For the love of GOLD

Thought you might enjoy reading this fascinating story of Irish gold and of course the little green men with the red beards xx Rowena

aliisaacstoryteller

When I first visited the National Museum of Archaeology in Dublin, I was stunned by the sheer amount, and quality, of ancient gold artifacts on display… there is a whole floor  of the stuff.

My youngest son, who was about 8 years old at the time, scrounged my phone and busied himself taking photos of it all… he couldn’t believe what he was seeing, either!

Now put Ireland and gold together in the same sentence, and most people immediately think of pots of gold at the end of a rainbow guarded by a little red-bearded man dressed in green. *shudders* Ugh! How I loathe that little creature.

But here you go. The word ‘leprechaun’ is derived from the Old Irish luchorpán. The leprechaun first makes its apearance in an ancient medieval tale known as the Echtra Fergus mac Léti (Adventure of Fergus son of Léti). Fergus, King of Ulster…

View original post 881 more words

6 thoughts on “For the love of GOLD

  1. New Journey

    Haven’t forgotten you sister….my sister has been here for 3 weeks…she is leaving in the morning from Phoenix and we are heading to the red rocks of Sedona..I will catch up when I get back…xxxxxxxxxkat

  2. Rowena Post author

    I know what you mean…or being a passenger. We did a lot of driving on that trip to Tassie.
    My son ended up getting a huge fever yesterday, which freaked me out for an hour or so but the Panadol worked and he seems better tonight. Was concerned he had meningicoccal disease. Phew!
    xx Ro

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Kat. Hard to rest much at the moment. Kids birthdays and my daughter has the selective schools test on 9th March. Yesterday, they had a 4 hour run through of the test at tutoring and I did the op shop and parked myself at a cafe with my notepad and read the paper. After that, it was off to the psychologist for a pre-test appointment. Then off to dinner with my folks. Huge day and have done very little today. Crashed out. Splat!
    Hope you’ve had a great weekend.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

