Weekend Coffee Share – 30th April, 2017.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

To be quite honest with you, I don;t quite know where I am this weekend. For the last month, I’ve been Travelling Alphabetically Around Tasmania for the Blogging A-Z April Challenge. Yet, last week, I was back and forth to the lower Blue Mountains West of Sydney and exploring historic Richmond and Windsor both through the lens and through my heart.

DSC_4873

 

Just to add to my geographical confusion, the weather’s been all over the shop. Being cooler up in the mountains, the leaves are changing and there’s Autumn colour. I even spotted an open fire. That spells Winter to me. There’s also been a few nights this week when I’ve added extra blankets and the electric blanket has moved up to medium. I shouldn’t be surprised as it’s almost May. However, when I left home in jacket today, it was put straight onto the back seat and I’m back to short sleeves.

DSC_4973

Toasty warm at Lochiel House, Kurrajong Heights.

What is the weather doing in your neck of the woods? No doubt, most of you are enjoying Spring after snowy Winter’s. We don’t have such marked seasons here, but I appreciate your excitement through our coffee shares.

By the way, would you like tea, coffee or something else? I’m rather brain dead tonight.

DSC_4622

The last week, has been quite challenging for me. Our daughter went away on a three day dance camp at Kurrajong in the Blue Mountains and it was my job to drive her there. It was about a 2.5 hour drive out there and I stayed overnight to get her there for the 8.00 AM registration. We aught up with an old school friend of mind and her family for dinner nearby the night before and the whole thing felt like a big adventure.

Driving back, I decided to visit historic Richmond and had lunch in Windsor and went on extensive walk around town checking out the old buildings.

Windsor is the third-oldest place of British settlement on the Australian continent. Settlement at the location was first established about 1791, near the head of navigation on the Hawkesbury River (known as Deerubbin in Dharuk) and taking advantage of the fertile river flats for agriculture. The area was originally called Green Hills, but renamed Windsor (after Windsor in England). The town was officially proclaimed in a Government and General Order issued from Government House, Sydney, dated 15 December 1810, Governor Lachlan Macquarie having “marked out the district of Green Hills”, which he “… called Windsor”, after Windsor-on-the-Thames.

Of course, given my serendipitous, unplanned approach to travel, I hadn’t done any preparation. In actual fact, that worked well for me this time because my meanderings gained a sense of spontaneous discovery and I really don’t like taking a shopping list approach to travel. I like to sens, feel, explore and not fly through a place so I can tick it off my list. Done Windsor!

So, I was quite thrilled when an innocuous road sign pointing to St Mathews Historic Church led me to the oldest Church in Australia by foundation stone. Not only was it historic, but it was incredibly photogenic from so many perspectives, including the clock, the Church itself and the old cemetery. The Church was design by famous convict architect, Francis Greenway. and you can read more about the history of the Church Here.

From there, I checked out the rectory nearby and then drove into town for lunch. It’s always a bit of an educated guess when it comes to choosing somewhere to eat when you’re travelling. I usually go on the cakes, which are usually on display and give some indication. I chose well and one of the other customers put me onto a spectacular building with a woman standing on the roof. So, this was my next adventure which took me past another old cemetery, which was located next door. I am still trying to work out what the building was built for, but it was possibly the mortuary or a hospital.

At this point, I first noticed the huge, towering white cumulus clouds, which were hovering very close to the ground. I made a mental note, that they could be trouble but they weren’t that menacing shade of angry purple, which has gotten me into trouble before. You see, I am quite a cloud chaser and my beloved camera has gotten me into serious trouble in the past.

Still, I walked.

That was until the wind picked up and Autumn leaves were twirling in the wind and the sky was purple and not longer threatening to rain. The raindrop were falling thick and fast and I was moving to the car fast.

DSC_4866

Once again, I’d left my run too late and as I driving down Windsor Road, 2.5 hours from home, the road became treacherous. Pelting rain, strong winds and lightening and the road was starting to get submerged. I aquaplaned a little and slowed down, even though I wanted to escape the storm like a bat out of hell.

While Billy Connolly might’ve called the storm an “act of God”, I must say that getting out of there without incident was more of an act of God. I was spared!

After all that drama, I had to drive back out there to pick her up on Friday and was much more cautious this time because I also had to drive straight home with very little chance of avoiding the Friday arvo peak hour.

