Reverse Sunbaking.

While I’m not sure whether Reverse Sunbaking is going to take off, I’ve been converted.

Before you Northerners think I’ve gone bonkers, I live in the sunny, Southern Hemisphere and you’ll find me living near the beach, just North of Sydney.

Umina Beach post storm Thurs

Our beach after a storm..

Reverse Sunbaking involves basking in the air-conditioned indoors, rather than turning lobster out on the beach in the midday sun. While you could set yourself up on a towel on the floor, I’ve gone for my writing chair…a comfy recliner. There’s no sun, sand, ocean views or the sound of the waves but I can chillax. For some reason, frying myself to a crisp has lost its appeal…along with melanoma.

Not that I haven’t been outside. Indeed, this morning the family walked down to the shops, thinking we had Buckley’s chance of finding a car space. Of course, we spotted two empty spots in prime real estate once we got there. Isn’t that always the way?!! Yet, it’s also good to actually use our legs for their intended purpose. Sometimes, I think my legs feel their only mission in life is to sit in the car!

Unfortunately, Reverse Sunbaking and Couch Potatoing are  closely related with only minor variations in their DNA. So, if I start sprouting, I’ll have to start moving. After all, I definitely don’t want to be swallowed up by the couch, losing all sight of the outside world. Couches can do that, you know! (Sounds like the horror makings of a Roald Dahl novel).

By the way,”Buckley’s chance” is another one of those weird Australian idioms. It means “to have little or no chance of doing or achieving something”1. You can also say something like: “You’ve got Buckley’s”.

Good luck if you’re trying to work out who Buckley was and why they became the personification of negative thinking. Like so much slang, it’s hard to retrace its origins but these conundrums do keep  academics employed.

So, what are your views on Reverse Sunbaking? Do you think I’m launching the next trend? As one of my favourite shows: The Living Room asks: is it hot or not?

xx Rowena

15 thoughts on “Reverse Sunbaking.

  1. Mabel Kwong

    I would actually prefer staying indoors on a day that is 40’C or hotter than going to the beach. In fact, it baffles me as to why people go to the beach to “cool off” on a hot day in Australia. Sure, you get the sea breeze that will blow over you but then there is also the sun shining over you – and as you feel cool because of the wind, the sun is burning you up at the same time. And when you leave the beach after a day there, walk away from the sea breeze and chances are your body will be radiating heat from the day. As someone who burns very easily, I try my best to stay out of the sun when it is a hot day. So, I agree on your take on reverse sunbaking.

    But that’s not to say I like to sit inside an air-conditioned room on a hot summer’s place. I actually don’t, haha 😀 Air-con is something I don’t like, for it being dry and it gives me a stuffy nose, even with the humidifier. I also don’t like the feeling of cold at all, and so would much rather sit at home on a warm summer’s day in front of the fan.

    So far this summer in Melbourne feels like winter 😦 I am still wearing my winter jacket to and fro work for the last couple of months. Hopefully summer well and truly hits us soon.

    Buckley’s chance sounds like a cool Aussie idiom. I haven’t heard of it a lot. Maybe it is a generational saying.

  2. merrildsmith

    On a very hot summer day, I’d be sitting inside in the a/c, too. But right now in NJ, we’ve had our first bit of snow. The sun has not come up yet. The ground is covered, but it’s turning to freezing rain, and then just rain, so it will all be gone in a few hours. So right now, I’m reverse snowbathing, I suppose! 🙂

  3. Rowena Post author

    Both Geoff and my families have been in Australia since the 1840s- 1860s. The phrase dates back to the 1890s apparently so it could well be one we’ve grown up with. I don’t think my kids knew it. We certainly have some great idioms. One of my favourites is “Not happy, Jan” and that classic from “The Castle”: “Send it to the pool room”.
    We’ll be going to Tassie soon and expect to be wearing our jackets there.
    Hope you have a great weekend.
    xx Rowena

  4. Darren's Music Blog

    The beach is a little cooler over here in Hastings but even in the height of summer I’ve never been one for lying in the sun. I love coastal walks and splashing about in the water but when it comes to lying down and relaxing I like to be in the shade or somewhere cooler.

  5. Mabel Kwong

    That does sound like a phrase that has been around for a while. Maybe it is time that it is brought back. It is catchy and I like the way you use it 🙂 I vaguely remember “Not happy, Jan” being from a TV commercial in 2000 or around that time, and it was quite a classic too. Never heard the one from The Castle, though.

    Have a good trip to Tassie and rug up! Stay warm 🙂

  6. Roy McCarthy

    I’m with you Rowena. I love the outdoors, do a fair bit of running for example. That apart, I have little wish to leave my apartment where I can see the weather do its stuff quite happily without my passive participation.

  7. Rowena Post author

    I love my Australianisms as well as scaring people with tales of Australian wildlife. I usually don’t need to try hard on the wildlife front. They’re scary enough all by themselves.
    It’s hard to imagine needing to rug up for Tassie but our friends live in Devonport and they’re rugged up at the moment. KNowing we were going, I did keep out some of our woolens.
    In the meantime, so doubts about being warm here. I think it’s going to be a scorcher tomorrow.
    xx Rowena

  8. Rowena Post author

    I don’t know whether I’m just getting old, but lying out in the sun no longer appeals.
    My two dogs are funny. There are times they go and like out in the sun and cook themselves, although I did spot them lying underneath our boat today and even digging holes to cool off. We have a Border Collie and a Border Collie x Cavalier and they have thick coats.

  9. tj6james6

    I can’t just lay out in the sun without having something to do to occupy my hands and mind any more. I have to have a book or some art project. I do, however, try to get as much sunshine as I possibly can. It’s undiagnosed, but I suspect I have SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder). The winter months are hard because of the lack of sunshine.
    That said: I used to work with someone who spent every possible waking moment baking in the sun. She looked like dried up shoe leather! All things in moderation, I suppose.

  10. Rowena Post author

    I’ve seen many people leatherized by excessive sun exposure and with various part of their face missing as well. However, in Australia the Summer sun is particularly intense. I get outside more the rest of the year and I agree with you about SAD. I get that a bit in Winter as well but our Winters a relatively mild.

  11. Louise

    I live in the UK and although we don’t have 40 degrees sun, after having malignant melanoma in 2011 I became a fan of reverse sunbaking. In fact I became quite the expert. After the all clear everyone went back to their ordinary lives and left me say indoors for two summers. I do go out more now but after a scare like that and the heat of your country, I’m definitely a fan X

  12. Rowena Post author

    The sun is very intense at the moment. My son sails and their race has been called off tomorrow because it’s going to be a scorcher. I have a blogging friend in Finland desperate to get out sailing but everything’s under snow and ice and we’re stranded with the reverse. We’re quite pleased he won’t be out there tomorrow. It’s not worth the consequences! xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

