All for Love…Friday Fictioneers.

Watching the horses outside in the snow, Joan tried to be thankful. “Every day write down three things you’re thankful for.”

It wasn’t working.

All she could think about was shifting gears and driving her life in reverse.

What was she thinking marrying a Yankee sailor she hardly knew?

It was Sydney, 1942 and he’d swept her right off her feet.

They were still in love but Silverton, Colorado could never be home. There wasn’t a beach in sight and she hated the snow.

Now, mother had passed and she couldn’t get back.

Why did love always demand it all?

Rowena Curtin

This has been another contribution to Friday Fictioneers. This week’s photo prompt was taken by  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. You can click through to the linky here.

22 thoughts on “All for Love…Friday Fictioneers.

  1. rochellewisoff

    Dear Rowena,

    I can’t imagine moving that far from home. In a few short words you created a three dimensional character in Joan, her culture shock, her regrets. I hope the marriage is a good one, though. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Iain Kelly

    Touching take Rowena, big questions about whether it is worth giving up everything for one person. I can see her giving him an ultimatum soon. Well done.

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Michael. It’s funny how these ideas come to me. I’m Australian and although we’ve been skiing, I didn’t relate to the setting of the photo at all and started thinking about the differences in temperature in the Northern & Southern hemispheres this time of year. Here I was last night in almost 40degree celsius heat with bush fires raging locally looking at the snow.
    I’ll be interested to read the other takes on the prompt. I try to get through as many as I can.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

  4. Rowena Post author

    I know what you mean. I have two kids and I really am hoping to get some income via my writing because even thought they’re now 12 and 10, they still need me around, especially after school. Strangely, I think they’ll need me more because like does become incredibly complex for teenagers and they need someone on their side.

  5. Rowena Post author

    Interesting you mentioned California. I’ve never been to America but my husband spent 3 months in California almost 20b years ago. So, I asked him for a fairly remote cold place and he put me onto Silverton. Yes, I agree with you that going to a place with a similar climate and the beach would’ve made the transition easier.
    On another level, most relationships have there points of difference, especially as opposites so often attract. I remember hearing something about compromise meaning nobody is happy.

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Iain. I hadn’t thought of that but I think you’re right.
    I had relationships when I was younger where I ended up losing myself in their world without realizing what was going on. Whether it’s being an extrovert, a writer, having a high level of empathy, I don’t know. I find it quite easy to step into someone else’s shoes at least initially but then there’s that realization that you’re not longing living your own life. That you have been absorbed by that person to the extent that you’re no longer yourself. This isn’t all bad because you find new interests and extend yourself but it can end up with that loss of self and building resentment, resulting in an ultimatum or series mental health problems. xx Rowena

  7. Rowena Post author

    Monika, we were a bit stuck trying to find a suitable town and Geoff dobbed Silverton in.
    Writing this story has made me think of those war brides who left Australia for America. I have been that in love that I’ve thrown it all in myself but now that I’m more “mature”, it seems crazy. Falling in love is one of the biggest decisions you’ll ever make, which is more than a little scary.

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much, Sandra. I don’t remember having much in the way of rational thought when I’ve fallen in love, which is a real concern now as a parent. Yikes! Forget Dad having the shot gun. They’ll have to deal with Mum!

  9. rgayer55

    I’ve been to Silverton in the summer. Lovely tourist town. Pretty sure I wouldn’t want to like in Colorado year round. I have some friends who do and shoveling snow twice a day for 5 months doesn’t sound like my idea of fun.

    Ah, the things we do for love.

  10. Corina

    I enjoyed this one, Rowena. I think it would be very difficult to move so far away from my loved ones. When I last moved, I made sure I moved within a half hour’s drive of the airport so I could get in and out and my kids could come see me. Funny thing, they all followed me at different times so we are all within a three hour drive. Much easier that way. I don’t think I could live far from my kids and grand kids.

  11. Siobhan McNamara

    She certainly seems to be facing make or break point in her relationship. I can’t help hoping she finds reasons to stay. Though I’d struggle if I was away from the sea for too long.

  12. Rowena Post author

    It’s actually a story which could become a novel if I was so inclined. Have her return to Australia for a visit and realise how much she and everyone else has changed.
    My husband comes from Scottsdale in Tasmania and we’re going down to show the kids where he’s from. It’s going to be a real journey of exploration and we’ll be camping a bit to keep the costs down too. That’s going to be a learning curve for me, especially with my health issues. I’ve been really well lately so I’m looking forward to and feeling capable of meeting the challenge.

  13. Rowena Post author

    I am so with you, Corina. My parents live an hour away and even that becomes an obstacle at times. Mum hurt her back recently and was in hospital but I couldn’t get down until the weekend because of the kids. She wasn’t really wanting visitors either so she also let me off the hook. We wouldn’t consider moving away while they’re still with us. My mum in particular has been such a part of the kids’ lives. She’s come up every Wednesday since my son was born almost 13 years ago with a few exceptions. She’s picked them up from school so been such a part of their lives. That’s so special. My Dad retired last year but pretty much keeps to himself…not that he’s quite realised that.
    Hope you enjoy the lead up to Christmas and get everything done. It was so hot here today that my son’s ipad told him it needed to cool down before he could use it. He came in here and turned on the air con. Weird world we live in these days.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

