When the Mask Cracks…Friday Fictioneers.

“My life is an empty chair,” Madeleine lamented into her glass of red wine.  “And I’m drowning in my own tears.  Drowning! Hello!  Can you hear me? Why can’t anyone hear me? I’m trapped so deeply inside myself, there’s no way out.”

Madeleine hurled the glass across the stage. Wine dripped down the wall like blood, cascading over broken splinters of glass.

The theatre erupted in applause… her finest performance.

“I should be happy. C’mon Madz.  Change gears. Think positive…I’m a happy little Vegemite as bright as bright can be…

Brakes screeched.

All she could see was that empty chair.

______________________________________________________________

This has been a contribution to the Friday Fictioneers. Friday fictioneers is a weekly challenge set by Rochelle Wisoff Fields to write a 100-word story in response to a photo prompt. You can find other stories here. PHOTO PROMPT © Ted Strutz

In case you’ve been wondering where I’ve been for the last month, we’ve spent three weeks travelling around Tasmania. We had such a fantastic time and the photographic opportunities were mind-blowing. I’m still trying to catch up on writing about the trip, but I’d love you to pop over and enjoy some vicarious travel.

xx Rowena

26 thoughts on “When the Mask Cracks…Friday Fictioneers.

  1. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Rochelle. I agree with you about performers. I was thinking a bit about Australian actor Heath Ledger a bit when I was writing this. He tragically died from what I believe was an accidental overdose of prescription drugs.
    Shalom,
    Rowena

  2. Iain Kelly

    Bravo! It’s interesting that a lot of actors best performances seem to stem from being trapped in their performance and when they are struggling with their own lives. A compelling take.

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much. I was thinking a bit of Australian actor, Heath Ledger as I wrote this even though it’s a woman in my story.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Van. The flash fiction really works well for me. I’ve been quite surprised by that too as I’m usually quite wordy. xx Rowena

  5. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much, Iain.
    I find it very easy to climb into another person’s skin but am now working to learn how to exit it more effectively. I recently took some dance lessons and that’s really helped. In contemporary dance, they use techniques of contract and release and I’m finding that’s helping me explore the dark side in my writing a lot easier.

  6. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share…12th February, 2017. | beyondtheflow

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much. I am quite a visual person and do a lot of photography. At the same time, this character really did come to life for me.

Leave a Reply

