this to my teacher, she said they don’t turn up. That intrigued me. You know I have all sorts of coordination problems and yet I’m there every week and I go home and research what we’ve learned. These classes have lit a fire inside. Of course, it helps that my daughter is doing dance and she’s quite good and also looks the part. It’s been interesting because her attendance was wavering and since I’ve taken it up and we saw some of the older girls dance a few months ago, she’s become really enthusiastic. It’s a great step forward. I encourage you to find some way you can dance and have fun.

  9. litadoolan

    Yes. This roller coaster ride can be quite hairy at times. You are right that everything passes. It’s good to feel that I reckon but agree sometimes needs a bit of grit to see it. Here’s to a bright weekend no matter what my friend !

Leave a Reply

