Weekend Coffee Share: 9th April, 2017.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee  Share!

Our TV was disconnected this week so No. 1 son could get his assignments finished. While I could’ve questioned why the rest of us had to miss out on his account, you won’t find any complaints here. Indeed, I felt liberated and was delighted to see him reading his book and we got back to having dinner at the kitchen table. That had lapsed over the hot Summer when we escaped into the air-conditioned lounge room. It’s now time to move back. After only one family dinner around the table, I could see the difference as we discussed so much and started to moved closer to the same page. With so many comings and goings and these only intensifying as the kids get older, the family dinner as corny as it sounds, is worth fighting for.

The other thing about turning the TV back on, is hearing the news.

Our condolences to the people of Sweden.

This past week, was the last week of term one for the kids. This saw our son frantically needing to finish off some assignments, which had lagged after he’d  been sick for about a month. We also had open week at the dance studio. I felt so privileged to be able to watch my daughter’s classes and  also see her teachers’ dance. I have become intrigued at how it could well be the seemingly little things which differentiate a good and great dancer. That how you point your foot or hold your hands, and smile while dancing, make an enormous difference. I could well be a case of “take care of the pennies and the pounds will take care of themselves.”

I spent the day at the studio yesterday. My daughter is now in Dance Team and they put on more of a performance and the students taking privates, performed their solos. Naturally, performing in the studio, is a great stepping stone, easing them into public performances. Contrary to the stereotype of very extroverted performers dominating the creative arts, I find so many creatives are actually exceptionally sensitive, intuitive and can find performing excruciatingly difficult. From what I’ve seen the likes of Sia, who doesn’t want to show her face in public, aren’t the exception. So, well done to all the students who got out there and performed their magic. I loved each and every performance.

Anyway, after a very stressful week and feeling so relaxed watching the dancing on Friday night, I decided to do my taxi runs and dinner and head back. My daughter decided not to join me as she needed to unwind. Said she’d be trying to work out the steps in her head and being a serious observer. I told her that I would be doing the same thing. That said, my expectations of being able to are set at a realistic zero, where she has aspirations. Huge aspirations which seem to be getting bigger and bigger by the day and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for “mortal mum” to keep up. I’m still trying to get one foot in front of the other and am thankful I have a place for my car keys.

Last week, my Alphabetical Tour Around Tasmania for the Blogging A-Z April Challenge continued. So Far, we’ve been to:

map_of_tasmania

Theme Reveal

A- Ashgrove Farm (Here’s the cheese!)

B-Bridport.

C- Convict Brick Trail, Campbell Town.

D- Doo Town, Eaglehawk Neck.

E- Eaglehawk Neck.

F- Ferndene, Penguin.

G- Gordon River Cruises

It’s been fantastic to revisit our holiday and a timely reminder to keep putting the photos away, reprint some more and write up some kind of family journal. After all, this was no ordinary holiday. My husband is Tasmanian and his roots go back as early as the 1830s. So, we had a lot to catch up on as well as checking out the usual tourist spot and nature escapes.

I’d love you to join us on this epic journey.

Well, I hope you’ve had a great week and I look forward to catching up!

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  If you haven’t heard, the Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before….Trent put this too well to come up with something better myself!

Love & Best wishes,

Rowena

13 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: 9th April, 2017.

  1. Pamela Morse

    It is so admirable for you to encourage your daughter’s dance career. It takes fortitude to carry of all the support she will need, but what a fun experience for her. Good luck, and thank you for the coffee.

  2. Tara

    I love dance. I love that your daughter is so into it and that you are, too. Your trip sounds amazing. Thanks for taking me along! 🙂

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Tara. This whole thing with the dance has taken me quite by surprise given my disability and health issues and last year, I had trouble getting her to go to dance and I only persevered because I sensed “something”. She actually does look like a dancer but that wasn’t my reasoning. Anyway, I’m thrilled and I’m really hoping the dancing will extend my writing.xx Rowena

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Pamela. When you take their child off for those first dance classes when they’re 4 or 5, you have no idea what to expect and as for dancing myself, I would’ve choked. I am always so intrigued by the twists and turns in people’s lives and how they reached their “calling” xx Rowena

  5. trentpmcd

    If I didn’t have a TV in the house I doubt if I would notice. I don’t remember the last time i turned it on. And family dinners are super important. I hope you have a great week!

  6. amiewrites74

    The family dinner is definitely something to fight for. I think many of us could benefit from shutting off the tv. I’m considering device free times in my house. I love that you and your daughter get so much enjoyment from dance. The Tasmania trip sounds amazing!

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Amie. It’s important to seize hold of our blessings and use them as something of a vaulting pole to launch us over our setbacks. Last week, I clipped a truck while I was trying to park my car. I’d had an incredibly stressful day and I couldn’t find a park anywhere. I live in a town and finding a spot isn’t usually such a hassle. Anyway, I stopped thinking clearly and scraped the truck and my car. Financially, we won’t be out of pocket but it really rattled me. Friday night, after finding the dancing so relaxing, I decided to go back down there to chill out. The dancing was fantastic and so moving and the music was calming me down. It was just what I needed.
    Hope you have a great week. We have school holidays here and I’m actually trying to have a quiet couple of days for us all to recharge.
    xx Rowena

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Trent. It’s been interesting to see how many people have stressed the importance of family dinners. It’s been very telling.
    Hope you have a great week too.
    xx Ro

  9. New Journey

    I remember the time I didn’t have a tv by choice….sure got a lot done…LOL When I was young and lived in the National Park service the only tele we got was Canadian hockey…so we did watch a lot of hockey….now we only have an antenna by choice..free tv…we use our lap tops for anything else….I refuse to pay the high price of cable or satellite TV…..hope your week has started off well…xxxxkat

  10. Rowena Post author

    We don’t have pay TV either. I refuse to pay for rubbish. Well, it’s not all rubbish.
    I don’t know if I’ve mentioned to you that my physio’s had me going on 20 mins daily walks. I’m onboard and I am trying but hard when you don’t always feel like it. Am trying to get some triggers and doing things like walking to the shops instead of driving. I am improving. Am getting there. You’ve been so good with this. Thanks for flying the flag and encouraging me! xx Ro

  11. New Journey

    good for you…I should get back at parking at the opposite end of the parking lot for the stores when I go..its a few extra steps and it helps…..I know the feeling of not wanting to do it….my inner rebel is such a whiner….LOL then I remind myself if a few extra steps will help, and will help me be healthier longer, well then why not….and I haven’t been so good lately….back up in my weight….its like drop 10 gain 15….aghhhh I am such a dope sometimes……keep walking!!!

Leave a Reply

