Weekend Coffee Share November 20, 2016.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

This is a very special weekend coffee share for me because today is my husband’s 50th Birthday…Happy Birthday, Geoff!

So, the last week has been flat out with trying to organise a birthday celebration, food and worst of all, trying to get the house presentable…forget tidy. We’re just talking “good enough”. I am a very extroverted, sociable person and I love having people over but with my health being problematic, getting on top of the house is a huge struggle and I tend to keep people out. I’ve really had to talk to myself about this and that the state of the house shouldn’t matter. I love baking and when I have friends over, there’s the pavlova, my Raspberry & White Chocolate Cheese Cake. So am trying to think it’s enough that our friends feel welcome, eat well and feel loved. If they have a problem, with the house they can come over and lend a hand. I won’t send them packing.

Why is it that having the perfect house is seen as a barometer of characher, particularly for women? It seems we can conquer so many different world but heaven help you if you a messy house! That’s a capital offense!!

So we’ve had a busy weekend of celebrations.

Last night, we went out for a very special celebratory dinner with family at Sous Le Soleil, a French restaurant in Roseville, Sydney.  The restaurant operates out of  Firs cottage, which was been built before 1824 by Daniel Dering Mathew (1788-1856) and is located in the middle of Roseville Park. So, before we even get to the food, we’re looking a really quaint historic cottage set in parkland and that just ticks all my boxes. The restaurant also has a range of Frenchenalia including aprons, tea towels, Christmas decorations and a place mat featuring a map of Paris. Needless to say, I was in love before I’d even had a bite but then the food was also exquisite with a real symphony of flavours. I have scallops for entree, duck for main course and a sticky date pudding with caramelised pineapple an rum & raisin ice cream. We also had a scrumptious chocolate mouse birthday cake. The presentation was also exquisite. Overall, though what I loved about going there was that we had a room to ourselves and dining there had the feel of having an intimate and private dinner party in your home without having to do all the work yourself. Brilliant!

Today, we went out for lunch locally with Geoff’s sister and niece and then had friends over for an impromptu afternoon tea. We’re planning to have a proper celebration in the New Year when things aren’t so hectic. It’s not a good time of year to try to get all those very special friends together to celebrate this momentous occasion…50 Not Out!

By the way, I’ll also share that yesterday was Bilbo’s 10th Birthday, which makes him 70 in dog years. His birthday present was having the lot of us go out and leave him at home with Lady. However, I hope he enjoyed Geoff’s celebrations today. He found a whole new cast of unwitting ball throwers who found his persistence and endurance inspirational…especially when he was huffing and puffing and looking half dead in the heat. Obsession…addiction…these are words Bilbo only knows too well!!

scan10041

Mum looking after me.

While we’ve had the excitement and hard work of Geoff’s birthday, my mother was admitted to hospital with acute muscle spasms in her back. While not life threatening, the situation has certain been very stressful. nobody likes to see anyone suffer, but when it’s someone you love, gave birth to you and has been there your whole entire life, it takes you right off the richter scale. There are no words to describe that impact, even when you know that it’s not fatal. It’s not the end of the world but it’s still not good. I ended up turning to my blog for solace, writing Caring For Mum.

Last week, I also participated in Friday Fictioneers for the first time and really loved it. This week’s photo prompt was a cello and it was fascinating reading through all the responses to the prompt. I don’t know how the other writers felt but I had been so focused on my Vision or interpretation that I saw no other and I really had to re-read a few to get their vision, which was equally there in the photo as well. It was a really productive exercise, quite aside from being fun and meeting so great new writers as well. You can read my effort here: Silent Strings

Thursday night, I had my last Lyrical Dance lesson for the year. I apologise for not posting any photos of me sporting my tutu. You’ll just have to let your imaginations paint a picture instead. My daughter came along to watch, which was a bit intimidating but she did sit out in the corridor peering in, rather than glaring intently at us somewhat challenged adult dancers. That was probably a good move as we’re not quite ready for an audience yet. I’m really going to miss my classes and am already thinking ahead to next year and am thinking of adding tap to the mix.

