Tasting Tasmania…Spreyton’s Cider.

If you are what you eat and drink, I must’ve become a Tasmanian by now what with getting stuck into all this cheese, chocolate and now cider…the Three C’s.

family-portrait-by-michelle

The family at Spreyton’s. Photo by Michelle.

Anyway, today I’d like you to join me for a tasting at Spreyton’s. This is going to be a little difficult because I can’t quite remember exactly what we sampled, especially after I tried the Hard Ginger Beer, which I immediately appropriated as “my drink”. This is a bit of a problem because it’s a long way back to Spreyton’s to top up my glass, although I did find a somewhat local stockist online tonight.

Unfortunately, asking me about wines or ciders is a bit futile. My wine palate has been destroyed by years of serious chocolate addiction and I find most wine too bitter and even though I’d trying to be all sophistocated and refined, it is very hard for me not to screw my face up sampling most wines and ciders. Geoff really liked the Perry Cider, which is made from a blend of Tasmanian pears with a touch of gala apples thrown in. Rather than try to describe it myself, I’ve pinched the description from their web site: “Bottle fermented and conditioned, our Perry is refreshingly crisp and dry with a light carbonation and fine bead. The hints of sweetness and subtle pear flavour make Perry a wonderful accompaniment to any meal. Enjoy clear or gently roll the bottle before opening for added yeast complexity, either way Perry is a wonderfully sophisticated Pear cider experience.”

Photos Above: Walking through Spreyton’s Apple Orchard. Tasmania used to be known as the Apple Isle, so apple cider is right at home in Tassie.

We bought some of the Perry Cider, Hard and Regular Ginger Beer and enjoyed it back at our friends’ place with some Ashgrove Lavender Cheese. They were perfect companions.

By the way, I happened to notice that the family who owns Spreyton’s Cider Company goes back five generations in Tasmania and I can’t help wondering if they’re related to Geoff. Geoff scoffs when he says that I think he’s related to everyone in Northern Tasmania. However, there’s more truth to that than he’d like to admit. Those pioneers had big families and Geoff’s ancestors on a couple of sides arrived in Tasmania around 1830, which has given them plenty of time to “spread their wings”!

xx Rowena

 

 

5 thoughts on “Tasting Tasmania…Spreyton’s Cider.

  1. Cheryl-Lynn

    The cider sounds great as well as ginger beer. Wine from Australia is quite popular here…less for me of late as I just discovered it now gives me migraines….aw, but beer does not as long as there is not food colouring in it. Lavender cheese…hmmm, interesting!

  2. Rowena Post author

    Is it the preservative in the white wine which causes you grief? I sometimes have trouble with that.
    Great to hear Australian wine is popular over there. We need to export something.
    The lavender cheese is fantastic along with the Wild Wasabi Cheese. The Wasabi is easy to buy locally and I’ve been adding it to our mashed potato, fried eggs and bacon. You could say I like the stuff!

  3. Cheryl-Lynn

    Yes, the sulfites but also tyramine which is in many fruits and even pickles, processed meats and cheese. I’ve been off work for who due to migraines and ”tis time it could be a combination of things including my osteoarthritis in my neck. The weather as well…with five days of snow, the humidity is high. Usually after three days I’m okay.

  4. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share 19th February, 2017. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

