Daunted By the Year Ahead?

How do you feel about starting another year? Have you made numerous New Year’s resolutions or goals, even writing them up in a spreadsheet with KPIs, deadlines and possibly even a star chart? Or, has the start of another year washed right over the top of you barely leaving a ripple in its wake?

sydney-habour-bridge

Fireworks Sydney Harbour NYE 2016

Well, I was still struggling to get my head around the last year when the fireworks started booming off the Sydney Harbour Bridge. It was all happening. Indeed, 2017 was already here.

What the? Couldn’t I somehow press rewind, repeat and start the new year all over again when I’m ready? What about this new-fangled feature I have on the TV called catch up? Would that do the trick? As my daughter just reminded me, if I press the paw button on the remote, will I suddenly catch up on last year like magic? If only…!!

I guess that leaves time right where it is. Grr!

The terrible thing about starting another year is that our “exhausted post-Christmas end of year crashed out on the couch self” is suddenly confronted by our ideal, perfect self. The one who is going to exercise like an Olympian, diet like Jenny Craig, run on time like a clock and write more books than Enid Blyton. That’s while being the loving, attentive spouse/partner and even parent. Some how, we’re juggling like a clown and not dropping any of our balls at all.

This is what happens on the 1st January and it’s no wonder I’m feeling depressed, overwhelmed, inadequate and looking for someone else to drive the bus. I’ll disappear and hide in my hammock for the rest of the year, giving what you could describe as a totally underwhelming performance.

Okay! Okay! I’ll get out of my chair and get moving.

dsc_5565

One mixed up fridge door.

One look at the cluttered paperwork stuck on the fridge door gave me somewhere to begin.

Then, I thought I’d better clean the kitchen table first so I could sort out all the stuff on the fridge without it drowning in muck.

From there, I somehow ended up cleaning the inside of the fridge. It now looks like something out of a storage company catalogue with everything neatly stacked into boxes and tubs. Who owns this fridge? Has the fairy been? I must’ve woken up in someone else’s house.

DSC_5561.JPG

Eeyore Chilling Out in the Clean Fridge.

This reminds me of one good thing about ending one year and starting another. You can turf all last years notes and paraphernalia and create empty space. Indeed, if you’re lucky, you can now stretch out without causing an avalanche!

While I’m still formulating and getting my head around my goals for 2017, one word is entering my vocabulary….no! This is particularly pertinent to my daughter and all her activities. We can only do so much. That’s it. No more. There are limits. There are only 24 hours in a day and at least 8 are for sleeping. She can not live multiple lives at once. We have to make choices. Well, I’ll be making choices anyway. As I said, I’m learning how to say and apply the use of the word no, which will also apply to our son and the excessive use of electronics. No. Enough. Stop.

I can do this. Take a deep breath. Stretch into my full height and say no and mean it. Put my foot down and even push it through the floorboards, if that’s what it takes to be heard. That said, I sure hope it doesn’t come to that!

Meanwhile, I still have to muster up my inner strength. Lady, our recalcitrant Border Collie x Cavalier has been refusing to go out to bed at night. Last night, I ended up carrying her and trust me all that Christmas Cake she ate weighs a tonne. She’s going to find herself dealing with a sterner voice as well. I won’t be accepting “no” as an answer either.

Humph! Looks like these embryonic resolutions are starting out with training myself  and that’s a task I really don’t relish!

How are your New Year’s resolutions going so far? I’d love to hear from you!

Good luck!

xx Rowena

 

 

11 thoughts on “Daunted By the Year Ahead?

  1. Mabel Kwong

    Very nice to see you managed to clean out the fridge already. Eeyore certainly looks very much at home there, and I take that he doesn’t mind the cold 🙂

    I’m not one for making resolutions and after the challenging year that was last year, this year I don’t have expectations and will take things as they come. I am so sad that my holiday has come to an end and as much as I like my job it’s back to work tomorrow :/ Something about this break made me realise there is more to just sitting and working all day long, lol. I did mean to clean my room during the break but I was enjoying myself too much and it is now even messier. Hope you have a good trip to Tasmania soon 🙂

  2. annabellefranklinauthor

    ‘…depressed, inadequate, overwhelmed and looking for someone else to drive the bus…’ I know the feeling! I’m too exhausted by 2016 to even think about resolutions – I’ll be happy if I can write just one more book!

  3. Tails Around the Ranch

    We try the ‘eat that elephant one bite at a time’ strategy for goals so we don’t get overwhelmed (resolutions are too vague and at least for me, don’t generally realize themselves until I make them formal goals with concrete plans). That has really helped me. Sure there are days when I feel inadequate or worse, incompetent, but when I remind myself of that little simple piece of advice, things get put into proper perspective and (surprisingly) I manage to accomplish the things I seek. Remember, Rome wasn’t built in a day! 😉 Good luck in 2017.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks so much, Monika. I am starting to feel better. I have worked the dogs. Played my violin. Cleaned the fridge.
    What really concerns me about this year is that my daughter is sitting for the selective schools test in March to get into a selective high school. This requires tutoring. Doing homework and consistency, which aside from my husband, is completely absent from our household. That is, except for me and my writing and photography but I think they fall more into the category of obsession.
    One trick I was given was to organize your day around meal times and that generally works well for me.
    I am also focusing on getting to bed at 11.00 and waking up earlier. The holidays have done nasty things and I’m going to bed around 1 am. Need to get back on track.
    I don’t know if you remember a Little Golden Book called “Tootle the Train”? Tootle loves going off the tracks and romping through the meadows chasing butterflies. That is so me but I’m putting in tracks. Lists are going up on the fridge. Ordnung is coming!
    xx Ro

  5. New Journey

    After reading your post I am sooo happy to have already raised my kids….I was exhausted just reading your post….LOL your a wonderful mum, and it always seems to fall into place and you have 2 wonderful, smart kids….and a great husband…..you had 2017 in the bag before it ever got here girlfriend……I cleaned out my fridge thanks to you….looks like a brand new one…LOL Happy New Year…..love the fire work picture of the bridge….beautiful….xxxkat

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thanks so much, Kat. Cleaned out the oven now which was a three day job thanks to procrastination. Have probably broken it now.
    The Sydney fireworks are sensational every year. I took that photo from the TV. I cheated. xx Ro

  7. Rowena Post author

    Annabelle, I found much inspiration reading these quotes from some of the bright lights who passed away last year: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2016/12/31/goodbye-2016-the-words-they-left-behind/
    Thought you might appreciate them.
    I have perked up a bit but we’re about to head off on a three week trip to Tasmania and I’m really looking forward to it. Then the new year really begins when the kids return to school and activities start up.
    Mum’s taxi has been enjoying a much deserved break!
    xx Rowena

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Mabel. Hope you’re adjusting to being back at work okay. My husband was like a very cranky bear after the first day, which was compounded by me finding a tick in my neck and trying to work out how to get it out. Went well in the end but too much drama. That was even before we rang my Mum and told her. Can’t wait for Tassie.
    xx Ro

  9. Mabel Kwong

    Good to hear you got the tick out. It sounded very unexpected and not pleasant at all. This first week back at work was a struggle, but I am so glad it’s the weekend and that it is very warm too 🙂

Leave a Reply