So, I don’t know if that’s covered last week but it’s getting late and a whole new week starts tomorrow. This coming week has been re-badged as “School Spectacular” and our daughter has rehearsals Wednesday, Thursday and performances on Friday and Saturday. Somehow, she survived all of this last year so I’m encouraged that she and us can survive this year as well. That said, as much as I love School Spec, I’m feeling exhausted just thinking about it.

How has your week been and do you have anything special planned for the coming week? I hope things are going well and if you’re struggling with the cold, I’m happy to send you some of our heat.

This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana at Part-Time Monster.

Love and best wishes,

Rowena

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share November 20, 2016.

  1. thecoffeebeanbrain

    Happy Birthday to Geoff! I’m sure real close friends and family wouldn’t mind the state of the house when the togetherness is most important. I know some of my friends would even help me with dishes after I’ve invited them for dinner. I hope your mother recovers well from her pain. Have a great week ahead.

  2. utesmile

    Happy Birthday to your husband Geoff. Good to celebrate life! Great to read that you like to include Tap next year, you will love it. Wishing your mum better too. Wishing you a wonderful week Rowena.

  3. Tails Around the Ranch

    Our first snow of the season for which I was grateful. Everything is way too dry and dusty. But going from low 80’s to high 20’s…wasn’t quite prepared for that! Next week is Thanksgiving in the US, so for us…family, food and football. Have a great week!
    [P.S. Birthday greetings to the newest 50 year old!]

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Merril. Mum went home this morning so hopefully she’s on the mend. Back pain is such a tricky area so hard to know how it will be but she will be having physio.
    I don’t know whether you’ve been part of Friday Fictioneers but this week’s prompt was a photo of a cello and a number of the contributions had a Jewish influence re escaping the Holocaust, which I thought would interest you. Here’s the link: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2016/11/16/18-november-2016/
    I really found it fabulous looking at all the different perspectives.
    Hope you have a great week. We have some left overs from Geoff’s party yesterday so no weight loss around here this week!
    I just locked my keys in the boot when I was putting my shopping in. Fortunately, we just live around the corner from the shops and I worked home. Hate doing stuff like that! xx Ro

  5. merrildsmith

    I’m glad your mom is doing a bit better. I’ll try to look at the link when I get a chance. It’s a busy week with work to finish–and the house to get ready for Thanksgiving, plus the cooking, of course. No weight loss here either. It’s going to be total “pig-out” time. 🙂
    I hope you were able to get your shopping from the car without too much trouble!

  6. New Journey

    Wow – I am tired just reading about your log week and the one coming up….Happy Birthday to hubby…Oh to be 50 again…my next will be my 60th…aghhhh I won’t tell you how its affecting my psyche….LOL love all the pictures and enjoyed your poem about Silent Strings…keep smiling all week, may your week be cool and hope your able to catch a nap here and there…..xxkat

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Kat. These birthdays have a way of creeping up on you, don’t they!! I still feel about 25 except I’m much more together ad happier. Maybe I don’t want to be 25 again after all. xx Ro

  8. Rowena Post author

    We had quite a late dinner but it was a great meal. With your interest in music, I think you’ve enjoy reading a few of those down the track. I haven’t done this prompt before but I particularly liked it. It will be interesting to see if every week is as good, or whether the cello had a special magic.
    Hope your preparations for Thanksgiving go well.
    No weight loss here either…cheesecake is pretty cruel to the waistline.
    xx Ro

  9. Rowena Post author

    Yum. I’ve never tried pumpkin cheesecake. We had a White Chocolate and Raspberry Cheesecake for Geoff’s birthday and I’m about to eat the last piece. I thought we’d never get through all the leftovers but all gone. I gather Thanksgiving is next week? I do try to keep up but with my daughter’s end of year performances, I’m struggling just to keep up at home.

  10. merrildsmith

    Thanksgiving is tomorrow! I start preparing in advance. 🙂 Younger daughter will make the pumpkin cheesecake. She was over yesterday to break bread for the stuffing.

  11. Pingback: Discovering Daniel Dering Mathew, European Pioneer of Roseville | The Green Family Across the Water

Leave a Reply

