In the City of Love…Friday Fictioneers.

Kate was tumbleweeding at the Shakespeare Bookshop in Paris. Yet, while she craved the smell of old books and inhaling the very air Hemingway breathed, she had to make love in Paris.

Or, at least be wined and dined by a real Frenchman.

The trouble was that it was July and all the Parisians had fled.

All except Anton, the IT Network Manager, at the Louvre.

“Worst blind date EVER. So, much for Mona Lisa watching! All his showed me was a bunch of cables. Bet he makes love to his laptop.”

That night, Anton added Kate to his database.

….

Back in 1992 as a 22 year old backpacker, I spent 6 weeks in Paris, which included doing a reading at the Shakespeare & Company Bookshop. I recently found out that travellers can sleep on the floors of the bookshop in exchange for working in the shop for an hour a day and on the proviso that they read a book a day. These people were called tumbleweeds. You can read more about Shakespeare & Company Here.

This weeks featured image is © Sandra Crook.

xx Rowena

38 thoughts on “In the City of Love…Friday Fictioneers.

  1. merrildsmith

    I love “tumbleweeding.” It made me think of all sorts of things, but I appreciate the explanation.
    Anton is certainly a creeper. Poor Kate.

  2. Rowena Post author

    Creepy sums it up very well. I used to know a computer geek who kept details of girls he met etc on his computer. This was really the bloke equivalent to a girl writing a journal but this was around 1984 and pcs werent common. I only found out a few years later and it has always made me wonder a little.

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Sascha. I used to work in database marketing for many years. It seemed so clinical, technical. I think he’s a bit of a Sheldon type character.

  4. Rowena Post author

    lDefinitely, Michael and i need to go back. If you put Paris into my search I think ive written more about it and included photos.

  5. New Journey

    My daughter and I spent an afternoon at the very same book shop..I don’t think it has changed in years….and so easy to loose hours once you walk through the doors….xxkat

  6. Rowena Post author

    That’s so cool you were there. When did you go? I was there in July 1992. It was so hot. George Whitman was still alive then and I still remember him. Quite a gruff character but he gave me a solo reading so I couldn’t ask for anymore. xx Ro

  7. Rowena Post author

    Yes, not quite sure which way this plot could twist and turn and suspect that its also best left unresolved…a mystery.

  8. Rowena Post author

    Anton wasn’t real, more of a composite. I’m sorry it’s taken so long to reply. My computer and laptop both died and my husband who works in It, has been too busy at work to fix them yet. However, he did dig up my old laptop a bit like pulling a rabbit out of a hat.

  9. Rowena Post author

    Iain, I highly recommend it. I’d love to go back, especially go back to 1992 again and see it and Paris as it was and revisit it in my old shoes.

  10. Rowena Post author

    It’s great, isn’t it Monika. Sorry for the delayed response. My computer died and my husband seemingly plucked my old laptop out of a hat and it’s working quite well. Better than my new one. That’s my husband for you.
    BTW Bilbo jumped on my blog yesterday. I think you’ll love it. xx Ro

  11. New Journey

    we went in 2009….spent 10 days in London and Paris….it was my first time to Europe….if I had gone in my younger years I would of never looked back….LOL

  12. Rowena Post author

    Paris is an amazing place. It has such beauty but there’s also a very strong undercurrent and travelling on a shoe string, I saw that.
    Ate quite a lot of baguettes in Paris as well.

  13. Rowena Post author

    Breakfast was included in our hotel…croissant and jam. We stayed at the Henri IV and walked down to St Michel where there was a cheap cafe on a street corner and you didn’t have to pay extra to sit outside for breakfast.
    BTW in my latest post, there’s a video of me taken by my our local radio station so you can here me speak and almost see me in the flesh. It was very exciting. My husband said I was “gushing”.

  14. New Journey

    I saw you on Facebook….I watched it more times than I can count…LOL your radiated nothing but joy and happiness…..I feel like I know you a little better…I can hear you speak when reading your blog…LOL what fun….and he is right…your were gushing joy….xx

Leave a Reply

