broken-face-liz-young

The Motivational Speaker…Friday Fictioneers.

Amanda started typing…

“You can wrap your children up in bubble wrap. Do your utmost to keep them safe. Give them the best opportunities. Yet, that doesn’t help when your child’s greatest enemy is themselves.”

Amanda deleted that last line and returned to the drawing board.

No! THAT girl wasn’t her daughter but a thief…an alien intruder.

Is this what they meant by “mental illness”?

But, if it wasn’t her, why wasn’t it gone? And whatever happened to victory?

Amanda slammed her laptop shut.

How could she give anyone else the answers, when she only had questions?


This has been another contribution for Friday Fictioneers. This week’s photo prompt was provided by © Liz Young

This is a serious subject brought on by this week’s photo prompt. Most of us know and love people affect by the black dog or whatever you care to call it and know the difficulties and near despair trying to be there and keep loving no matter what. My heart goes out to you. Let’s hope love will ultimately triumph.

After reading a few of the comments, I was reminded of a humble Sydney man who has prevented many suicides at a notorious Sydney suicide spot, The Gap. He lived across the road and simply approached people and invited them over for a cup of tea. Here’s his story: The Angel of The Gap

Good to finish this very hard-hitting story off with a bit of hope and empowerment. We can make a difference!

xx Rowena

24 thoughts on “The Motivational Speaker…Friday Fictioneers.

  1. Rowena Post author

    I know what you mean. My family history research has yielded some “interesting” results. I think people need a genetic test or questionnaire on the first date. That way, you can hopefully prevent a double dose of the same thing.

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Dale. This scene reminded me of the teenage years, which can be fraught in so many ways. My son turns 13 in a few weeks and the mood swings can be intense. Fortunately, he doesn’t drink, smoke or take drugs. He does get into the electronics though, which can become a drug too.

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Fatima. I’m not sure if anyone truly has the answers on such difficult subjects but there are some rare people who can reach people when they’re at the end of the road and they’re not always the trained professionals either. You might enjoy reading this story about a man who preventing many suicides at the Gap in Sydney http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/death-of-the-angel-of-the-gap-the-man-who-saved-the-suicidal-from-themselves-20120514-1ymle.html
    xx Rowena

  4. Rowena Post author

    It’s definitely time to be prepared. I tend to feel I’m better equiped for the teenage years than the terrible twos but I could be kidding myself.

  5. wmqcolby

    A very good story and thought-provoking. Rochelle and I both agree that, in life situations, there’s no magic bullet. But, maybe the advice might work for some people, too.
    Fantastic take on the prompt.

  6. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    I took this as a mother struggling with her child’s mental illness. I could feel her angst.

  7. Rowena Post author

    Yes, that’s pretty much how I intended it.
    I do angst well but the photo prompt also called for it. My grandmother used to recommend I did flower arranging and I have seen her point about needing to focus on something positive, instead of the negative. These days I try to keep a balance.

  8. Rowena Post author

    Mine wondered off on his bike during a lull in a pretty scary thunder storm this afternoon and got caught in the second phase. I was driving down our street and said to my daughter: “who’s that idiot riding a bike in the storm?” Yes, it was him. What the????!!! I’ll add that to my collection of grey hairs!

  9. Lynn Love

    I’ll never forget seeing a programme on TV about a chap who was so depressed he was about to throw himself from a bridge. A stranger came over and talked to him, talked him out of doing it. But then the stranger vanished. Years later, someone reunited them. It was the most touching thing, seeing how grateful that man was for the strnager’s intervention, how much better his life is now and how glad he is he survived that desperate day.
    Depression is a terrible, terrible underrated condition.
    Fantastic writing Rowena

  10. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much, Lynn. I’ve read about that situation on the bridge but I never knew they met up again later. So, thanks for letting me know.
    I have wanted to be a motivational speaker for a long time and to write a realistic motivational book but got a bit stumped by life’s ups and downs and not quite being able to clear the deck for any length of time. At the same time, I do feel there’s a very strong story in the wrestling match, which would probably mean more to more people. I need to sit down and get writing on that.
    Hope you have a great weekend!
    xx Rowena

  11. rochellewisoff

    Dear Rowena,

    I’ve been that mother. Without going into great detail, I will tell you that I had to make some very tough decisions when my son was 17 and dealing with major depression with suicidal ideation. It was a hard time but in retrospect I did the right things. He’s alive and in his early 40’s today. No regrets. I said all that to say, good story. As you can see, it struck a nerve.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

