Silent Strings…Friday Fictioneers.

The ecstasy was intense. She knew exactly how to play his strings and  the notes wafted out their bedroom window, mingling with the moonlight. A fusion of souls, together they painted stars across the universe…pure magic.

But then his eyes opened.

She was gone but his arms were wrapped around her cello’s wooden curves…a grief on the brink of madness.

He shoved the imposter back in the corner… a ghostly statue he would no longer embrace, but couldn’t throw away.

How could she be gone, now when he needed her most?

Yet, there was no reply.

Only silence.

………………………………………………………..

This has been part of Friday Fictioneers

xx Rowena

PHOTO PROMPT © Björn Rudberg

24 thoughts on “Silent Strings…Friday Fictioneers.

  1. rochellewisoff

    Dear Rowena,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. I see by your tag that we wrote about the same people. Great minds think alike. Nicely done. I look forward to reading more from you.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Rowena Post author

    Mine ended up deviating a bit from their story because I don’t think Jacqueline and Daniel were together at the end. I’m pretty sure he’d met someone else. However, it was written with them in mind in better days.
    Thank you for reminding me about Jacqueline Du Pre. I have a disease not unlike MS and have periods of marked immobility alternating with being reasonably good. I have been doing some dance classes lately and thinking about viewing dance through the mind of someone immobile. The ideas are peculating through at the moment. I started seeing things my emotions in dance a few months before I did the adult ballet class and given my lack of mobility, it really surprised me. What even surprised me more, however, is that I can dance. All the stretching and yoga like warm ups have been really good for me and I feel great.
    So, stay tuned and I’ll definitely be contributing more. Many thanks!
    xx Rowena

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much, Lynn.
    I fiddled around for a bit on how to end it and then thought about how couples turn to each other for emotional support and discuss the hard things and how they’re ideally there for each other. Yet, no doubt of the hardest things to get through, is the loss of your spouse and they’re not there to help you through it, which evokes a pain too raw to touch.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Definitely. My dance teacher has become my latest muse. She is incredible. I only did four lessons with her and she introduced me to Isadore Duncan, Martha Graham, Doris Humphrey and I’d come home and research them and take their influences onboard as a writer. It’s been an incredible extension for me, particularly as I have serious mobility problems and she lead me out of my cocoon and into the light. Obviously, she was an excellent muse!

  5. rochellewisoff

    Actually, David was at her bedside when she died. According to an interview I watched, David said he’d found the other woman but didn’t act it until Jacqueline passed away. Until then he was her caretaker for the entire 18 years if her illness.
    I’m pleased you are able to dance. One of my favorite things to do.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thanks for popping by and your lovely comments. Much appreciated.
    Thank you very much, Alicia. I remembered seeing this scene in a TV show where the husband missed his wife so much after she died that he started wearing her clothes because they smelled like her. I’d never thought about missing someone’s scent but every now and again I smell things that remind me of my grandparents and I get it.
    I also thought about that horrible thing of grieving for your partner and being used to turning to them but when they die, they’re not there when you need them the most.
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much. Sometimes your dreams can play such cruel tricks on you, can’t they? I remember that pain of waking up so well!

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much. I’ve been quite amazed at how doing these flash fiction challenges has sparked my creativity taking me in so many directions, I’d never have found on my own.

Leave a Reply

