Weekend Coffee Share May 6, 2017

Welcome  to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

If we were having coffee today, I’d be offering you a quick cuppa and then I’d start talking one thousand miles an hour about how Rabbit from our local radio station is coming to our house on Monday to deliver “my prize”. I have no idea what “my prize” entails, but I have to admit that I freaked out when I heard they were coming here. We don’t have anyone round here. Well, not without a thorough interview process beforehand. Neat freaks and declutterers are banned.

Anyway, I hope you’re enjoying our instant garden. I made a mercy dash to our local Bunnings store and bought a box load of plants with a view of creating something lived in that doesn’t suggest we’re trying too hard. These were to replace the weeds and grasses , which had invaded my pots, after I’d murdered more plants. As much as we’ve been doing some heavy duty cleaning and escavating to get ready for Monday, I dont want it to look that way. It’s a bit like going on that first date and spending all week getting ready, but when your date compliments you on your dress, you downplay it all. “This thing? Something i dug out of the cupboard.”

In addition to the radio station visit, we had a big day today where We are in the process of getting our son set up with a sail boat he can race next season. The we largely includes mGrandpa…his sponsor. I really appreciate what my Dad is do. He hasnt bought him the boat. Rather, they are shareholders. Our son is 13 and as many of you will agree, it can be a difficult age and teens need something which lights their fire and as a parent, you,re hoping the whole dating thing can wait. would much rather he falls in love with sailing. So it looks like my husband, the young man and the boat will be hitting the road in a few months racing. In the meantime, they’ll be on dry land for a bit learning how to rig the thing. Just as well the lad is a scout and knows his knots. I dont. Im lucky to tie up my shoelaces.

The other news this week is that both my laptop and desktop computers have been rushed to Emergency and their doctor has been otherwise occupied and you know what its like waiting around those places. That’s made it very hard for me to blog this week. However, it’s meant that my productivity in other areas has skyrocketed. It does make me reconsider my time. That said, I’m a writer, not a cleaning machine.

I have felt rather cut off. Calling it a  sense of “amputation” diminishes all that entails and yet as a tappittytaptap writer, it has been difficult. Would’ve been unbearable if I wasn’t racing aroung trying to get the house and garden sorted for the radio station visit, which has proven quite a catalyst for change.

Anyway, that’s about it for this week. What have you been up to? I hope you’ve had a great week and I look forward to catching up.

This has been another Weekend Coffee Share.

xx Rowena

 

7 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share May 6, 2017

  1. Nancy

    Congrats on you prize whatever it may be!! Sounds like a exciting whirlwind week for you. My cleaning jags are mostly triggered by impending guests too!

  2. Barbara In Caneyhead

    What an exciting week! And with lots of adventure yet to come. with your celebrity guest and son soon to set sail. I am in similar predicament with computers: Tower on desktop died after a failed Windows 10 upgrade and laptop keyboard has stopped working…have to use onscreen keyboard that I hate. And my house is still a mess.😉
    The coffee is always on in Caneyhead

  3. Rowena Post author

    Trent, it was amazing!! One of our breakfast hosts is Julie Goodwin, Australia’s first Masterchef and she turned up at our place with butter chicken for dinner. They filmed the whole thing and will be posting it on Friday and I’ll be putting a link through on the blog. Julie also gave me a cookbook, which I’ve already started to try out. I’m still on such a high.
    So far, Bilbo has got onto the blog and given his account of events and I’m working on mine.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Hi Barbara, sounds like you’d be well at home here and I there. I am starting to post about Monday’s big event. I am trying to write up about it in such a way that people overseas like yourself can follow it.

  5. Rowena Post author

    Hi Nancy,
    Thanks for popping by. Monday was great. One of the breakfast radio hosts is Julie Goodwin, Australia’s first Masterchef and she turned up here in her convertible mini with a butter chicken she’d made for dinner and we made a salad together. It was such a blast. I was cool, calm and collected while she was here but after they left, I was gobsmacked.

Leave a Reply

