Happy New Year – Sydney

We would like to wish you and yours a Happy, Healthy and Wonder-Filled New Year.

kids-nye

The kids watching the fireworks on TV. 

We had an action-filled NYE at home watching the fireworks on TV and playing psychiatrist to Lady who was a quivering mess AFTER the fireworks had ended.

dsc_5559

Geoff comforting Lady.  Taken without flash. Didn’t want to freak her out any further!

Every year, the movie: Can’t Stop The Music plays after midnight and after watching it last year, I was back again tonight and I’m listening to YMCA.  That song  followed me through so many life changes. I remember dancing to YMCA at school and uni formals, numerous parties. After having kids, Geoff and I danced with the kids  to YMCA at the daycare family discos.  Now, here I am listening to YMCA  on NYE at home whole playing psychiatrist to a stressed out dog. The fire works terrify her and she trembles, dribbles and totally freaks out and that’s when she’s on our laps.   So, tonight I was doing the YMCA in my writing chair. No complaints though just great memories. That said, my 20 year old self is sneering at my current self asking: “Have we met?”

I am still working on my New Year’s resolutions but I’ve at least practiced my violin two nights in a row so that’s a good start.

How have you spent NYE? I’d love to see your posts so please leave links in the comments.

xx Rowena

8 thoughts on “Happy New Year – Sydney

  1. utesmile

    Happy new year Rowena, we haven’t started yet , it is only afternoon here… so I am waiting for our fireworks to watch on TV too!

  2. Tails Around the Ranch

    HNY hasn’t started here just yet–10 more hours. Tonight will most like involve the same routine as always. I gave up partying ages ago. Hoping the cold weather will deter any neighorhood fireworks and we probably won’t hear any being shot over downtown. Don’t know if they will freak Elsa out, but keeping my fingers crossed. Cheers!

  3. Rowena Post author

    How did Elsa go? Lady’s NewYear’s resolution is to rid the world of fireworks and replace it with bacon. She has no plans to become a vegetarian. Ditto for Bilbo.
    xx Ro

  4. Rowena Post author

    It was fun posting my photo of the fireworks last night knowing we were among the first to celebrate. It’s times like Christmas & New Year that you become more aware of the time and seasonal differences around the world. Hope you have a wonderful New Year, Ute. xx Rowena

  5. Tails Around the Ranch

    She fared fairly well. Only a few fireworks were set off, mostly downtown and we’re 3 miles away but I suspect because it was chilly and the house buttoned up tight, not nearly an issue like they will be on the 4th of July when it’s hot. Just to be on the safe side though, I gave her an extra dose of CBD oil which definitely calms anxious dogs. I think we dodged a bullet at least for now 🙂

  6. Rowena Post author

    Good to hear Madam coped well.
    I took the dogs for their first beach walk today. They loved it running along, Lady’s ears flying up and down in the wind. Bilbo’s manners need a bit of refinement as he chases other dogs’ balls. This isn’t much a problem normally as we know the other dogwalkers but I suspect these people were from Sydney and not used to sharing. All the dogs join in usually in hte mornings and you could say it’s a dog’s breakfast.
    Take care!
    xx Ro

Leave a Reply

