Christmas Cake Dogastrophy

If you look into those irresistible, chocolate brown eyes, you would never suspect that cute as a button dog could be capable of such wickedness.

Christmas cake 2014 zoom

The Christmas Cake.

That she could sit there licking her lips seemingly asking for more when she’s all but devoured our homemade Christmas Cake. That’s right. The very same Christmas Cake I made using my mother’s recipe, which has been part of my Christmas every year for at least 45 years or thereabouts (I doubt a 5 month old baby would’ve eaten Christmas Cake, but you never know.)

The world was very different then and so many of our family traditions have disappeared. So, this Christmas Cake is special. Of course, it doesn’t replace the true meaning of Christmas but it was made with love and the dog gutsed all that love all by herself.

Well, fortunately, she didn’t get all the cake. Thanks to my Dad’s rather peculiar aversion to cinnamon, I’d made a tray of mini Christmas Cakes for him, which I’d safely sealed away in a plastic box.So, it looks like Dad will be sharing.

As for Lady, she showed absolutely no remorse and has shot up to the very top of Santa’s Naughty List.

So, there’ll be no pressies for her…except a potentially nasty tummy ache!

Do you have any Christmas disasters to report? After all, as much as we strive towards a perfect Christmas, most of us are only human and we’re left to blame our mistakes on the dog.

xx  Rowena

17 thoughts on “Christmas Cake Dogastrophy

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Oh no! I have the scene in Christmas Story when the Dumkiss’s bloodhounds bust in and eat the Christmas turkey playing thru my head! 😂
    All that work! Gobbled in less than 10 seconds I bet. With no gratitude aside from a lick of the lips and soulful eyes! Oh my! I hope it doesn’t come back to haunt you again with upset dog belly 😣
    My only issue is as I write this, my husband should be awake and loading the truck for our departure… yet all I hear is zzzzzzzzzz 😪😴

  2. Rowena Post author

    I had too much going on to be mad but I did feel rather sad. These sort of things happen all the time around here what with the dogs and the kids and my husband would say I was just as bad. This place is Chaos Central!

  3. Rowena Post author

    Lady, saw me making this new Christmas Cake recipe tonight and you should’ve seen her tail wagging. She must’ve loved that cake. She has shown no remorse whatsoever.
    I often see the funny side of bad things like this.
    I would like to wish you a Merry Christmas, and a wonderful New Year as well, Phoebe.
    xx Rowena

  4. Rowena Post author

    Ani looks very much like Lady as well…a pair of thief dogs worlds apart.
    I didn’t realise that raisins were dangerous to dogs so thanks for the tip.
    Lady is quite a scallywag with no remorse whatsoever. Our border collie, Bilbo, takes himself to his kennel when he’s done something wrong and that’s not very often.

  5. Rowena Post author

    Another blogger mentioned that raisins are bad for dogs but it seems she has a cast iron stomach and hardened character traits to match. No remorse whatsoever.
    Fire works went off tonight and that saw her leaping onto Geoff’s lap. She’s very sweet, very naughty and needs that brown eyes to keep her out of the pound!
    Hope your trip goes well and that you and the family have a Merry Christmas and a wonderful New year xx Rowena

  6. Sue Vincent

    They do…and boh a prone to getting into trouble, by the looks of it. I was surprised by the raisin toxicity.
    Some dogs are fine with raisins (and grapes). For other dogs, even a few can be fatal, leading to kidney failure. They don’t know why or what the toxin is, but it is a worrying one not to know of. Mushrooms, onions, garlic, chives… there is a long list we don’t really hear about.

  7. merrildsmith

    Oh dear! I hope she didn’t get sick from eating the cake.
    (My daughter’s dog once ate a bunch of fudge–fortunately not chocolate, which can be very dangerous, but still lots of dog “mess” to clean up!)
    I can’t think of any specific Christmas disasters, but several times when pets–dogs and cats–got into food. 🙂

  8. Rowena Post author

    I don’t think Lady was sick after eating the Christmas cake but someone did mention the possibility that eating raisins could send her into renal failure which turns out to be true. So, looks like we’re blessed that she seems to be okay.
    xx Rowena

  9. Rowena Post author

    I was packing up the cake the night before dropping all the Christmas food off at my parents’ and didn’t want to forget it and was absent minded. We live and learn if we’re lucky!
    xx Rowena

  10. Rowena Post author

    Yes, I was surprised I didn’t know about it and it’s a timely thing to become aware of at this time of year. Don’t feed Christmas cake to your dogs.
    Merry Christmas to you and Nick, Sue and a wonderful New Year!
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

