Weekend Coffee Share December 17, 2016.

Welcome to another Weekend Coffee Share!

Today, I’m being a lousy hostess. So, if you’re thirsty or hungry,  you’ll need to head out to the kitchen and DIY. By the way, while you’re up, would you mind getting me a cup of decaf tea please? Pretty please!!!

I’ve locked myself in the lounge room with the air-conditioning on having a lazy Saturday. I need one.

dsc_4913

Sunbaking inside enjoying the air-conditioning.

How many sleeps is it now before Christmas? I have no idea. After all, it’s barely registering that it’s Saturday. I’ll blame the heat, but I’m totally incapable of performing such mental gymnastics: 25 – 17= 8. Eight sleeps…that’s better than I thought.Just a quick question: If I don’t go to sleep, does that mean Christmas will never come? I’m not sure.

I guess I should buy myself an Advent Calendar. That way, I wouldn’t have to worry about mental arithmetic. Mind you, it couldn’t be a chocolate one. In this heat, it would go into an instant meltdown. Let’s just say I’ve had enough meltdowns lately.

So,I could also visit Santa’s Countdown Clock.

Anyway, not being much of a number-cruncher, I countdown towards Christmas the same way I give directions… pick out landmarks and hope no one gets lost.

dsc_4865

School Carols.

For us, the landmarks to Christmas include: the end of year dance concert, the school carols night, the end of school and then there’s Church Christmas Eve. Somewhere along the way, there’s also checking out Christmas lights, making the Christmas Cake and wrapping presents. Sneaking in a few siestas isn’t a bad idea either!

Anyway, yesterday was the last day of school. Both my kids changed schools at the end of last year, yet I found myself back at their old school. A few of our friends had kids in the graduating class and I went to see them off.

hands-3

 

It’s a school tradition for the rest of the school and teachers to create a human tunnel for the graduating Year 6 kids to walk through. It’s a rather intense and emotional time for the entire school…smiles, tears and that sense of being in the departure lounge at the airport. I should also add that it gets quite challenging for the ginormous Year 6’s need to crawl through the tiny arches constructed by the kindergarten kids.

While most of these kids will end up together at the local high school, the transition from primary to high school is momentous…a huge leap along the pathway from childhood to growing up. Although they’re taller, their first day at high school feels a lot like their very first day at school all over again, except Mum isn’t allowed to cry this time. No tears allowed.

For better or worse, the end of the year is also a check list…especially Christmas.There’s barely been a tick in mine.  Actually, I haven’t even written the list yet, which could explain a bit. Significantly, I haven’t made my Christmas cake yet. This is a Christmas tradition deemed so important in the past, that when I had three days’ notice that I was having chemo 3 years ago, I HAD to make my Christmas cake. It seems that when I’m not under the pressure of dying, that making my Christmas cake hasn’t fallen onto the back burner. That’s along with writing and posting Christmas cards, wrapping presents and removing the excavation piles from where we squeezed in the Christmas Tree.

As you can see, we are buried deep in the depths of Christmas chaos and won’t be emerging any time soon.

Yet, at least we’ve managed to put up the Christmas Tree and decorate it. We have a real tree every year and this is the first year it’s been at ground level since we had the kids. Miss took over the decorating this year, introducing me to a new form of Christmas madness…CDOCD or Christmas Decoration Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. My usual hodgepodge of decorations made and bought throughout my lifetime was banned. Let’s just say I watched the proceedings.

dsc_4850

In addition to all the Christmas hoopla and end of school stuff, we also found out that our daughter has been accepted into Dance Team at the dance school. This isn’t just an honour and recognition of her dance abilities. It’s also a huge commitment and responsibility. That begins with arriving on time and not only being able to find your dance shoes, but also putting them on your feet. This seemingly simple process is harder than you think.

Jon & Geoff sailing

Geoff and Mister sailing.

Our son has also graduated from his Level 3 sailing course and starts racing in January. I know he’s going into his second year of high school, but it  still seems so grown up. Well, considering he’s about to overtake Grandma, he’s not so little any more.

Maybe, I’m the one who needs to grow up but that’s not to say there’s still a long way to go.

Mind you, growth should be a life long journey and I certainly haven’t stopped growing yet (and I’m not just referring to my Christmas waistline either).

By the way, although I’m not ready for Christmas, I have been doing plenty of writing. I have been working away on my Paris memoir. In addition to typing up excerpts from my diaries at the time, I’ve been reworking poetry I wrote at the time, writing new poems and short stories and being very productive. There was:

Poem:Slide Night- Dumped In Paris.

Poem:Welcome to the Yellow House.

Paris Syndrome – Disillusioned By the City of Lights.

horses-in-snow-rochelle-wisoff-fields

Photo: c Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

I also took part in Friday Fictioneers again, writing All for Love. It’s the story of an Australian war bride living in a US town.

How are plans going for your celebrations? I’d love to hear what you’re up to!

This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Diana at Part-Time Monster.

xx  Rowena

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share December 17, 2016.

  1. thecoffeebeanbrain

    I join you in your lazy Saturday plans Rowena. The rain that was suppose to come didn’t so I’m sweating like a pig while preparing dinner. One good thing though is that laundry dried up well since no rain came. I hope it rains tonight so getting to sleep would be bearable at the least. Here’s sharing some fresh cucumber lemonade with you. Stay cool!