Yet, I had an hour in between getting up there and the dance concert and I explored Kurrajong and was put onto a stunning restaurant called Lochiel House at Kurrajong Heights. I can’t believe that I had about 20 minutes to drink my tea and enjoy their beautiful lemon and pistachio cake, which came with a side serve of scrummy cream and obviously home made jam. As you can see from the photos, Lochiel House was very pretty and as much I love its historical elements, I equally appreciated the little floral arrangements carefully positioned throughout, creating an eye-catching vista. There was undoubtedly a lot of care and attention to detail throughout. Very impressed.

It was lovely to see my daughter dance and simply to see her again. Really missed her.

DSC_5444

Our Sailor.

 

However, life isn’t just about dance and today we were off to the local sailing club for the junior presentations. I feel we’re on the brink of a huge precipice of commitment there. Like dancing, what starts out as a few lessons, either progress into a monstrous commitment or it dies out. It looks like father and son will be driving around the countryside racing later in the year. I think this is where we’re thankful for the off season, even though I’m hoping they get out in our laser. There are no icebergs around here during Winter.

Tomorrow, is the start of another week and my daughter has three auditions for the performing arts selective classes at our local high school. Audition hell…and that’s just from my perspective.

I don’t even know what I’m doing.

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed our coffee share. It’s getting very late here so I’m going to speed off.

Best wishes,

Rowena

 

 

10 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share – 30th April, 2017.

  1. merrildsmith

    Hi Rowena–I haven’t checked in on you in a while. Sorry about that! I’ve been so busy, and also doing the April poetry month. Your weekend sounds exhausting, but the sights are beautiful, and the food sounded lovely. 🙂 We had summer -like weather yesterday, warm and humid, and we finally turned on the a/c. It’s cooler today. Enjoy the rest of your week!

  2. Rowena Post author

    Hi Merril,
    I feel very remiss in not keeping in touch with you as well. The trip to Tasmania was intense in itself with very limited and extremely slow wifi and then there’s been the April challenge since coming back. I feel like I’m rising to the surface again today in a kind of haze…huh???
    My daughter’s dancing has really taken off this year, both in terms of time and improvement. She got into the Dance Team at the studio, which means she’s there for about 6 hours on Saturdays but she’s mixing with the teens and gaining so much through their experience. It’s such a fantastic breeding ground. Last week, she went away to a three day dance camp and they had some choreographers there from the Sydney Dance Company and she said that’s brought her dancing forward too. I feel like I’m about to get run over by an express train but it’s all good. BTW, my friend’s 16 year old son dances there and he is magical. He has such a strong masculinity and his eyes and filled with depth and emotion which takes your breath away. I feel so lucky to be alone to see him dance up close in the studio instead of from the back of the C grade seats at somewhere like Sydney Opera House.
    Knowing about your girls and the theatre and how much you love going to performances, I thought you’d appreciate that.

  3. merrildsmith

    Congratulation for your daughter’s dancing achievements, and best wishes for her continued success (if that’s what she wants). I do miss seeing my girls perform, and hearing my younger daughter sing, but they are both happy in their lives, and that is more important.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Merril. I am yet to get anywhere close to seeing my kids leave the nest. However, I’ve experienced that to some extent, no longer hearing my mother playing the piano. She’s always made playing appear so effortless and can pick up almost any piece of music and play it. It’s only been over the last few years that I realized how many years of practice, dedication and natural talent went into that.
    My daughter toold me that she finds dancing relaxing and I think it takes away some of the intensity she feels. Particularly when I was doing the adult ballet classes, I felt exuberant the next morning. I couldn’t believe what a difference it made.
    I am quite torn about careers in the creative arts. I’m not an accountant myself but I was corporate for awhile but then had the kids and haven’t got back into it. Much more interested in people these days..and my writing and research.

  5. merrildsmith

    It is very difficult to make a living in the arts, which is one reason why both daughters and son-in-law have opted to go in other directions. However, my older daughter is also an artist, and she is actually earning money and acclaim for her art, so that may be a full-time career someday. (She’s a social worker.) My younger daughter, who is a teacher, told me she hopes to do some writing during her summer break. I think a creative outlet is important. 🙂

  6. New Journey

    Hello….I am tired just from reading about your dashing here and there, dancing and sailing, exciting visitors coming around…..hope you have a wonderful week and remember to breath….xxkat

  7. Rowena Post author

    I caught up on my breath this morning. Yesterday, blew me away. I’ve stuck up a post from Bilbo’s perspective and am still working on my version. I know that sounds a bit weird having a sp-lit personality with my dog, but neither of us has ever professed to be “normal”. xx Ro

Leave a Reply

