Weekend Coffee Share- Happy Easter Edition.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

Before I even offer you a cup of tea or coffee, let me wish you and yours a Happy and Blessed Easter. In so doing, I’d like to offer you more than Easter eggs, Hot Cross Buns and give you something meaningful instead, which would be so much more appropriate. So, I’ll offer you a hug and a smile and I just remembered that if you’ve just walked through our front door our Border Collie, Bilbo, and Border x Cavalier, Lady will be there. Bilbo might bark and he takes awhile to warm up to people, even people he knows, unless it’s my Mum who he seems to know is Grandma. Besides, just like Grandparents bring treats for the kids, she bring ham scraps for the dogs. Their love is easily bought.

bilbo & Lady friends

I know you think the dog protests too much. Somehow, friendship seems to grow on you when you’ve been thrown in the same backyard. You can somehow get used to having another dog around. Indeed, after all this time, I might even like the Lady.

We’ve decided to stay home and spend Easter Sunday with just the four of us. Well, that is after we’ve been to Church and Geoff and the kids will be going to hear Martin Smith from Delirious at Church tomorrow night. I don’t think I’ll be going as my lungs are quite sensitive and reacting to the slightest irritation at the moment. I’m slugging ventolin, preventer and phenergan and still coughing. Off for a lung scan, but I don’t think my lungs are any worse.

Anyway, as many of you will know, I’ve been embroiled in the Blogging A-Z April Challenge. My theme this year has been Traveling Alphabetically Around Tasmania. Considering my theme last year was “Writing Letters to Dead Poets”, I’d thought this year’s theme was going to be relatively easy. However, I didn’t just want to produce some kind of bullet point, shopping list tour of the place. I wanted something personal, intimate and providing an inside-out view of the place mixing in a bit of history in with our recent trip to Tasmania and our photos.

Perhaps, I am the problem and it was inevitable my A-Z would get out of control again and break out of its box. I do have a tendency to bite off way more than I can chew. This week trouble hit when I started writing about the Irish Nationalists who were exiled to Tasmania. One of these, John Mitchel, wrote Jail Journal which covered the time from his sentencing, escape and arrival in New York. As it turned out, Geoff’s Great Great Grandfather, Daniel Burke and his brother, helped John Mitchel escape. So, there was quite a personal aspect to the story and it took quite a bit of research to get the family facts straight. By this point, I started wondering whether to continue with the A to Z and had a few days off. I don’t know what it was. However, I felt much better this morning and caught up.

The kids are currently on school holidays for 2.5 weeks and have had a few days away with my parents to give us a break. We certainly needed it and am so thankful. I feel like I’m always heading in so many different directions and yesterday I decided to go nowhere. I slept in until the afternoon and parked in my writing chair researching and didn’t budge. Indeed, my phone didn’t even record one step for yesterday. There was no data available.

It’s okay to have a PJ day no and then when it’s perfectly acceptable to wrap yourself up in your quilt and retreat. Stop fighting whatever it is you’re fighting for one day. Unless you’re really unlucky, it won’t be the end of your world. Indeed, I had a lot more energy to get on with things today.

We’ve decided to defer Easter lunch with my parents and brother until Monday, which is my brother’s birthday.

I’m also trying to work out how we’re going to get to the Easter Show this year. We’ve been given free tickets, but there’s only a few days left and things on. Hoping to get there on Tuesday.

Anyway, that’s enough about me. What about you? Do you celebrate Easter? Or, you have different traditions and beliefs?

Well, I hope you’re going well and I look forward to catching up.

Best wishes,

Rowena

 

15 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share- Happy Easter Edition.

  1. Colline

    Sometimes we need to sit, do nothing, and rest. Sounds like it did you a lot of good.
    Enjoy the rest of your Easter weekend.

  2. bettylouise31

    Enjoyed your pictures and story about the Irish convicts. Thanks for the Easter greetings. Here in the states it is not a holiday. I note many of the posts don’t mention Easter. What I remember is the six dozen eggs that we colored, and hiding them for my 5 siblings. Mother worked at nights and as the oldest at home. I did all the actions a parent would do.

  3. Pamela Morse

    I love the connection with the jail break. ..amazing family history. History makes for some excellent subject matter. I hope your breathing will improve soon. Thanks for the tea.

  4. New Journey

    How delightful to stay in bed till you want to get up and then do nothing but enjoy the day in a chair wrapped in a quilt…..do it more often my friend…you deserve it…..and there is absolutely nothing wrong with doing just that….hope your cough is better….Happy Easter to you….xxkat

  5. Maggie C

    I’m taking a rest day today, too. But the looks I keep getting from my dog make me feel too guilty to enjoy the day. Maybe I’ll send him to doggy daycare one day this week so he can play with a bunch of buddies. That usually makes him happy and wears him out. Your dogs are beautiful!.

  6. Rowena Post author

    Doggy daycare sounds like a great idea when you need a rest…a bit like sending the kids to visit the grandparents for you can have a bit of peace. We’re on school holidays here and my kids are travelling back and forth to my parents’ place at the moment and Mum said there are grandparents out everywhere doing their thing.
    The dogs thank you for the praise. Lady is very friends and is wagging her entire being and thrilled to meet you. Bilbo is more reserved and takes awhile to warm up. Take care xx Rowena

  7. Maggie C

    My Chules never met a dog he didn’t like, except maybe the two beagles that come barking and lunging at their fence whenever we walk by. Then he pins his ears back and quickens the pace to get away from them. Sounds like your kids are having a great holiday.

  8. Dale

    Your pictures are so lovely! Grandparents are great for parents needing a break from their own kids! My mother never said no, and for that I’m grateful!
    Pyjama days should be a monthly requirement. Just sayin’…

  9. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much, Dale. I agree with you about the pyjama days. We might have to introduce them to the Weekend Coffee Share. Hope you have a great week. I’m off to the Easter Show in Sydney tomorrow but I’m looking forward to tomorrow night’s prompt.
    xx Rowena

  10. Rowena Post author

    You’ve managed to taste them. That’s awesome! We had quite a hoppy easter here. Although Lady’s hopes of catching the Easter bunny were dashed.

  11. Rowena Post author

    Pleased you enjoyed it, Taylor. I usually try to have a bit of an Australian theme to things. Share this beautiful country with the many people who’ll never get here.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