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thanks Merril. I finally started preparing my Christmas cake tonight. I understand these are not common in the US and I don’t eat any type of fruit cake the rest of the year, even though I like it. How are your preparations for Hanukah going?
    I had an interesting comment from a blogger in Finland about the difficulties of having a real Christmas tree there. The tree is frozen when you bring it home and you’re supposed to find a coolish spot in your house for it to acclimatise and I guess thaw out. However, their home is warm throughout and so the poor tree goes into shock and drops its needles all over the place. Obvious, we don’t have that problem here. She’s bought a fake tree this year.
    Thought you’d find that interesting.
    xx Ro

  3. Rowena Post author

    It’s just after midnight here and the wind is whirling around outside and gusting through the house. The dogs are both lying by the door with their fur flying. I’ve heard it could well be raining tomorrow here.
    What is cucumber lemonade like? That sounds really interesting and I’ve never heard of it before.
    Hope it cooled down for you over there!
    I went and boiled the Christmas cake fruit starting at about 11.00PM tonight when it had cooled down. We’ve been getting a bit of takeaway lately. It’s been too hot to cook!
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

  4. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Wow! So funny to hear you’re enjoying AC, as my furnace blasts out hot, dry air 😝
    Congrats on the kiddos accomplishments! I would love to know how to sail. Dancing? Well, I do that when no one is watching 😉
    I’ve nearly forgotten about Christmas, as we’ll be celebrating it in January.
    Although, I am excited to be traveling to Savannah, Georgia next Friday!

  5. Rowena Post author

    I usually dance when no one is watching too. or, dance on the inside. I hope you have a fabulous time in Savannah, Georgia. Sounds interesting. We’ll be going to Tasmania soon. Can’t wait. xx Ro

  6. thecoffeebeanbrain

    Funny, you are about the 4th blogger to ask me what a cucumber lemonade is and how it’s done. It’s actually just freshly made lemonade added with slices of cucumber — i try to make them into smaller bits that you can nibble while drinking — put it inside the fridge to let the flavors set in and voila! A very refreshing drink! I love how the lemonade mixes with cool cucumber taste. I recently added some mint leaves and it tasted wonderful too. I also put some inside the freezer in water bottles in case I need to go out. 🙂

  7. Tails Around the Ranch

    Oh to join you in the AC’d lounge. We received 10″ of white stuff last night and it’s only zero degrees F right now. Eek. And to think just 3 weeks ago the weekend was in the 80’s. Enjoy the weekend and have a glass of lemonade for me. I’ll be wrapping my hands around a hot steaming cuppa of Joe.

  8. merrildsmith

    We actually celebrate Hanukkah and Christmas, so I’ll be baking tons of cookies this week. Older daughter and her wife will be visiting. We’ll see relatives–and then have latkes and donuts the day after Christmas!

  9. Robin

    I’m enjoying a lazy Saturday, too. It’s raining, and rainy days are always good for lazing about. Reading about your Christmas preparations makes me feel even lazier since I’ve done very little. I suppose I should get to it. 🙂 Thanks for the coffee!

  10. trentpmcd

    I tell what, we’ll take a few degrees of your heat for you at pretty good rates! I hope you have a great week and are prepared in time 😉 If you’ve ever wondered about a white Christmas, I think we’re going to have one….

  11. bettylouise31

    Leaving scholl custom sounfs delightful. Congratulations on your daughter’s accepted at dance team and you sounds advance in sailing. Take it easy and enjoy the coming festivals. Have a pleasant week.

  12. Rowena Post author

    I’m definitely willing to make a deal, Trent. We could easily spare about 5 degrees Celsius.
    A white Christmas sounds very pretty. What is it like? Part of me would love to experience it one day but that would mean being away from the family here and it’s all I’ve ever known.
    Keep me posted on your white Christmas and I’ll enjoy it from the comfort of our air-conditioned lounge.

  13. Rowena Post author

    Robin, perhaps now you’ve had the coffee, you’ll for more energized to tackle it all. Good luck.
    BTW we are planning a cruise down Tasmania’s Franklin River in January. Apparently, it has a very reflective mirror surface so hopefully we’ll get some great shots. Thanks for popping by. xx Rowena

  14. trentpmcd

    It rained all day yesterday and a lot of snow went away (still a lot left). It is cold again, but it may warm up enough to rain later in the week. I’ll let people know on next week’s coffee share if it will be a white Christmas.
    Have a great week and stay cool….

  15. Corina

    We got snow last Wednesday and it stuck around all this time. Today, Monday, we are finally out of sub freezing temperatures and have rain so the snow will be washed away finally and we’ll be able to get out and about. All that brought Christmas preparations and activities to a grinding halt. Hopefully, we’ll be able to pull off the last few things that need to be done before I drive to my son’s in Seattle, for Christmas. I’m planning on leaving Friday so I have four days, weather permitting!!

    I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas!

  16. Rowena Post author

    We’re just driving down to Sydney for Christmas which should be an hour but might take an extra 30 mins in the traffic. We’ll be spending much of the day in the pool.
    I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas as well!
    xx Rowena

  17. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Trent. My son’s ipad sent him a message today saying it was too hot and it needed to cool down before he used it again. He came in here and turned on the air-con to keep it happy!
    Hope you have a great week too!
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

